We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Marriott with Personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Marriott with Personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A decent hotel with more personality than your average Marriott that's right off the light rail's "Hiawatha" line. The front desk staff was very personable and they had a decent in-house restaurant/cocktail lounge, always a plus to not have to venture out for dinner. My room looked directly into an office window, which was ~20' away (the width of an alley), which made it feel a bit confining. Little things could have been improved: add another hook or towel rack in the bathroom; move the shower valve or the rainshower head so you can turn the water on and bring it to a comfortable temp without getting drenched. Watch out for room service - after 2 tries they still couldn't produce the simple pasta with garlic, olive oil, and fresh seasonal vegetables that was described on the menu.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't face SW or you'll be looking directly into the offices across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LB60618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    247
    102
    40
    18
See reviews for
72
235
53
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,391 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here one night with my wife. The lobby is very nice and the entire hotel is a landmark that has been restored.

There was some confusion around my Platinum gift but that got resolved. We also had a heating problem that was promptly fixed.

The rooms have high ceilings and modern decor. The are SMALL. Most (nearly all?) have little to no view as the hotel is "boxed in" by other taller properties around it.

Parking was an expensive $30 but there are options within a block or two for less than half of that.

I've eaten lunch and Maxx (the only restaurant) several times, but this was my first breakfast. A buffet. It was average.

Bed was comfortable. Nice Bose wave radio in the room.

Carpet in the room could use a shampoo.

Room Tip: The 10th floor is the best but stay away from the concierge lounge unless you want to hear the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUTOMinneapolisGM, General Manager at The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Lucycan,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you had some minor challenges when you arrived but all were promptly resolved.

It appears that you did enjoy your stay with us here at The Hotel Minneapolis but we still need to contiue to focus on some small details to make the entire expereince one to remember.

We are committed to doing just that. It is with great feedback from amazing guests such as yourself that allows us to utilize your comments with the entire staff to sharpen there attention to details and strive to make all guests experience one to remember!

When your plans bring you back into downtown Minneapolis we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to continually improve upon our customer service.

Sincerely,
Don Cook
General Manager
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent upscale and unique Marriott property within easy walking distance to light rail and Nicollett Mall. Nice, clean and quiet room. Large bathroom with large walk-in shower. Only complaint was the desk and desk chair were not conducive for work. The chair was quite uncomfortable and the desk was oddly placed such that there was very little room to work with the bed literally right behind the chair. Most rooms look at each other so not much for a view. Concierge lounge: staff was excellent, adequate seating, multiple large screen TVs, and average food selections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having no experience at all with hotels in Minneapolis, chosing the Hotel Minneapolis was a bit like buying a pig in a poke. Were we pleasantly surprised! The hotel was amazingly economical, but what we got for our tarrif was outstanding: Beautiful lobby, clean and extremely comfortable room with the best shower ever and lots of fluffy towels, an enormous flat screen tv, a short walk to the shops and restaurants of Nicolett Mall, and best of all, ta da!!: A two-minute walk to the light rail which goes DIRECTLY to the airport and costs $1.50, 75 cents for us because we're over 65.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night while watching our daughter and son-in-law compete in the Medtronics Marathon.
This was the only category 4 Marriott property we could book in Minneapolis on late notice and it is a really good category 4 choice if you have some of those rewards from Marriott.
Our room which was large and well appointed came with 1 free breakfast buffet (very nice) and free valet parking.
The concierge lounge was poorly stocked on a weekend but there were soft drinks and pretzels available.
All in all it is a nice place and good value for your Marriott Rewards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We got a great deal at this hotel so we figured we'd stay for our second time. Came to town for a night out, so the distance is a little bit further to get to the nightlife than other hotels but it was a very little price to pay. The beds are comfortable, the lobby is beautiful (and smelled amazing..whatever they use I want..), and the rooms are great (although a little small). Staff was friendly at checkin but god forbid you call down for something they act like its a chore to answer the phone.
We've stayed here twice and I'm sure we will again if the price is right (although not our first choice for downtown).

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. The views in this hotel are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this property twice. It is an older building that was remodeled and converted to a hotel. That being said they did a very nice job making the conversion. The rooms are modern and decent size (yet smaller than a new construction hotel). The lobby has some character reflecting the old building. No major complaints about the building or rooms. Very nice.

Only issues are that valet parking is the only option and location. The location, while in downtown Minneapolis, is a few blocks from restaurants and activity. They are certainly within a 5 to 9 block walking distance but it does make it a bit inconvenient.

Would I stay here again? Sure. It is a nice property. But there are other options that are just as nice if you want to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xy223yz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Address: 215 S 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1709
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing