We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very cool hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night as the hotel is conveniently located across the street from the venue we went to. Very hip looking hotel. We were lucky to score free parking spot behind the hotel, staff was friendly, we got 2 welcome drinks included in the rate. Our king size bed room was clean, spacious, bed was comfy, lots of options to eat in and around the hotel. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeletoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It pleases us greatly to hear you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Our convenient location coupled with our friendly associates makes Aloft Minneapolis a premiere downtown Minneapolis hotel and we look forward to the next opportunity we have to provide you with another exceptional stay. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    176
    52
    25
    19
See reviews for
69
113
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Aloft in the historic mill district of Minneapolis. I had previously stayed in the Aloft London and loved it; so I knew if this hotel resembled that one, I would be happy. I was not disappointed. The spacious rooms are exactly the same as I had experienced in London. There is plenty of room to spread out, the beds are super comfy, the bathroom is well appointed and there was a small refrigerator in the room. When we checked in our room was not ready so Frank at the front desk took good care of us. He gave us drink tickets for the bar and parking vouchers. He was extremely accommodating and took excellent care of us. The hotel has a free shuttle Mon.-Fri. that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius. We used it to go to dinner in the warehouse district and also go to Dinkytown. The location of the hotel is perfect. We took early morning walks near the river, over the Stone Arch bridge to St. Anthony Main and the next morning we walked to Nicollet Island. We visited the Guthrie to take in the views and had dinner at the wonderful Spoonriver restaurant, both within a very short walk. We paid $99/night which was an incredible value for the comfort and hip style of this hotel. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Minneapolis after my experience at the Aloft. Thanks to the wonderful staff at the Aloft for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river up on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were in the city for a graduation. Pleasantly surprised at this place, which my niece booked for us (we had not heard of it before). Nice location (close to the Guthrie), nice staff and overall a great experience for us. Very clean and comfortable. A big, well-lit room, good service, clean and with an incredible view. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for sharing. It’s wonderful to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and our friendly staff created a very memorable experience for you. We hope the rest of your stay in Minneapolis was as memorable and we hope you chose to stay with us again for trips to Minneapolis. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonduel,WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Went to the Aloft downtown Mnpls for a show at TCF stadium and other family activities. Loved the staff, the room, etc. Ended up renting some bikes right in front of the hotel and traveled all over downtown as a family - great time. Also had several sandwiches, breakfasts, etc. from the Aloft - all were very good. Loved being able to shoot pool, swim in a pool, and play shuffleboard. Not many places with those types of options. Loved it all and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brewer_fanBonduel_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy our re:mix lounge and convenient re:fuel grab and go pantry. Thanks again for your thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing, pet friendly, great viewing areas nearby, dog park across the street, friendly, clean, kid friendly, shuttle service, food and bar avaliable, great looking hotel, the price is right, you just feel more relaxed after you walk in the door.

Room Tip: You're in great hands, just tell them your needs. Call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WerldTrav3l3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed our hotel’s amenities. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Minneapolis. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved our stay at the aloft! We were victims of the power outage in June and had to find a place to stay after two nights...couldn't have picked a better property. We had so much fun! The room was awesome and unique. The bed was very comfortable and situated right in front of the TV. The bathroom area was spacious and included a fridge. The shower was amazing! I love the shampoo/conditioner and soap. Our favorite part was probably the market in the lobby - they had all kinds of snacks and drinks. We didn't get a chance to have breakfast or use the bar or pool but I'm sure we would have loved those as well. The aloft is also in an awesome part of town - in the Mill district right by the river and the Guthie. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We really appreciate your review- thank you for sharing. We are delighted you felt at home in our fresh, modern hotel and enjoyed our guestroom amenities and Bliss spa products. Hopefully you will be able to relax in our re:mix lounge and W XYZ Bar during your next stay. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Choose the Aloft Minneapolis to stay overnight in Minn. - mostly because I've read so much about the cool design and green initiatives. Price was right as well. Oh and yes - it is dog friendly!

I've read other reviews that called it the low-cost version of a W hotel. And yes, in some ways it reminded me of a W - small room, well designed and thought out elements. We were very impressed for the most part. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was tasteful with an element of fun. Especially loved the design of the bathroom and wash area. Green elements included bulk amenity dispensers - no more mini plastic bottles clogging the landfills! - recycling in the room (though not well labeled at all...), a one stop docking station for all your electronics, and a great incentive program to NOT use housekeeping (saving water and valuable resources)... You get Starwood Points for every night you forego housekeeping! Brilliant!

And added to the package - great location in the Warehouse District with the Guthrie right around the corner! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing