We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Historic and convenient location. We stayed for two days while attending the NCAA swimming and diving championships. Nice, clean kitchenette room. Easy access to University of Minnesota, 35W and I-94.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalHoffmmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello SalHoffmmann, I'm pleased to know that our location and amenities were comfortable and convenient for you. Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    101
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
96
56
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Clean and affordable. Great location for visiting the cities. Very easy access to the interstate. Walking distance to great food and several bars. (mostly younger people in the bars) I stayed two nights but would have been comfortable staying longer because of the kitchenette.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcwood500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University_Inn_MN, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello jcwood500,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your business and I'm glad you found our location convenient for your visit to Minneapolis. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Joe McCurdy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting our daughter at the University of Minnesota. Easy parking and extremely close to campus (10 minutes slowly to Dinkytown). Our room had a kitchen and was well stocked if one wished to cook. Not too noisy although 30 seconds from 35W. Be sure to hang the tag asking for your room to be cleaned or they won't! Other than this, I would stay here again. Price is great considering that you're so close to campus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

PROS: Great location for the concert we were going to. It was just a 10 minute walk to the venue. There was free parking which was appreciated. CONS: There was a orangish-red w/green moldy/mildew growing up the shower curtain and shower head (gross). No elevator which was difficult w/my broken leg to say the least. We waited about 10 minutes for someone to come to the front desk when we were checking in. Could hear whenever a neighbor ran water or flushed their toilet. Overall, it worked for the night. But nothing too special, other than the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue-Girl5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for Parents Weekend at the U of M and really loved how close it was to campus. The room was clean and good sized with a kitchenette with microwave and full-sized fridge. At the time of our stay there was no breakfast offered so having a kitchen was a plus. This is a "no frills" place. There wasn't even maid service unless you requested it and paid extra. That was fine for us since it was just a weekend stay. The bathroom was a good size. The shower curtain seemed to have some kind of mildew stains and should be replaced. The carpet is also showing some age! But all in all it was fine and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhubarbRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a week long work trip, and was very happy with the hotel. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but it had very clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff. It is in a very convenient location - just off the interstate, but also in a wonderful little neighborhood. There are many unique and interesting restaurants and shops within walking and biking distance. While staying there, I literally left my car in the parking lot the entire time, and rode my bike everywhere. The parking lot didn't have any extraordinary measures for security, but I accidentally left the car unlocked overnight and all day (for nearly 24 hours) with a portable DVD player in sight on the back seat, and everything was still in place. You could hear a fair amount of the outside noise of people and cars in the room, which didn't bother me - I was hardly in my room and sleep through anything, but it might be bothersome for a light sleeper. One other thing I didn't like was that you couldn't reserve a room online, unless you used a site like Expedia. Also, they have a sign on the door that states they don't accept walk-ins, that you have to have a reservation. Overall, the price I paid (about $89 through Expedia) was an exceptional value for this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smullen4677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I chose this hotel (they look more like they were once a dorm), because it was close to the clinic's. no elevator so don't go there if handicapped doing steps. I thought someone was vacuuming late at night ...multiple times but then realized the loud suction sound must have been someone who had flushed the toilet in the next room. I wore brand new white socks and they were filthy dirty the next morning because their carpets were very dirty and stained. The beds are platforms with not very comfortable mattresses on them. Not very good for the price. Maybe $50.00 hotel instead.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
The Commons Hotel
#9 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 925 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing