We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place near downtown and Grand Rounds”
Review of Aqua City Motel

Aqua City Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua City Motel
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good place near downtown and Grand Rounds”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Friendly and helpful personnel.The place is located in a truly pleasant environment on the Lyndale Ave S. Easy to go to downtown or via Blue Line...e.g. to airport / Mall of America. Also Lake Harriet and its Bandshell, Lake Calhoun & Uptown and Lake of the Isles & Grand Rounds & Three Rivers Park District etc are also near if you go by bike. Minnehaha Creek is just around the corner. Perfect place for those who like outdoor activities. Good value for money. People are friendly around there everywhere. Good coffee!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilkka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    2
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would not recommend this motel if that's what you want to call it to my worst enemy. Not only did they have roaches they had mice. Mold on the door and wall, it smelled like urine in the bathroom area. So I got bleach to try and sanitize.we move to two different rooms and they all were nasty someone needs to call the city or bulldoze that building down because the owner doesn't care they just want our money its so sad

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Pizza39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minneapolis hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tho is the filthiest place I have ever been in. The parking lot is decent and there was a man outside in his running vehicle as another reviewer stated previously. When I walked in the room the stench was overwhelming there where holes and cracks in the walls an rat poison had been set out I stayed for about five min until I stared having horrible allergies and couldn't stand the smell the pillows were paper thin there were stains on comforters and for 70 a night soo not worth it I complained and after 5 min luckily got my money back and left would never return again it was just GROSS

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 77alejandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I had to go to Minneapolis last month for three days. I was looking for a nice accommodation close to downtown and found Aqua City. I was not excited to see the reviews but still ended up staying there. To my surprise it was nothing like the pictures posted here and the reviews don’t accurately describe the place. It had nice rooms, just recently remodeled and at a very affordable price. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend it for anybody who is looking to find a good and affordable accommodation close to downtown.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed here off and on for several years.....working with the staff is excellent and great to work with. The rooms are clean and not like as some of the reviews i have read. The price and location is great. I would recommend this for any traveller.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denorris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at the Aqua city motel for an extended period of time.
Its a great place if you're a people watcher.... Nothing more enjoyable than prostitutes and crackheads on a friday night!
The Management isnt nosy,or easy to reach after about 8pm so if discretion is what youre after,this is the spot for you!
And dont worry about the guys sitiing in the running cars in the lot. Theyre not interested in you,they're waiting for a john to leave their girlfriend/ho's room so they can go collect their money.
As horrible as it is,I love this place. You expect to see Tom Waites sitting in a chair off to the side somewhere writing furiously.
CLAAAAAASSY!

Room Tip: They do have "deluxe" rooms which have the exact same amenities as other rooms but are muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 53soconfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacity, Manager at Aqua City Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
If the place is as described, why someone will stay for an extended period of time? I would check out the very first day instead of staying for a long time.
We are here 24 hours on site and office remains open. We are on Lyndale Ave. , one of the main streets in Minneapolis, I am not sure if there was someone in the parking lot from off the street that you are talking about, but we do not put up with any of the above mentioned stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is by far the nastiest room I have ever been in in my entire life. The carpet is stained and filthy, the towels and sheets don't get washed with soap, there is mold growing everywhere and the walls are paper thin so you can smell and hear EVERYTHING. The owner is some cranky Arab man who barely knows English and short changes customers. I was even locked out for a night cause he refused to let me in my own room!60 a night isn't worth it, please save your money and go to motel 6 for 55 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traumatizedroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua City Motel

Property: Aqua City Motel
Address: 5739 Lyndale Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55419-1798
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aqua City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua City Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing