We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Poor Location, Service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
St.Louis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Poor Location, Service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Recently I attended a convention and could not get into to the host hotel. I was put at the Hotel Minneapolis. While the concept is cool and the building is beautiful the location was less than desirable. It is very out of the way especially if you are attending a convention. Around the corner there are strip clubs and the area feel seedy. I had to take cabs each time which ranged from $6-15. Going back and forth can add up. It was not safe nor convenient to walk. The lobby is truly a work of art. It is an old bank building and very attractively decorated. I was very disapointed as I went to sit in the library to have a glass of wine at a self serve bar when getting a key to that bar became an act of Cogress. I went to the front desk gave my room key to request a key for the wine bar and was told I would need to go up to my room to get a drivers licence to show my home address. Being a Marriott Gold Member should have been enough information on file but it was not. The desk clerk was less than helpul and finally told me I could go across the lobby to another bar called Max's to order a glass of wine. That was fine , but it killed the ambiance of sitting in the library. Truly they could have cared a less. The rooms in the hotel are very loft , trendy. Beds are very comfortable and bathroom is quite large. The shower is cavernous and the shower head was a very light downward trickling spray. It took twice as long each day to get ready. I was anoyed to say the least. While the concept of this hotel is swank, honestly if I were going back to town to stay for pleasure it would not be my first choice of hotels to stay in. I just think for the price and location there are many other great options to consider.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKBSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    254
    110
    42
    24
See reviews for
79
242
53
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

My Wife and I took a weekend jaunt to Minneapolis to see a concert and generally bum around. Wanting to keep the price down (and to add a sense of adventure), we used Hotwire to book our room. Selecting a $59 room downtown, we ended up getting the Hotel Minneapolis. The bargain of the century!

The location is excellent...walking distance to the Warehouse District, sports stadiums and downtown malls.

We parked for $4 for nice overnight parking 1 block away...super cheap.

Had breakfast at Lou Ann's Restaurant about 3 blocks away which was excellent as well.

I was taking photos in the lobby area adjacent to Max Restaurant in the hotel when one of the waiters approached me. I thought he was going to scold me for taking pictures inside their wine vault, but instead he gave me a history lesson on the building and told me about the other three vaults in the building (it was a bank in its original existence). Excellent, friendly service without a hiccup.

Nicest business center I've seen. 6-8 iMacs allowed for no waiting.

The room we had (437) was nice and quiet at the end of the hall. It was their "King Autograph" series. It had an alley view, but for the price I couldn't complain in the least. The room was very nice, the King Bed was OUTSTANDING, and the bathroom was one of the largest I've seen in a hotel.

I would DEFINITELY select the Hotel Minneapolis for our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a nice hotel, I would give it more "stars" but for two major design flaws in the room. First, there is no bathtub, not itself a problem, but the shower has a glass door with an opening on the side away from the "faucet.". There is no way to turn on the shower without getting wet, and no way to adjust the temperature without either getting frozen or scalded or both.

Second, while there is plenty of light by the desk, there is virtually no light by the bed. If you like to read or work with your laptop in bed, you are out of luck, unless you want to drag the desk lamp over.

Overall, 3.5 stars, but if I have to choose between 3 and 4, I go with 3.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had a girls night out in Minneapolis and chose to think as our place to stay. It was reasonable - $109 per room with King Bed and everything seemed new and modern. One thing the rooms were lacking was a refrigerator. Other than that, we had everything we needed! We also had drinks at the hotel restaurant before heading out - great atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angies25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Having read the reviews here, I wonder about those who didn't absolutely love this place because I sure did. The front desk staff were incredibly warm and welcoming. I arrived earlier than the check-in time, hoping to merely drop off my bag, as I had some extra time to wander and explore the city. They said they were full the night before, so there was no unoccupied room to assign me. But they invited me to stick around, make use of their facilities and would get a room ready for me, if it was possible. And they did. All this, with a very friendly warm demeanor.

The room and hotel itself is terrific. Wonderfully old restored building. Everything in the room fully functioning and it has an ultra modern chic design. Could not have been more pleased with the total experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hleong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I had over $500 worth of electronic equipment stolen from my room. The hotel did an "investigation" that found no one entered the room between me leaving in the morning and returning that evening. They asked the housekeeper, she said she didn't take it. Case closed.
I will NEVER stay here again and urge everyone to NEVER leave anything in your room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Was a very nice and clean hotel. A good choice I just enjoy my stay there :-)

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Address: 215 S 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1709
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection is conveniently located in downtown Minneapolis combining urban energy with a sophisticated and comfortable experience that truly mixes business with pleasure. The hotel is connected to the city's renowned skyway system and within blocks of the city's most desirable destinations:Nicollet Mall, Target Headquarters, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Mall of America Field, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants including the award winning restaurant MAX located right at the hotel. The hotel is also located 1 block from Light Rail Transit connecting to Minneapolis International Airport and Mall of America. Featuring 6,000 square ft. of flexible meeting space, 24 hour fitness and business center, and 222 guestrooms with high-speed wireless Internet Access, work desks, flat screen LCD televisions, and MP3 docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minneapolis Doubletree
Minneapolis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing