We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest HGI I've ever been too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicest HGI I've ever been too!”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The minute our family checked into the Hilton Garden Inn we were greeted and helped by the very upbeat valet. They were so kind to our two children and were very professional with our belongings and verbally with us. The hotel is spotless and all staff is friendly and make you feel like your at home. The bartender/food service were quick and quite inexpensive in comparison to other hotel bars in the area. We talked with a younger boy named John in the valet twice on our stay and he always had great recommendations for us regarding food and fun for our family. He always greeted us by last name which, like I mentioned before, gave the Hilton that "at home feeling". All in all our stay was top notch and when we come back to the cities next year we will not hesitate to stay at the Hilton!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ignition61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    304
    84
    31
    14
See reviews for
257
199
87
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Definitely pay attention the first time you drive to this property. Very tricky, I circled three times before finding the entrance. Once I arrived I had assistance with parking and luggage and a rapid check-in despite a busy night. The room was clean and spacious. No loud sounds to interfere with sleep. The surprise to me was the Great American Grill. No instant eggs for breakfast, all cooked by order and rapidly delivered. The same for dinner. Nice atmosphere as well including an outdoor firepit that was inviting. The bar seemed busy each night. With the cold I stayed with the Grill for 2 of 3 nights and had room service the other night. Another plus if you are going to the Medical Center, you can easily walk. I walked early morning daylight and evening as it became dark and felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable and w-fi worked well. We had a peaceful night's sleep. The kids liked the pool.
The last few blocks getting here were confusing. Listen carefully to your GPS. The hotel sits on its own "island" surrounded by wonky intersections. No problem driving in after the first time. Because of it's location, parking is valet only, $24 per night. The valets were literally running, but we still waited 30 minutes for our car at checkout. Approximately 10 block walk to the MetroDome. One block to Convention Center Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and other restaurants about 3 blocks away - ask at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel was in the middle of nowhere (literally in the middle of 2 highways). All the downtown spots were at least 4-5 blocks away and there were no close by eateries either. I booked this hotel based on the excellent reviews here, but I really can't see how this place got such good reviews. The room was average and my king-size bedroom didn't have a bathtub, but only a shower stall. This is the first hotel I've been to that didn't have a bathtub. It took 7 minutes for the front desk to answer the phone, and when they did, they weren't so polite. I will for sure not be returning here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Quinoa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Wonderful staff, large and well-appointed rooms, and excellent housekeeping services make this hotel a great place to stay. Great beds, good toiletries from dispensers, wide-screen TV, fridge and microwave. Real mugs and cups for beverages. Only drawback - traffic noise can be audible at certain hours depending on room placement, but not super-intrusive. Staff provide complimentary ride to/from light rail station, which makes trip from MSP airport very easy and inexpensive.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

stayed here for one night. one word - disappointment.
none of the gold benefits were offered.
asked for upgrade - nope, even though every single kind of room was available to book for money. wasnt offered any amenities. at all.
had to ask for breakfast coupons and had quite some issues obtaining them, since, supposedly, only one person was on the reservation, even though it was booked for two. had to do quite some arguing before getting what I'm entitled to receive.
free water? didnt even ask for it - had quite enough of this place.
will I stay here again? most definitely no.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexkgtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

It is farther from Target field than a walk. Great location if your event is at the Convention Center. Valet parking is very expensive and out of line with the rest of the hotels in the area. The resturant was great with a very good breakfest bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haskins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing