We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed 4 nights on business. The staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Colton), and someone in the team takes the trouble to print and put up a thought for the day in the elevators each day. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are large and comfortable. The only criticism was the shower could have been more powerful, but it was ok. There is a microwave in your room and you can buy popcorn from the shop in the hotel. Also there are guest laundry facilities. I didn't hear any noise from outside the hotel or inside. There is a gym which was fine. There is also free coffee and water in the lounge area, which is a nice touch.

Breakfast buffet has fruit, cereals and breads and they will cook eggs,pancakes, waffles and oatmeal to order.

The location was good for me - 10 to 15 min walk from the downtown shops and the transit to mall of America, but just off the interstate out of town, so very easy to get to and from the office and no sitting in traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I used this location for our wedding block for out of town family and friends. Everyone had great things to say. The price was unbeatable ($89/night), and the quality we got for that price was unmatched. The service was super-friendly, and over-extended themselves a number of times to meet and anticipate our guests' needs. My only complaint is the breakfast was $12.95/plate. Other than that, it seemed like we were constantly surprised by how great this place was.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voelker126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We made reservations here because of the close proximity to the Convention Center where my daughter's graduation was held. I had never been to Minneapolis and knew absolutely zilch about the area. The HGI is an awesome hotel. The housekeeping staff should get an increase in pay...stayed 4 days and my room was "spotless". I give the hotel and staff 5 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda40033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night as well as the consecutive night, the room was gorgeous! The hotel is extremely well-kept, the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was also very quiet. The valet-only parking is a bit pricey and while the restaurant on-site had an appealing menu, there was never any customers in it. Overall, it was a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerthat42514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got a fairly good rate - $90 on a Friday night. Check-in was friendly and smooth. We had some difficulty finding the hotel, so were late and needed to get changed for an early dinner reservation. We felt like we had no choice but to valet park - $24.
Pro's - average size room
very clean
microwave, nice sized television, fridge
great pillows
no hallway noise
on site bar and restaurant
Con's - street noise quite late at night
horribly uncomfortable beds
hard to get to? We could see it, but struggled to find it!
drink prices were outrageous

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

I am sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the outside traffic. I also appreciate you letting us know about the beds. It’s disheartening to hear you did not have a comfortable sleep. Your comments will help us try to improve our guest experience and make sure our beds are in proper working condition. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis - Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a very good HGI in great walking distance to the Conference Center downtown. I arrived early and was luckily given a available room at noon. Of course check in is at 3 so this might not always be possible. All staff, room, amenities and bedding were excellent.
I would definitely stay at this property again in the future, just a quick 5 minute walk to bars, restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sw0rdf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this hotel to attend my Mom's graduation held in the Covention Center. The location of the hotel is "PERFECT". The Covention Center is across the street, eateries are in walking distance and Mall of America is 15 mins away by driving. The hotel staff are friendly and courteos. Alona Mckinney (Front Desk staff) stood out from all the rest, she helped us from beginning to end and made our stay very pleasant. We will definitely recommend Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown for everyone.

Thanks for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,487 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,743 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $81 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing