We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful Suprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful Suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend and didn't really have any preconception of what to expect. If you are looking for a hotel with oversized rooms or cabinetry you won't use anyway then this place is not for you. Having said that, we really enjoyed this hotel and would not hesitate to return in the future.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar area were comfortable and included a fireplace, pool table and life-sized Connect Four game. There was an outdoor seating area just off the bar that reminded me of the W Hotel near Time Square. The rooms themselves were quite nice. They were not huge but they were very comfortable and included all the amenities we needed. The styling was very Metro/European inspired and quite functional. There was a big HD TV mounted to the wall and included a charging/connectivity station by the desk. It's obvious that there was a lot of thought and design work that went into the layout of the rooms in order to make them efficient. We had a comfortable king bed with a soft comforter. The only complaint we had about our stay was that it took too long to check in however there was a wedding party checking in ahead of us as well as prom events going on in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river to get an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingChefNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    183
    53
    26
    19
See reviews for
73
115
37
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was a huge disappointment. I've seen college dorms that were nicer than this. Concrete floors. No drawers or real furniture in rooms. They claim to be environmentally friendly but all the food, coffee, etc is plastic or paper. Why no coffee mugs in room? And the five dollar credit that can go towards a bad four-dollar cappuccino in the lobby if I agree to no maid service is an insult. I would definitely avoid this place- not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand not everyone appreciates our simplistic, modern design. We are very sorry that your stay did not met your expectations. We do take pride in our Make a Green choice program. When our guests choose to forgo maid service we save a significant amount of energy and water consumption. Also, we don’t use mugs in the guest room because the coffee cups we provide are recyclable. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our daughter goes to the University of Minnesota and every time we visit her, we stay at Aloft. It is a 5 minute drive to the U. We always enjoy our stay. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfy and we always sleep well....fluffy pillows, comfy beds and wonderful comforters. Through in the in-room movies, bar, refuel station and workout area and you have a great stay. We also enjoy taking a walk in the Gold Medal Park.

Room Tip: Ask for the underground parking in the condo's next door vs. the parking garage across the stree...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MMJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it. We're happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us while visiting your daughter at the University. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

One thing to know about this hotel that the rooms are small, the bathroom doors do not close all the way and if you actually plan to have a restful night of sleep, might want to look for another place. I personally love sleeping in hotels because they usually are quiet and have good service, not the case for Aloft. I could hear the traffic out front with the windows closed, I could also hear all the neighbors and every movement in the hallway. Clearly whomever built this modern ikea hotel did not think of noise control. We called down at 2AM about the noise issue to find that the phone only works on loud speaker phone; nothing was done about the noise issue. Also the lighting of the bathroom lights up the entire bedroom. If you are a person who values privacy and a good nights rest, don't stay in the small roomed wanna be trendy but big fail ikea box hotel. Ow and the bathroom door doesn't close, seems to be a trend from other reviews on here. I loved how I had zero privacy while staying with someone else in the room, made me feel really uncomfortable to conduct business in the bathroom when there is a 4 inch gap because the door does not close all the way. Stay at another hotel is the moral of the story, don't waste your money or time on a hotel that does not value it's customers and provides wanna be trendy rooms. If you are looking for trendy in that style, stay at the W.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellatx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at aloft Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We understand that our loft inspired design does not suit everyone’s taste. We do appreciate you telling us about the bathroom door not closing and the issue with the phone. We’ll look into fixing these issues immediately. We’re sorry to hear that you were not able to get a restful sleep due to noise. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our niece was getting married and our family needed a central place to stay. I don't know who chose the Aloft (think it was the bride!) but it was a good choice. Pool, breakfast, very nice beds with comforters. A European-feel. Also, relaxing in the evenings at the bar area. Wish we would have had more time to spend with each other as the Aloft was great in providing a wonderful place to gather. Will be on our list to stay at when we go back to Minneapolis in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far-end of the corridor do not allow for one to come out the stairs without setting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The stay in this hotel was very pleasant. The staff is yiung and very friendly and make you feel welcome. The decor tries very hard (maybe too hard) to impress that this is a European style boutique hotel, but after a while it seems to be right. The rooms are spacious, bathroom clean, free WIFi. I liked the idea of breakfast in the lobby where you can take a complimentary coffee and put togehter a smallish breakfast of all kinds of things. There is a small exercise room at the entrance leve.
The hotel bar is friendly, the hotel has a shuttle to the university, it's close to the light-train.
All together a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We traveled for a conference at the college. We had been booked closer to the school and that hotel was scary. So when the aloft had a room available we gladly booked. The room overlooked the park which is a nice place to walk. We loved the room and how clean it was. The "party" vibe that was down in the bar was loud but we ended up being there to closing. It was an interesting group of people to meet and talk to. Next conference this is where you will find me. The neighborhood had some cute restaurants and bars!! Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Property: aloft Minneapolis
Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing