We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff makes the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great staff makes the difference!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a business trip. The staff are incredibly friendly. Without exception, staff members says hello as you pass and this creates a welcoming atmosphere. The hotel is clean and our room (king size bed) was fairly large. The bed is comfortable, the room is quiet and water pressure in the shower is adequate. Amenities were good - free internet with our reservation, flat screen tv, coffee maker, fridge and microwave, standard shampoos/soaps, etc.
The hotel has a small fitness center that is open 24/7 with some treadmills, ellipticals and bikes, plus free weights. They have a business center, restaurant and bar with very friendly service. Free coffee in the lobby is a nice touch. The location is not scenic--right off a major highway--but it is convenient to the convention center. Hotel parking is expensive but there is an inexpensive public parking lot within a block.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    322
    88
    31
    16
See reviews for
274
210
93
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in downtown Minneapolis. Everything was fresh and clean.(everything was spotless). When you book this hotel you can choose to have breakfast included with your room or valet parking included. We chose the breakfast package and it was great value for your money. It was a buffet style breakfast with a made to order hot entree section. ( You could go and order eggs, omelettes, french toast, waffles, bacon and sausage. When it is ready they bring it to your table.) There was an assortment of cereals, breads, fruit, juice, coffee, tea and much more to choose from. The service we received from this hotel was excellent. They even drove us to the baseball game (Target Field). You could walk to Target field, which we did once...it took us about 25 minutes. The staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome....very friendly....would definitely stay again. Beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flower5154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nothing bad to say. This property is next to a freeway, but I didn't know it until I went out to exercise. Very quiet inside. Clean, newly furnished. Delightful staff on all levels. I though housekeeping was particularly good.

Good exercise facility as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klinebch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

It was my first time staying at a Hilton Garden Inn and I was truly impressed! The Customer Service was outstanding from the moment we checked in to the time we left. The front desk staff was very welcoming. The staff cheerfully greeted us, each and everytime we entered the hotel lobby. The staff bid us a good day/night when we left the premise. The front desk staff was especially helpful when we needed to determine which MSP terminal our flight departed from, as well as confirming the "on time" flight status the day of our departure. The guest rooms were large, comfortable, & impressively updated! My own mother would be impressed with the immaculate housekeeping. The stay over housekeeping service was also a definite "WOW"! With certainty, I would return to The Hilton Garden Inn, as well as recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to the Minneapolis area.

Room Tip: The seventh floor was very quiet; no audible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, ND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The staff was outstanding, the rooms were wonderful and I slept peacefully from day one through day six. I would recommend it to anyone as THE place to rest in downtown Minneapolis!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelsmart0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I am in awe of properties that somehow get everyone on staff to buy into the concept that making guests feel welcome is a good thing to do. This hotel is one of the best at that, and I've stayed at a lot of 5-star hotels. Without exception, during my 3-night stay just ending, I was greeted with a smile and a hello. This included the front door staff who always offered assistance, the courteous and accommodating front desk, housekeeping (Room 526) who folded clothes, straightened toiletries, etc., and the folks at the grill bar (Janet and Andy). By the way, the bar/grill is a great place for a light dinner. And, wow, I just got a call from Colton at the front desk thanking me for staying here and making sure everything was to my satisfaction. I settled in on this place in part because of TA posts, and it deserves its high rating. Service excels. Oh, I did forget to mention that the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My stay with this hotel could not have been more pleasant.!! The Staff was friendly, courteous,, helpful and just a joy to be around. The rooms were very clean and special care was taken by the cleaning staff to put things in an orderly fashion. Every request I had was met with a smile The front desk, Chris and Colton, were very nice nice and helpful. I can't say enought about the valet staff.. ( Ira and Alex especially) got me where I needed to be..when I needed to be there. Randy, Victor, Freddy and Carlos were there all the time also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone..and I would go back every chance I get. Congratulations to Hilton for an excellent staff. If you want to..tell them GiGi said "HI"!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn Neale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
722 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing