We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Inn
Nearby Hotels
$159
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$106
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$176
$143
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$188
$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$308
$249
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
174
120
31
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
120
31
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenfull size fridgegreat locationdinky townfree coffeelaundry facilitiesextended staysmall hotelroom was cleancollege visitum campuswithin walking distancethe stone arch bridgetwin citiesgreat place to staystaff was very friendly and helpfulmississippi river
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 340 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel, very near the U of MN/Minneapolis campus is a fine hotel if you don't need amenities. I mean there is no in-room wifi, the TV remote control didn't work well, and the channels are limited, and the front doors lock at 6pm. But it also has a full kitchen (full sized refrigerator, cooktop, dishes, etc). It also has a built in hair dryer. There IS wifi in the lounge. And the room was spacious. The room walls are partly concrete (nicely painted) and that interferes with in-room wifi. The price is far less than area hotels. So overall - this is a nice place for the price. Note it is next to fraternities and sororities (not known for quiet nights). We heard some noise in the early evening (8pm) but none after 9pm. I'm not sure if we were just lucky. I doubt there was a pool and there was no restaurant (some starches were available for breakfast).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was searching for a good place to stay in Minneapolis and found all the "usual" hotels booked for the week of my visit. Read about this place and took a chance out of desperation. Instead of paying 200 a night for a named hotel, I paid 67 dollars. They only have rooms with 1 queen bed, so keep this in mind. For the price, I got a VERY comfortable bed, microwave, full size fridge, stove, pots and dishes, and the usual iron and board etc. (When I checked in, the ironing board was broken, but five minutes later it was also replaced, with a smile and apology.) The owner lives on site and security in fantastic. If you're visiting the University of Minn, this is perfect for either east or west campus. Dinky Town, the restaurant outside the campus, is a mile away. Don't throw your money away for a ROOM at a big name hotel, get a small appartment for less. For this price, if you need more room, get TWO rooms. You'll still save money and be more comfortable. I'll be going back next year. No pool or dining.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORiley72076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had business downtown and needed a hotel for a week at the last minute, and the University Inn was an amazingly lucky find. Very affordable, especially considering I booked less than 12 hours before I checked in. It's literally feet away from the 35W on-ramps for North and Southbound. Just go south to go over the bridge and you're on Washington Ave. headed downtown.

The hotel seems to have been recently renovated - the hallways were clean and the room was well laid out. A nice big space, half was for the bed, desk, armchair and half for the kitchen and bathroom. The bathroom was big and clean, what more can you ask? The kitchen featured a full-size fridge, a little sink, 2-burner electric range, microwave and toaster. Plus two full settings of dishes, silverware, pots and pans and a drying rack. Even ice cube trays in the freezer - in short everything I needed for my impromptu week stay.

One nice surprise for me was how soft the towels were. I know it seems like a small thing but I get to sick of scratchy hotel towels, don't you? Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room had a binder full of great info about the neighborhood and such that was really useful to me.

The first two nights were very quiet, after that a big busload of tourists showed up and I found out that the plumbing for the room upstairs made kind of a lot of noise in my room, so that was not as nice, but really no big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Near impossible to find a fair price downtown, this place, just north, at the doorsteps of U of M, is a real find. The proximity to the college means it is right near a strip of bars and grills that cater to the students, (Cheap food and drink), it was a lot of fun. The hotel itself is designed for longer stays and 9,000 of us need a week long stay. It's clean. It's comfortable. It made our stay a success. It lacks a full hot breakfast, but juice and pastries set us out each morning ok. To get a hotel with breakfast, I would have to pay much more than the price of the breakfast. It had no pool, but few did. It served our purposes well. If you have a car, it is close to everything, if not, the buss is right at the corner. Thanks to the staff that made everything so nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeyJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed April 10, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews