We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Clean,nice & safe, convenient.””
Review of Snelling Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snelling Motel
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
““Clean,nice & safe, convenient.””
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while we lined up a job in Minneapolis. It's located right next to HWY 55 and one Block away from Blue Line (Metro Train ) Stop. The room was priced very reasonably and the room was nicer than we expected. There was nothing particularly magical about the place but everything was in order and I was given nothing to complain about. I recommend it.

Location is pretty easy to find, right off of HWY 55 and 54th Street East. Pretty close to Minnehaha Parks and Falls, MOA(Mall of America) and the MSP airport .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cortezTX s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
7
9
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a small Motel in MINNEAPOLIS, MN but it sure delivers a great value for the price. We use a coupon rate per night and it was just what I expected. No frills, but comfortable and clean. The rooms were spacious. The staff at the Motel were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely choose this Motel again for an inexpensive stay in the Twin Cities metro area. This Motel is within about 3 mins of the Minneapolis airport, Mall of America,Downtown Minneapolis, etc. Very convenient location at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lion962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinup P, Owner at Snelling Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your opinion. It is our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thanks and looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back after a 2 day stay. Very impressed with this motel. Great value. Very clean and quite. Beds were comfortable.Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definately stay again! Nice location close to MSP Airport and Downtown Minneapolis. If you are looking for a place to stay and don't need luxury this will do the trick. We stayed in a one King room. It has a fridge and a microwave which was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Snelling motel several times.we always stayed multiple nights every times.we selected it each time because it is a reasonably priced metro area motel & it's only a one minutes walk from a stop on the light rail.fast food restaurant subway,pizza,burger king,mcdonald & gas station are just a mile away.we never been disappointed by the service or staff.would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jorge120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was just a terrible place. I booked it because of the great location near the light rail stop. It was very hard to find, however. "Fortunately" the toilet exploded and I didn't have to stay. I found another place with a huge breakfast bar and pool for the same price. See my picture of the step up to the bathroom. I didn't catch the actual explosion, but I had a cascade of water down the step into the room that soaked the carpet. My sympathies to veterans who come there only because it is next to the Veteran's Hospital.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The one gentleman stated it right "broken English". But it more than a simple communication issue; the new owners lack courtesy, professionalism and cleanliness.

I seen cockroaches in the lobby and in the bathroom.
Unfortunately it was too late to get another place for us.

Best Advice: Stay away from this one!

P.S. I cant help but see trpadvisor receiving a lot of comments from people who are 'stuffing' the first-hand experiences (ie. the owners of the hotel are writing glowing reviews).

Room Tip: Stay away; new owners could care less about you or your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Hotel is right next to the highway 55.Its very close to the MSP Airport. The front desk staff were fantastic and friendly. We will stay here again anytime we are near this area! Clean rooms, comfortable beds, Quite Good Night Sleep. Definitely i will suggest to my friends.

Room Tip: Stayed in Non-smoking Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
University / Dinkytown
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
#20 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,182 reviews
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#34 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,126 reviews
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snelling Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snelling Motel

Property: Snelling Motel
Address: 5346 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55417-2329
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snelling Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Snelling Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snelling Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing