We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is outstanding at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Over the past nine months I have been traveling to Minneapolis several times a month for work. It only took one time for me to stay at Hilton Garden Downtown hotel to make it the exclusive hotel I use when in Minneapolis! The guest services are outstanding from the moment you get there the valet men are there to greet you at your car, as you walk to the check-in desk they are ready for you….no waiting! Every morning and some evenings I will stop in the restaurant for dinner and have had great service along with the excellent food. The hotel is located walking distance to the downtown area where you can find nice restaurants and shopping if you need to get out and enjoy the city

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gc3014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have stayed at hotels on business and pleasure all over the country, but it is hard to say enough good things about the Hilton Garden Inn in Minneapolis. It's location is perfect for anyone traveling from out of town. It is literally in the heart of downtown Minneapolis yes it takes about 2 minutes to pull up to the valet from all the major interstates.
When you arrive you are greeted by some of the nicest and friendliest staff I have ever met. To be honest I have not stayed in many Hilton Garden Inns and so I wasn't sure what to expect. I thought the Garden Inns where not as upscale as some of the other Hilton properties. Boy was I surprised. The lobby was as nice as any 4 star hotel I have been to and the staff was just as professional.
This place must only be a few years old cause it is impeccably clean and decorated. The rooms were just as nice! Everything I would have expected in the way of amenities.
My friends and I stopped in the bar for a couple drinks and were again very pleased with the service and selection. I know there are may higher end hotels in downtown Minneapolis that charge 2 to 3 times what Hilton Garden charges, I have paid them before. I won't anymore!
BTW, only meal we ate there was breakfast and it was just as satisfying as the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: Facing the Church
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsutton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had a "staycation" at this hotel for two nights with our children (ages 9 and 5). We were attending a Lego exhibition at the convention center. The convention center is only a block away from the Hilton Garden Inn, which was great! The hotel is small, but clean with great service. We didn't have umbrellas and the front desk had several on hand for us to borrow for our short walk. The rooms were standard - nothing fancy, but very comfortable rooms.

We ordered room service (dessert) both nights and service was very prompt. The pool is small, the exercise room a decent size with good equipment.

The one negative experience was the service in the hotel restaurant, which was of no fault of the server. There was one server and one person bussing the tables during the breakfast rush. I felt bad for both people, because they could not keep up with the volume of people trying to get a table and trying to bring food to everyone.

Also, one note to those who are not familiar with Minneapolis. While this hotel is VERY close to the convention center, it is on the outskirts of downtown. In nice weather, it is an easy 4 to 5 block walk to restaurants or short cab ride. However, there really are not many, if any, restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I don't have any criticisms so let's talk about what I liked... The hamburgers, the breakfast buffet, quiet rooms, upscale, spotless, good coffee, the pizza (sorry I stayed a week so I munched), very nice rooms., friendly bar, nice wines. Great shower and shampoo and soaps, nice towels, new fitness center and swimming pool, good desk and 2 chairs and a comfortable and softness adjustable bed (I had a king). 1 block from the convention center. Good value. So that's already an A+... But what was amazing to me actually, was their staff. They all take happy pills and 'what can I do for you powder', it seems like. :) What a remarkable group of world-class service-oriented folks...unbelievable and tremendous. It was fun. Bravo to this Hilton Garden... it's the best one I personally have stayed in so far...

Room Tip: Stay on the church side
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

When we left NC the temp was high 70s,; when we got off our plane in Minn the wind chill was 20-something! So holy smokes, was I ever glad to see that nice fireplace in the lobby of the Hilton! My room was sparkling clean (and warm)... oh, and I loved the bed (very important when on business because it's hard to get sleep). I also enjoyed a nice breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant before heading to the convention center, which was within easy walking distance. And the staff was phenomonal... very attentive and polite. I just wish I'd been there on vacation rather than business! I would REALLY have loved it then.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CritterMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

While working in Minneapolis, I always stay at this hotel. The staff always calls me by name and treats me with the utmost respect and professionalism. The room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Minneapolis recently and I was very surprised with the cleanliness and modern touches of this hotel. We booked the room last minute so we could stay downtown following a birthday party, but once we checked into our beautiful room, we didn't want to leave! The room was very spacious and clean with a great bathroom. The linens were soft and clean. The staff are very accommodating and friendly, which made our short stay even better. The hotel is a bit out of the way from other downtown attractions (besides the convention center), but it was worth the walk! Other hotels in the area have higher rates and they are not as nice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cannotwaitforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,414 reviews
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
749 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $120 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing