We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and super vibe”
Review of aloft Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
aloft Minneapolis
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. I love the decor and atmosphere as well as its wonderfully central location in Minneapolis' Mill District. But what struck me most was the excellent and friendly service we received. We wanted a handicap parking space but it was not available. The concierge made sure that instead we received a pass for the limited underground parking available in the hotel. My wife lost her cell phone and the manager helped me look for it (we eventually found it in the hotel shuttle with the aid of their sparkly driver). On our last night there we sat at their great bar for some drinks and the chef came out for some friendly chatter and comped us some liquor. All in all a fantastic experience. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for aloft Minneapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 510 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recall my mom and many others saying "you never get a second change to make a first impression". Right from the start things were poor.

Of the 2 people staff the front desk, one stayed on a phone, not talking, while a small line formed. She never did say anything, and eventually shrugged and hung up. Body language was "this call is more important than you". The other person was far too verbose, telling each and every guest about every amenity (those of us waiting probably memorized it by the time we were the primary subjects), even though it should have been clear we all don't need to hear about everything.

Decorating and vibe was trendy / modern / minimalist / kewl. (Not sure the right word, but definitely not your dad's best western.)

Hallways were loud, and seemed like echo chambers. (This assessment was validated when the bar rush returned.)

Rooms were very functionally designed. Unfortunately, some small concerns - bathroom sliding door wouldn't fully close (2 inch gap), small closet handing and storage area adequate only for tiny luggage, water pressure more like what you expect at an up-north cabin, mattress was the worst I can remember at a hotel in at least 10 years (maybe it was from my dad's best western).

Hoped for a nice lounge night at the end of the evening. However, hotel had booked a large birthday group (50+ people) with their own overly-distorted-loud-from-too-small-and-overpowered sound system. Why would a hotel with a cool bar allow the rest of its patrons to be overwhelmed?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djlund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at the Aloft because it is a block from the Guthrie where I attended a workshop and a performance. I parked my car in the Guthrie ramp, a municipal ramp that has a people entrance right across from the hotel (cars enter the ramp across the street from the Guthrie). For $15 at check-in I got a 24 hour in and out pass for the ramp. Perfect! I also received a few bucks off for my stay because I was attending a Guthrie performance.
I got a pizza from Sarpino's delivered to my door in a half hour. In the morning I purchased a $5 egg/cheese/ham English muffin in the lobby and enjoyed it with the coffee provided in my room. These conveniences fit my busy schedule.
The room was very clean. Especially nice was a box on the room desk that had electrical outlets for personal electronic devices as well as input jacks to connect devices to the room's large TV.
Check-in was pleasant and the staff was friendly. I would stay again at the Aloft.

Room Tip: My room was a handicap room-- though I didn't request it. The sliding door on the bathroom does...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandiyohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband stays at this hotel all of the time. He likes the accessibility to light rail and that the hotel has a shuttle to get him to his appointments.

And, I mostly liked it with the exception of the bathroom setup. Everything is just too close for comfort for me. I mean, the toilet stall door doesn't even close. I'm sorry, but I want privacy in that part of my life.

The room could also use a second desk-like chair. I looked at the pictures of other Alofts and some have them. I'm not sure why this location doesn't.

The WiFi is completely open, which is also a problem.

I figured out the lighting without much problem. But, the shower/toilet area is lit by only one bare bulb. Don't plan on seeing when using them. Also, even one bedside light is really too bright for the other person to sleep.

Note to housekeeping: Don't take away towels. Most couples need more than two a day.

All in all, though, I'd stay here if I was alone. I like this part of Minneapolis. I like the beds and bedding. I like the bar area. The people who worked their were service oriented and friendly.

Room Tip: I like the back rooms that look over the river.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank revephemeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was very trendy. It is defintiely made for your business type vistor. It is a smaller type room with trendly placement of bed and shower and bathroom. this is not the type of hotel to spend all day relaxing and walking around. It is geared towards your professional crowd and younger client base. the bar was great looking and the decor was more bar like.

We were here for a wedding which we did not spend much time in the room and we were happy not to pay as much becasue we only realy used it to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CYang2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Guthrie is an architectural and theatrical marvel. I went to Minneapolis specifically to visit it and booked the aloft because it looked like it was the closest place to stay. What a nice surprise! Youthful, sassy, clean and hip, the aloft is the nephew of a W Hotel. Limited service but big on atmosphere. The beds are very comfortable and the bath is large and well lit. My only complaint would be the individual ac/heat units that are louder than central air and woke me up a few times. Loved their wxyz bar!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is not your usual business Hyatt or Hilton. This hotel, however, is upscale, current, modern decour that represents the up and coming business professionals. It has a full exercise facility, upscale bar, smaller rooms that are clean and efficient.

For the no frills business traveler, this is comparably priced in the low $100 range.

Although there is no breakfast or dining on premesis, it is located in the mill district, near the warehouse district.. all urban renewal, new condos etc, It's right in the middle of the downtown business and night life. Good restaurants are close. Shuttle is free within 5 mile radius.

Large LCD TV, free wifi and input jacks for HDMI and audio ipods, ipads, iphones and kindles the hi tech additions are convenient for the connected business travelers.

Travel, sleep, work and play.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Red Minneapolis
Radisson Red Minneapolis
#27 of 49 in Minneapolis
192 reviews
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
261 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Minneapolis

Address: 900 Washington Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $125 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Minneapolis is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired design for an easy Twin Cities stay. Stroll out our door to explore downtowns trendy Mill District, rich in history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing