We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 26, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bummy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 791 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at this "Marriott" hotel because we were going to the Christmas Holidazzle Parade(4 blocks away), going to Macy's 8th floor free elf exhibit(4 blocks away) and a play(6 blocks away). As you notice, everything is close and within safe walking distance. This hotel has a nice restuarant/bar and nice breakfast buffet. All staff were very helpful and courteous. For travelers looking for a nice city to visit any time of year, Minneapolis has alot of amenities. Stays on weekends are very reasonable. There is decent shopping downtown and very good theatre. There are 4 theaters within about 6 blocks of most hotels. They are the Orpheum, Pentage, State and New Century. They offer a wide range of shows/entertainment and wide range of prices. If you want to go to the Mall Of America, the lite rail is very accessible and cheap. You can also take it to the airport. During the warm months there are some fun things by the river(Mississippi. But....my best suggestion is to do a 2-night between Thursday and Sunday between Thanksgiving and Christmas and enjoy the great parade, see a show or two and do some fun shopping.

Room Tip: This hotel was originally a bank so don't know as any room is special. We were on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

As a Marriott card holder I have stayed at many locations across the country. I generally enjoy the chain and have had many excellent experiences. When traveling to Minneapolis on business I would typically stay at City Center. On my recent trip I decided to try the Minneapolis hotel. My room (702) was a little shabby, walls need paint, something had run down the wall in the bathroom. Not the best impression. Although the self serve wine area just outside of Max is pretty cool its also a little pricey. Overall a good stay that could have been better.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Chaz B,

I want to thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer and for choosing to stay with The Hotel Minneapolis on your last trip to the downtown area.

I want to apologize that your room did not meet your expectations and please be assured that I have walked the room with our Rooms Manager and Chief Engineer to address the concerns that you noted.

We continually change out the selections in the wine machines in the Library area and i have asked our Food and Beverage Director to see if he can work with our local vendors to try to achieve a more balanced selection of wine prices by the glass.

I would hope that on your next trip to the downtown Minneapolis area your will choose The Hotel Minneapolis for your overnight accommodations and experience our ongoing mission of enhancing our guests experience.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with a friend to celebrate my birthday weekend. It was in a central location, especially because we traveled by car to different parts of town throughout the whole weekend. The decor is sleek and chic. Our room was on the small side, but since we only used the hotel as a base, it didn't bother me. There's a huge flatscreen tv that's mounted on the wall so that saved some space.

The only downside to the hotel is the price of valet parking, which was $30/night. We could have parked in a public parking lot a few blocks away, but for convenience and safety reasons, decided to bite the bullet and pay the $30. Just remember to factor that amount into your calculations if you're considering similar hotels in the area.

We didn't realize at first that this used to be an old bank (which explains all the vaults). We had a lot of fun taking pictures of the lobby area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I love love love this property and this my second time there. I just love the staff that do not disappoint and when checking with a cheap Priceline deal they do not judge you. Thanks for that=) and thanks for the great offers on Priceline sometimes.


The hotel is in a great location to bar and restaurants. I love bed, bathroom and modern interior. Thank you.

Room Tip: Overnight Parking is a little expensive beware $30 a night should have checked. My bad..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlickne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed for a family trip over Thanksgiving, and the Hotel Minneapolis provided a great comfortable retreat! The lobby and overal decor is 'midwest chic'; somehow they managed to effectively pair velvet with plaid wool flannel, and lots of nice photos of historic Minneapolis.

The room was quiet, comfortable and well appointed. The front desk recommended several parking options; we ended up just a block away at an inexpensive public garage. The hotel's restaurant was the least-interesting-looking-and-sounding restaurant in the area; we walked around to other places, and there are plenty to choose from in the neighborhood. We'd stay again, especially if we get another good online deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonneChere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was a little nervous after reading reviews here. I booked through Hotwire so was stuck with the Hotel. I was very impressed with it overall and had none of the issues reported here. Valet parking, though expensive, was nice as its more secure than surrounding parking garages and have 24 hour access to it. Check in and out was flawless and very quick. Desk staff were polite but not much for small talk. The room decor was a nice combo of chrome and glass, kind of a retro look. The room was a little small but we don't spend much time there so wasn't an issue at all. It had a large flatscreen tv and very large bathroom and shower. The king bed was very comfortable and besides hearing some traffic noise, it was pretty quiet. Housekeeping did a great job, room was always cleaned and straightened out nicely and staff was very friendly. We went to a NFL game so the hotel was in a great location, halfway between the stadium and the nightlife downtown. We only paid $63 per night but it would be a good deal at twice that price. We were very happy staying there and hope to again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,291 reviews
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#31 of 50 in Minneapolis
517 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,445 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Address: 215 S 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $107 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota, combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations: the brand new Nicollet Mall, Target Center, the Minneapolis Convention Center, U. S. Bank Stadium, Target Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. We are a preferred choice among hotels in Minneapolis because of our excellent location, just 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing