We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Definite Maybe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Heights B&B and Events

Historic Heights B&B and Events
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minneapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Heights B&B and Events
Ranked #5 of 10 Minneapolis B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Definite Maybe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place is absolutely great for sleeping, and eating breakfast, and acting as hub for everywhere else in Minneapolis. I was looking for cheap with food, but not crazy cheap in some scary neighborhood (like all the inexpensive motels were). This place was like going home. The gal who runs it is very friendly and accommodating, her husband is a nice conversationalist, and the place is so reasonably priced I just don't know why anyone would complain. Yes, it's an old hotel in a classic house-like building (thus the B&B designation) but that's part of the charm. No, there aren't any souped up Jacuzzis, or multi-spray showers, or exercise studios, but it is a nicely decorated (and continually improving) place that seems quiet, sits in a quiet neighborhood, and feeds you more than a boiled egg with a piece of white toast for breakfast like a Super 8 motel. The hostess does have a 9am breakfast call, but she accommodated me when I had to be gone in the morning by 8. Cooked everything herself. Can't say enough. This isn't the Ritz, it's like home, and mom still makes breakfast. And no Kathy, you're not old enough to be my mom; just saying.... : )

Room Tip: I was in Hilltop, and it was fine. All the rooms share a floor bathroom, but it was not a problem at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevLovebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't waste your money here. Very SUBurban - appeared to be a boarding house with us as the unknowing catch via their website visiting what we thought was a B and B. The shared baths were not cleaned daily - we were reprimanded for asking for clean towels and told we had placed too much tissue paper in the garbage can??? Don't go near the guest kitchen area or you may be tempted to call the health department. Overall - a very disappointing experience that we moved out of when we found other lodging available.

Room Tip: we were in one of the "best" rooms with no heat - but we did have a fireplace as advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_Travel502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The beds were comfortable, the rooms and bathrooms clean and the breakfast was great! The hosts are very friendly and helpful with directions, restraunt suggestions and even told us about a small neighborhood bar with live music (so much fun!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennypenny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent the last night of our Midwest road trip at this B&B in Minneapolis. It's in a grand old home on a quiet street that's very close to a very happening neighborhood. The proprietress was a very nice lady with two very cute dogs, especially her three-legged sweetie, Chewie (short for Chewbacca). Since this is an "historic" B&B, there are a few of things you should know--it is not equipped for handicapped people. The front steps are a bit steep. I have a hip replacement and I did fine, but I'm pretty active, too. There are no elevators, either. Walking up a couple of flights of stairs with your luggage can be taxing if you're not in decent shape. The owner offered to help, but geez, we're pretty young and in pretty good shape; we would have felt like heels if we had made her lug our suitcases up for us! Also, you get to share a bathroom with strangers. Kind of weird, but we've done it before. All of the other guests that we met were very nice and conscientious, so it wasn't a problem. So, if these things aren't a problem, then this place is for you! The room was very nice--comfy bed, cute little flat-screened TV, we even had wi-fi! The breakfast was yummy and it was nice not eating typical hotel breakfast fare for once on our trip. It was also cool eating with the other guests and talking with them. We really hit it off with one other couple. All in all, I would say we had a very fun time staying here and I would highly recommend it to other people who would like this type of experience.

Room Tip: If mobility is a little bit of an issue, I would go for a room on a lower floor than we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This small inn with a history is close to many destinations in Minneapolis. And it is on a bus line to connect without getting in your car. I was warmly welcomed and had a quiet and comfortable night's sleep. Kathy, the host made a lovely breakfast which fit my dietary needs perfectly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madrecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I travel to various cities each year for our anniversary. This year we chose Minneapolis. We wanted to stay downtown, but it was too rich for our blood. We instead chose Historic Heights B&B. This is a nice place, 10 minutes from downtown. The rooms were large and clean. We haven't stayed at a B&B for a while. I forgot that you may need to share a bathroom. In this case, there are 6 finished rooms in this 100 year old house that was built with many purposes in mind. The downstairs has a couple of large rooms that you can use. One has a TV and the other is the dining room. We booked at the last minute, because of a problem with our original booking. We had a smaller room on the second floor the first night. The room was plenty big for us and the bed was quite comfortable. The bath was down the hall. We were able to move to the larger room that we originally wanted the next night. Again, the bath is down the hall. This wasn't really an issue for us. We stayed 4 nights and we were the only occupants on the floor we stayed on. In fact, we never saw anyone else. The rooms were comfortable and quiet.
Breakfast was served at our appointed times. The food included items from the garden and the sausage was from their pig. The food was good and Kathy was quite accommodating.
We had a car and I would recommend having one as a convenience. Minneapolis has a bike rental system throughout the city (https://www.niceridemn.org) that I highly recommend. The bikes are available about 3 miles from the Heights B&B. You can park for free near the bike racks and ride into the city. Great bike trails. This is a great way to get around. Tip: Download the app so you can find the nearest stations.
I've save the best for last. The price is excellent for Minneapolis. $75-95 per night. You can't touch that price in that part of town. Kathy and Greg are there to help you enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: Use the niceridesmn.org bikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Heights B&B and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Heights B&B and Events

Property: Historic Heights B&B and Events
Address: 3980 5th St NE, Minneapolis, MN 55421-3639
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Minneapolis
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing