We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was a bank building on the past, design are well done, and most of their staff were friendly and well trained.

I recommend pay for the executive floor so you can be on the 10th floor very private location

The Restaurant is good and people are always warmly welcome you

Great option in DownTown

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    266
    115
    47
    27
See reviews for
84
249
55
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was snobbish and not very helpful. They couldn't figure out that my room was pre-paid, and asked for a $100 per night (I am here 4 nights) "incidentals charge" - no way am I spending $400 at the bar. I had checked luggage and had to go fetch it myself - they did offer to let me use their cart. I ordered a pizza - the front desk wouldn't let the guy deliver it (that is not uncommon) - but, there is no security on the elevators, he could have just come on upstairs. The front desk didn't even call my room.

The concierge lounge is...well, average. The light dinner at night is just plain BAD - two nights over sticky, overcooked, unflavorable spaghetti, stale crackers with cheese, and chex mix out of a tube machine. Breakfast was ok - just plain, nothing remarkable. They tell me the restaurant Max makes the food, and if so I would seek out a Golden Corral or Waffle House first :(.

The room I had was big - but the furniture was uncomfortable. The bathroom was big, but the normal-sized tub/shower had all kinds of handicapped equipment making it cramped. Housekeeping didn't replentish the soap or shampoo or mouthwash.

I am a Marriott Platinum member, and there are dozens of better hotels. This is one to skip, for the price. Check out the Renaissance Depot, the full-service Marriott or even the Residence Inn if you are brand-loyal. I guess to summarize, if this represented Marriott hotels overall, I would pick a different chain.

Room Tip: The hallways are weird for a hotel, the elevators are dirty. Don't stay on the second floor - i...
See more room tips
Green Features: I could really give a flying flip that their garbage cans are divided in 1/2 and that they don't wash the towels unless you ask them to.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for giving your feedback about your recent stay. We continually strive to exceed our guests' expectations but it is obvious we weren't able to do so throughout your stay. I apologize that our service was not up to par and that we missed several opportunities to better serve you. We are always making changes to our offerings in the Concierge Lounge and will take your feedback into consideration when doing so.
Again, I apologize that you were not pleased with your experience. Should you be back in the Minneapolis area we would appreciate the opportunity to deliver a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after finding a great deal on Hotwire. The hotel was very nice and within walking distance from anything we needed downtown. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very spacious and comfortable. We were set up in a handicap room so I am not too sure what the other rooms were like however. I found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable as well.

My only complaint would be the lack of free wifi, but this is typical in hotels at this level so I was expecting it to be expensive. There are lots of places around here that offer free wifi so when we needed it we would go out.

The room was very quiet and we never heard any outside noise or from the hallways.

I would definitely consider staying here again when I am back in town as I come here regularly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiegirlwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibley, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only parking was either pay $30.00 for valet parking of walk a block+ to pay to park. It was not mentioned on the website. They also say that there is a pool, according to the website, but there is none. My kids were very disappointed. The room was small, but the bed was comfortable. We got our room from Groupn, and they couldn't even find our reservation, first. It took a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel that used to be a bank. Management works very hard to please the guest with there small rooms and limited food service. Great location away from downtown traffic. Parking is overpriced at 32 as night

Room Tip: 10th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
335 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a unique hotel, certainly not a cookie cutter product. It is part of the Marriott Autograph Hotels and these are always a treat. The building lobby was an old bank and is a very inviting place to hang out. The lobby is attached to a restaurant (called Max), which I am not clear is part of the hotel or not. The drinks and bar experience both in the hotel lobby and The Max were perfect. The decor is difficult to describe but is sort of a modern Art Deco. The rooms were very nice, with attractive appointments and a great bed. I have stayed there twice and the rooms were identical -- longer and narrower than most rooms, but fine for a couple. It is about a long block away from the light rail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the price and we were intrigued by the history of the building. The first floor is a bit overwhelming because it is so modern and interesting and so unique but the front desk staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was small and compact but the furniture fit the room well. The bathroom, however, was HUGE. The decor was trendy so don't expect a cookie cutter hotel. I like the way they have used the space. Great location on the quieter side of town yet within walking distance to so much. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Address: 215 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing