We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool concept and close to great biking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool concept and close to great biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel concept of small efficient rooms was interesting and comfortable enough. The amenities are nice and the location near the Guthrie and the bike paths was terrific. The staff was very friendly. Parking could have been more convenient (public lot across the street, but considering this was downtown, not too bad. Free shuttle was a nice option, but busy when we wanted to use it to get around downtown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    174
    52
    25
    19
See reviews for
67
112
36
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Solid Aloft. I wish all Alofts were as good as this one is.

- Excellent Service
- Great location in Minneapolis
- Parking not too terribly much
- Like the other Alofts, not too impressed with all the pre-packaged foods (and they're not cheap)
- The bartender during our three nights was quite an unhappy individual and it showed (she was quite rude and off-putting)
- Great Bliss toiletries
- Be sure to stay on a higher floor so folks in buildings next door can't see you in your birthday suit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback, thank you for sharing. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and our in room amenities and products. We are dedicated to superior customer service and have shared your comments with our W XYZ Bar team members to ensure each and everyone of our associates are upholding one of our most important core values. We hope you choose to stay with us again so we can treat you to another memorable stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The decor of the hotel is a little too clangy and brutalist-modern for my taste... the lobby is open with too many video screens vying for attention. That said, it is great to have a lobby with a bar that serves hot food till midnight, where you can sit and visit with friends on comfortable seats. Open breakfast area has coffee and an espresso machine (thanks!) in the mornings. My room faced the park... peaceful and quiet. My colleagues with rooms facing the avenue said their rooms were not too noisy either and had cityscape views. It's a little odd to enter through the bathroom (!), but the room was comfortable and spacious with two queen beds, plenty of places to plug in, good internet connection, and enough light (though it took me several tries to figure out all the switches). The staff were helpful and friendly. Warning: if you tell them you don't want the towels or sheets changed, the service people don't enter the room at all, so no re-supply of coffee/tea or emptying of trash.
All in all, I think this place is a good choice, and an excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I asked for a room facing away from the main street, and got one facing the park that was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First time staying at an Aloft Hotel. It tries to creat a cool, hip vibe...and succeeds. Room was on the smaller side, but clean and minimalist. No restaurant but you can eat at the bar while listening to DJ piped in music. Also has a pool table in the lobby. Didn't try the salt water indoor pool, but looked nice.

Room Tip: Hotel layout in in the shape of an "L" and you want to avoid any rooms near the inside cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgx111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted to hear you found our modern, chic hotel to be welcoming and enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Minneapolis. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very little "extraneous" bits to this place, which is good. Hot water maker and refrigerator in room. Free coffee, tea, and a bottle of water every day. No tub. Although some aspects of the hotel are a little too hip (like the music they play in the lobby), I like the soothing colors, lighting, and cleanliness of the space. Weekends can be a little noisy in the area but there are always ear plugs. Parking information is confusing but you'll figure it out quickly enough and there is often more space in the ramp across the street. We stayed when I ran the Twin Cities Marathon and the hotel let us check out late, allowing me to rest, shower, and change without rushing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river if you don't like to look over Washington Avenue towards the Met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Its currently midnight and there is no way anyone could sleep in our room. There is a dj who plays music (?) in the lobby and it reverberates thru the building. Our room might as well be in the lobby. When I talked to the desk clerk she said that there is a sign by the front door stating the hotel will be noisy on Sat nights. And there is no other room to move to and all the other hotels are full tonight. So we are forced to listen to the noise and drunks yelling for 2 more hours. Don't stay here on Saturdays.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the lobby/bar area as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced. We have addressed this issue with our weekend team to ensure that any DJs playing are upholding our noise level requirements, especially later in the night when we require them to keep the volume contained to the W XYZ lounge area. We sincerely apologize and hope that you can give us another try in the future so we may provide you with the kind of exceptional stay we strive to provide to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel, but I think my mom would hate it. The design and decor of the room and public spaces is modern in a way that looks of-the-moment now but will probably need some updating in ten years' time. I had a nice, quiet, river-facing room with a very cozy bed. There were a few very minor issues with room design - it was difficult to figure out which light switch controlled which light and there was nowhere to hang a hand towel near the sink - but overall I found it comfortable and accommodating. Free internet worked well and there was a good range of TV channels available. The staff were very pleasant, and the bar was a great place to hang out and drink primarily local craft beers. The bartender was fantastic! The location is very convenient to the light rail, so you can get pretty much anywhere in the city. I got a discounted university rate for my stay, which made it very good value - I would definitely stay here again for what I paid, and would consider it strongly even at full price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hbinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#17 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing