We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's would be great if it weren't for a few issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's would be great if it weren't for a few issues”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I always stay here for business and even though the rooms are modern and chic, they aren't the most relaxing. Two out of the 3 times I've stayed at this hotel, I seem to get a room with a loud A/C/heating system that wakes me up throughout the night. So the sleep quality in my opinion leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyinparis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced. Our guests’ comfort is a top priority and we have brought this to our maintenance team’s attention and they are addressing the issue. Thank you again for your feedback, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    193
    58
    28
    19
See reviews for
78
121
38
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is easily the coolest hotel we have ever stayed at in this price bracket. Dulcie was in raptures over the decor, the really cool high-tech bathroom, furnishings and so on. I am not so much into these niceties but I had to agree. For the same price one would pay at some far-flung Motel 6 or equivalent, one is hard by the Guthrie in total chic. Such is the location and the quality, I balked not one bit at the parking fee in the underground, though one requires nerves of steel reversing into the narrow spaces midst looming concrete pillars. The room was quite compact, but that is okay with us. Storage space was at a premium though and I was finding my clothes littering the otherwise comfortable couch. The bathroom is brilliant. One particularly good feature was the presence of large soap and shampoo dispensers right in the shower. No more fiddling with tiny bottles in the half-light trying to determine which is which. Need that at home. Location is awesome. From the window we were afforded a compelling view of downtown Minneapolis, easily walkable from the hotel. The very cool Guthrie is right round the corner. On a Saturday, the farmers market there provides a source of provender and coffee. (One knock against the hotel is perhaps the absence of the "continental breakfast" - food and beverage is provided a la carte at a usurious rate). For runners, the river trail is just one block away - one of the best running trails in a big city anywhere. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a "park view" to get view of the city across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aylwin_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was very conveniently located for me (near the UMN department I was visiting). The vibe is a bit like a dorm, but with a sophisticated bar on the first floor. My room was spacious, with a nice view of the edge of downtown Minneapolis. Decor is hip but nondescript. It's the sort of hotel that pipes Zero-7 into the lobby, if that helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us -we really appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come see us again soon. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by the University of Minnesota for a business trip. As a single female, very well accustomed to travel all over the place, I don't ask a great deal, except to feel safe, welcomed and comfortable. This hotel is, quite simply, horrible. It's a vast, echoing warehouse of a place, with overly familiar staff at check-in, 'boutique-style' rooms that are basic and bare, and no room service. I got in in the evening, and in order to eat, I had to go downstairs to the metal-chaired barn of a bar, which I really didn't feel like doing, but there was no choice. I had a salad (and got called 'honey' by the bar-person, which is so twee as to beggar belief). The salad was fine, but I did not enjoy any part of the experience. I slept poorly (very noisy facing the street) and couldn't wait to get out of there. I'd been booked in for two nights, but cancelled that booking within two hours of getting there, so I could move to the Hyatt, which was a million times better. Basically, Aloft is not great by any standard, but as a single female traveler, it's an absolute no-no.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to comment on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience you had hoped for. While we do not offer room service would be happy to prepare any menu items to-go for your convenience if you prefer to stay in your room. We understand that a select service brand is not to everyone's taste which is why Starwood has created nine different brands to meet the individual needs of our guests. If the Aloft brand is not for you we hope that in the future you try one of our full service hotels such as the W or the Westin, or perhaps something from our Luxury Collection. Again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed one night for business. The double-queen room was a good size for my business partner and I, but definitely minimal. Contemporary design abounds from floor to ceiling to open-concept bathroom (i know, i was confused at first too). Small indoor pool & basic work-out facility offer just enough "extra" to make this a good value. Definitely one of the least expensive downtown hotels within walking distance to many points of interest. We skipped the 24/7 pre-packaged food pantry; there are plenty of restaurants around. Big bonus: city-owned parking ramp right next door $7 overnight. Staff was very polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielBakerMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Updated and Funky decor, clean room and sandwiches good in Morning that the chef had made. Pool always available and pool table. King bed nice and yet hard for Senior's back. Location is central to most conventions and Target Center. Free shuttle to Conventions.. great Chef and Polite staff all throughout our stay. Plenty to walk to and see and shopping near.

Room Tip: Ask if the room faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast sandwiches and both the pool and pool table. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend and didn't really have any preconception of what to expect. If you are looking for a hotel with oversized rooms or cabinetry you won't use anyway then this place is not for you. Having said that, we really enjoyed this hotel and would not hesitate to return in the future.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar area were comfortable and included a fireplace, pool table and life-sized Connect Four game. There was an outdoor seating area just off the bar that reminded me of the W Hotel near Time Square. The rooms themselves were quite nice. They were not huge but they were very comfortable and included all the amenities we needed. The styling was very Metro/European inspired and quite functional. There was a big HD TV mounted to the wall and included a charging/connectivity station by the desk. It's obvious that there was a lot of thought and design work that went into the layout of the rooms in order to make them efficient. We had a comfortable king bed with a soft comforter. The only complaint we had about our stay was that it took too long to check in however there was a wedding party checking in ahead of us as well as prom events going on in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river to get an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingChefNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Red Minneapolis
Radisson Red Minneapolis
#36 of 49 in Minneapolis
60 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing