We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Minneapolis, both booked through Hotwire. The location is good - right downtown. There are many parking ramps around the hotel which are more reasonable than the valet parking. The one downfall to the location is it is a little (and I stress a little) farther away from the main hub of downtown. However, it is connected to the Skyway, but we were told the Skyway closed at 5 p.m., so if you actually wanted to go out and do something in the evening, it does not do you much good. It is far enough that we would probably not book this particular hotel on our own, but if we ended up getting it through a site like Hotwire, it is a great deal.

The staff was very friendly. No complaints there. The valets were extremely friendly every time we walked by.

The room was nice. There was not even too much visible wear and tear, except for two drawers that would not shut all the way. We had a room near the elevator and ever heard hallway noise. Large bathroom. No tub, but a very spacious shower.

Our heater was extremely loud when you turned it to anything above 70 degrees. When it would kick on, it sounded almost like a gunshot. It made our hearts stop multiple times, so we set it below. Not a fun thing to wake up to in the middle of the night...

Other than the heater and location, I would not have any major complaints about this hotel. Again, I do not know if I would intentially go to this hotel's website to book a room, but finding a steal from a place like Hotwire and staying here is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckymuf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 804 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Once again, another fun and quirky hotel from Marriott. Great rooms, location, and you get Marriott points.
The restaurant (Max) is actually pretty good. Or at least their smoked salmon.
Quiet. Comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

To borrow an old marketing slogan from Virginia Slims, Minneapolis has made significant, impressive strides with its hotel scene in the past ten years, going from 0 glitzy hotels a decade ago to boasting more than a handful today. I've stayed at most of the sexy properties, and The Hotel Minneapolis (HM) ranks right up there. Here's why.

VALUE
HM isn't the very best of the bunch, but when you factor in room rate it's definitely the best of the bunch per dollar spent. A night's stay in this town during the week can easily run you $300, but I've checked-into HM on a Wednesday for a rate as low as $109. It showed up for a similar ridiculous price on my Hotel Tonight app a few nights ago.

AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION
You'd never know it -- nothing about this hotel screams "chain" -- but HM is an upscale Marriott property. Which means you can earn points, use your points, and receive the perks you've come to love as a Marriott Rewards Member. I'm at the Gold level of membership, which entitles me to club room access, access to a private gym, free wi-fi and a general, misplaced feeling of self-importance.

LOCATION / CONVENIENCE
Close to everything, but not in the middle of it (who wants to be on Block E? The local ticket scalper, that's who). From the HM, I'm at the U of M in under 5 minutes in the morning.

LOBBY
Spectacular. A really beautiful, dramatic space with high ceilings, gauzy curtains, colorful rugs, potted palms, marble and touches of art deco. I could be happy hanging out in the library all day.

So what are the downsides to staying at HM? My complaints are minor and few: 1) the restaurant and common areas lack a "buzz": the hotel just never seems to be alive with interesting guests when I've visited it, and 2) the guest rooms are above-average, but not great. Granted, the beds are super-comfortable, but the space is standard-size, the decor is ho-hum, and the amenities and furnishings are not memorable.

I have stayed three times at HM, and I have a reservation for later this month. I'm looking forward to it.

www.esmetravels.com

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Location is excellent, connected by the Skyway system, 1 block from light rail. 2 blocks from Hennepin, 2 blocks from Washington. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They want to make your stay here enjoyable. What customer service should be. Beautiful room, clean, very large bathroom with walk in shower. Large 50 inch television mounted on the wall. Small refrigerator also. 12 foot ceilings make the room feel grand. Very quiet, stayed on the 8th floor. Got it on Hotwire, 4 star hotel, for an unbelievable price, $74 including taxes/fees. We absolutely loved the hotel. We like it better than the Westin, which we like a lot. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Hotel Minneapolis is a great hotel. Set in an old bank the hotel radiates warmth and class with a modern touch.

When checking in the ramp for the valet parking is up an alley beside the main hotel - this was a little tricky for us to see coming in at night.

Check in was smooth. We booked on hotwire and were greeted like any other guest.

The room was very nice. Soft linens and a good mattress with a selection of pillows made for a very good night's sleep.

In the morning we enjoyed the buffet. We found $16 a little pricey for what was offered but it was good food. Due to food allergies I was not able to eat the eggs (milk in them) so they made me poached eggs at no additional cost - great service!

Overall it was a very nice hotel and we had a great time. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you ask for it when booking. Many of the rooms look over the roof of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinnagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The building that it is in (an old bank) is simply fantastic and the public areas are very well decorated. We were very happy with how quiet this hotel was as we were needing the R & R.
We got our reservations by bidding on Priceline, so I am not sure if our "stay" was an average stay or not, but beyond the above mentioned, we were very disappointed for a 4 star hotel. The front desk and valet staff were not rude, but they were definitely NOT friendly. There was no effort made to make us feel welcome. The room was extremely small and the "supplies" were lacking. Only two of each bathroom towels. A very small bottle of shampoo and conditioner and a bar of soap. No coffee cups and only one "pod" to make one cup of coffee. Two bottles of water for $4 each. Our window looked out to a brick wall that was so close and so high that we could not see the ground or the sky. Only brick. Internet is $11. We called room service for a night time snack and could not decided between the fruit and cheese tray for $11 or the Hummus and crackers tray for $7. Not wanting fruit, I asked if we could have hummus added to the cheese tray. I was told yes, and that it would then cost $27. Go figure. $10 dollars more than if I would have just ordered both and thrown away the fruit. They did not seem to understand the error of their logic so we ended up with nothing. And they were perfectly happy to not find any alternative.
I've stayed at much cheaper hotels and have received three times the amenities and service. Whether or not they "tagged" us as the cheap room because we went through priceline remains to be known. Either way, I will not stay there again. Which is sad, because it had a lot of potential.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the size and location of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in January. At the time of check-in the clerk said there had been a water pipe break in the area, and we had to decide whether or not to chance it and stay at the hotel. Since it was too inconvenient to find another hotel, we decided to risk it, and in the end, the pipe was fixed without any inconvenience to us. Beautiful large lobby, nice clean modern room. No real problems. Service was somewhat friendly and quite helpful. Parking is a bit of an issue as they only offer valet parking at $30 a night. To save money you could find public parking nearby for about half that price. The location is downtown, though would be nicer to be a few blocks closer to Nicolette, but overall not too bad of a location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,310 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#30 of 52 in Minneapolis
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 S 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $94 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota, combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations: the brand new Nicollet Mall, Target Center, the Minneapolis Convention Center, U. S. Bank Stadium, Target Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. We are a preferred choice among hotels in Minneapolis because of our excellent location, just 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing