We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another great business hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great business hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Traveling and staying in over 100 hotels every single years...I tend to like hotels that are clean, convenient, quiet and centered around great things. This one meets it all...downtown Minneapolis right by the arts district, restaurants, sports and running paths that will take you along the Mississippi!

As a hotel, this one meets all the things that make business trips a pleasure.

Room Tip: Book it thru the SPG website and get great rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    184
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
74
117
37
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel if you are happy to do without room service, laundry service etc which we were. The premise of Aloft is basically a high end Premier Inn or Travel Lodge. The room was great with good quality facilities and toiletries and we found the laundry room really useful (we stayed for 3 nights as part of a two week road trip). There is also an area in reception where you can buy snacks etc so it does have everything you need - just in a self service way. Free Internet was handy and there is parking available at a reasonable cost ($7 per day) just across the street. A slightly more central location would have been more convenient but it is close to the river and isn't too long a walk to downtown. All in all, we were really pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had waited too long to book,and got stuck with the aloft. We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to be located in the mill district. So ,the front desk (which is awkwardly placed in a small circular booth ) had pleasant and professional staff, offering shuttle service and even a couple comp tickets for glasses of wine when I mentioned the anniversary. However, when we got to our room, I nearly cried. I felt like I was arriving into a jail cell, or at least my cubicle at work. The intent is modern, but it's really minimalistic. Gray walls , no wall adornments except a floral scape doubling as a headboard/light valance. No ambiance what so ever. Lighting was unflattering florescent. We used the one warm light in the room, the tiny desk lamp for relief. The bed was king, which we requested, but maybe all of six inches off the floor; as my husband is 6'4" and I am fairly tall at 5'10", the bed just felt awkward. The space around the bed was narrow, and the only seating was a cushioned bench placed directly under the wall mounted tv. The room was one of the smallest King's I have ever been in. The bathroom was huge, as it was handicap accessible, which we did not request, but maybe all that was left. One nice feature was free wifi (downtown mpls hotels usually charge $$). Also walking distance to mill ruins, lock and dam, and stone arch bridge, and close, no traffic drive to Nicollet Island and St. Anthony areas, which we loved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowersaremypassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I enjoy aloft hotels, and as an SPG Platinum (5 straights years) I'm typically pleased with rooms, service & common areas. I love the aloft Asheville.

However, I could not be more disappointed by the Minneapolis aloft. I called the hotel at 6pm on the evening of my arrival to ensure that my confirmation number was accurate and my platinum number was entered correctly (a colleague had made the reservation on my behalf). I was assured that all was prepared for my arrival. I also asked about taxi service from the airport and was advised of a good limo service. The limo service cost $45, and was excellent.

When I arrived at the hotel at 11pm, I was greeted by the front desk supervisor...."so we have a problem, we don't have anymore rooms left". I assured him that he must be mistaken because I had called only a few hours ago and was confirmed on the phone!!! I confirmed that he understood and acknowledged that he was kicking a platinum out of the hotel instead of someone else. My colleagues were at the aloft and this required a change in logistics.

The supervisor apologized and told me he had a room at the Hilton 1mi away for me. I urged him to have the GM call me the next morning. Then the aloft used their van to take me to the Hilton. During the ride I left a voicemail for the front desk manager explaining the situation and my severe displeasure. I requested a call the next morning.

I have not received a call back yet.

Overall, this situation was completely unacceptable. I will never again stay at the aloft Minneapolis, and I recommend that no other Platinum SPG stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willbw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We sincerely apologize for the issue you recently experienced, however we did do our best to make alternate accommodations for you to the best of our ability. We recently had a situation where a computer glitch on another website was still booking even though our hotel was sold out. Our front office manager called you and left a message apologizing for the inconvenience and asked what could be done to compensate for this issue. Our SPG members are always treated with the utmost respect and priority. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager at 612-455-8400 or return our front office manager’s call so that we may do what we can to atone for this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Love the shuttle to wherever. My partner had to go to the drugstore so they took us there, waited outside while he got his stuff and then took us back. Last day they put our luggage in the back, took us to a breakfast place and then picked us up at the appointed time and took us to the light rail station!
Room clean and extremely well designed. A pleasure to be in.
Lobby is the only slight disappointment aesthetically, but plenty comfortable and great bar/gathering spot, pool table, table shuffleboard.
Excellent experience.

Room Tip: facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrybarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to share your review, thank you. It pleases us to hear you enjoyed our hotel and our amenities fit your needs well. Our team is dedicated to customer service so anything we can do to make your stay special we are happy to. We hope to see you again on a future trip to Minneapolis. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

there is an amazing employee named Sean that works late nights, he is very kind, caring, and helpful. The location is wonderful, especially the Mill ruins. the rooms are clean and comfortable. The prices are great. I've had a better experience there, than the W.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adoraborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have shared your comments with our team and we are delighted to hear you have had such memorable stays with us. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and quality stays to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night as the hotel is conveniently located across the street from the venue we went to. Very hip looking hotel. We were lucky to score free parking spot behind the hotel, staff was friendly, we got 2 welcome drinks included in the rate. Our king size bed room was clean, spacious, bed was comfy, lots of options to eat in and around the hotel. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeletoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It pleases us greatly to hear you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Our convenient location coupled with our friendly associates makes Aloft Minneapolis a premiere downtown Minneapolis hotel and we look forward to the next opportunity we have to provide you with another exceptional stay. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Red Minneapolis
Radisson Red Minneapolis
#35 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#19 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing