We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Minneapolis Institute of Art
Ranked #1 of 213 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel through 4,000 years of world history as you view more than 80,000 works of sculpture, photography, paintings, drawings and prints.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the price”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Free? This place is awesome. I don't like art. I definitely prefer history. Which is why I like the MIA. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeDee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,525
    271
    30
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Eclectic collection”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The MIA tends to have a smattering of this, a little of that, but it has a few wonderful collections. I could spend a week in the Impressionists room. And their collection of complete rooms from different periods makes you feel like you are there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MnVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The building itself is a work of art, the collections are wonderful. Our favorite is the "Veiled Lady"

Helpful?
1 Thank mdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great museum”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We saw the exhibit of ceramic warriors from the tomb of the first Chinese emperor. Went back later to see their textiles.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terra Cotta Warriors unbelievable!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited during the Terra Cotta Warriors exhibit and all I can say is WOW. This building is MASSIVE...having never been there before, we got lost 3 times before we found the exhibit! But once there, were truly amazed at the display and the audio tour.

We were so impressed with the MIA that we decided to join - it's a good deal as you get free admittance to the special exhibits, and can pole around in the museum all you want! Fun distraction!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveThatMouseHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneapolis Institute of Art also viewed

 

Been to Minneapolis Institute of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing