We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at the Aloft for a business trip. I was very pleased with the room; it had a European vibe for me. Nice, comfortable king size bed. I liked the layout and the pocket door with mirror for the bathroom. The shower pressure could have been better. But the staff were very nice and helpful. I liked the location as well. I'm a runner and there were easily accessible paths nearby, which were really great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us - we loved having you and hope to see you again soon! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    190
    57
    27
    19
See reviews for
77
119
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

STARWOOD: GOLD
MARRIOTT: GOLD

This whirlwind trip saw four cities, three over-nights and three airlines over four days. Minneapolis was the last stop and i had chosen the Aloft over the Foshay for its price and the pool.

HOTEL: This is my second stay with this brand, last time was Denver. At first you may think these are a bit odd but they really grow on you. Im very excited for the Downtown Detroit location which should open soon. This property, just like the other Alofts resembles an upscale loft buidling, i think thats the point. Its always 5 floors or so and everything is open. The pool has wall to wall windows, the entire lobby is wall to wall windows, so this lends to alot of socializing, which is a good thing. Just like Denver, the lobby of the Aloft gets hopping around 10pm and this night was only a bit different due to all the people downtown for the fireworks. They have a DJ playing some pretty good dance music/somewhat top 40, but some House music in there too which i enjoyed. Ordered food from the bar and it was delicious.

THE LOCATION: The location of this property is a few blocks (still within walking) of the Downtown corridor. Its only 2 blocks to the light rail and felt very safe. They are building the new football stadium right near this Hotel, opening 2016, so its only going to be a better location with time. It is also a short walk to the river which is also very nice.

THE ROOM(S): Now there arent really any spectacular views here but like i stated earlier i have grown to like the simplicity of the Aloft layout. 42inch TV's are a plus, as all hotels should have them by now but dont. Its centered right on the wall, and coupled with the super-cozy bed, you have all you need for a great nights rest.

THE STAFF: Staff is always extra-friendly at these properties. Ive spoken to them many times for clients and now with two stays i can say, they are doing it right with hiring for this brand. At check-in, i thought i may want to take in some Electronic music while in town. I mentioned this and within a minute the gentleman checking me in had recommended a very good artist i surely knew and gave me all the info from his own knowledge about the venue. This was a very nice touch and had i not had such an early flight the next day i would have definetely made a night of it with the info i was given. Bravo to Aloft! Its the little things =)


Was my Elite recognized? Yes, i was thanked for my loyalty and offered my welcome gift. The hotel worked with me on the rate which was a nice touch and brought me to them over another hotel, however they are trying to stiff me on the gift now which i think is rediculous. We shall see how its handled but i think SPG in general needs to get its act together with this program. Some of us ask for properties to work with us on the rate, if they do, why not ask. No one ever says, you will lose this or not qualify for that at the time the rate is offerred. Its always after that i spend hours and many phone calls wasting my life away chasing what i have earned. The gift is because of my loyalty and not anything else. The hotel i dont think plays a part in this but it had to be said.

I would recommend this property again and plan to stay next time im in Minny. If you are interested in the light-rail btw. Its the Downtown East station for this hotel and continues to target field one way, Another line goes to St Paul, so be careful headed back to the Airport or Mall of America, its very easy to hop the wrong train. $2-3 each way which is worth the 20 minutes it took over a cab anyday...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusBeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with lots of nearby restaurants, the Guthrie, and parks. Most places in the area have a trendy vibe and the hotel definitely has the trendy vibe as well. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Good for business or a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel has excellent healthy food options, which many Aloft hotels do not. The owners here clearly understand that those of us who travel for a living need a variety of healthy choices and they deliver. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the location is perfect right near an exercise trail and many restaurants. Attention to detail with clean elevators etc. I plan to return on my next visit. Ps. It is right at the University area and downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a green choice program as most SPG properties do and I love it for many reasons. No other brand is doing more than SPG.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDM1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel is a block and a half away from the Guthrie and the Mill Museum, and within walking distance of the Stone Arch Bridge At check-in, they offer a water bowl and dog bed for your pooch, although room choices might be limited as they try to keep all dogs on the second floor. Next door is a condo with green spaces and benches, and across from that is Gold Medal Park; super for dog walking! There is a small pool and fitness center at Aloft. Although there is no restaurant on-site, light meals may be purchased in the lobby or bar area, and Sanctary restaurant Iis across the street. Within walking distance to the metro. The only down side to this hotel is that there are no drawers in the room.

Green Features: If you forego maid service, points accumulate to your frequent traveler account.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne62704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We loved having you and your pup! Please keep us in mind during your next trip to Minneapolis. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Aloft is a sleek, modern and just plain COOL place to spend the night in Minneapolis. If we weren't headed for the Great River Road drive tomorrow, we'd spend another night. Front desk was friendly even though busy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Kristakass,

Thank you for your great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to hear that you would have enjoyed another night - next time! We hope you had a wonderful rest of your trip. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very good location in dtwn Minneapolis. Right by Guthrie Theater, and the burgeoning river walk district down there. Rooms were typical Aloft, comfortable, clean.

No on-site parking or valet, and we were instructed to park in the (pay) ramp around the corner. This worked out fine, but don't go expecting to valet your car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our convenient location during your recent stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon - we loved having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#19 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing