We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must have brunch here”

Triple Rock Social Club
Ranked #749 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Cedar-Riverside
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You must have brunch here”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The only down side of Sunday brunch at the Triple Rock Social Club is that it's small and has a dedicated following of patrons who show up just before it opens at 10 a.m. So just get there about 10 minutes earlier and you'll be good.

This is a punk rock bar and it looks like it - if you went to college in the 1980's you'll feel like old times. The Bloody Marys are generous and the food is terrific. They have vegan food but I was too focused on their Mother Biker (eggs, potatoes and cheese) to worry about a healthy diet. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh Mother Biker, let me count the ways... vegan & omni brunch heaven with kick-butt staff”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ah,T-Rock. Loud punk and 80s hair metal from the juke box, Star Wars memorabilia interspersed with naughty monkey tchotchkes, posters about bands and of course the obligatory PBR and bacon shwag... why of course you're the best vegan weekend brunch-spot in the Twin Cities.
Don't get me wrong, Pizza Luce, Modern on Chicago Ave., and Bryant-Lake-Bowl hold their own, but you just can't beat Mother Biker. ....Oh, Mother Biker. This nacho "cheeze" mistress of the late morning isn't just for vegans -- she made it to #12 on City Pages list of top tasty Twin Cities dishes in 2011. http://blogs.citypages.com/food/2011/04/the_triple_rock.php
I can't get enough of her, and eat here as often as possible with the hubby and with the best lady friends. Sure, there are other things on the menu. And i'm sure everything's good... except maybe the vegan pigs in a blanket, which are really bland...probably because they're meant for kids and not 40-year-old ladies who douse everything in hot sauce and drink whisky. (Oh, and sometimes there's one or two kids here, but their punk-lovin' parents are generally way more attentive and the kids better behaved than at other restaurants.)
The other great thing about this place: the staff.
Beth, the go-to weekend server in the front or main room, is an efficient wonder. Full room but you need another pot of coffee? Poof. It's there. Like magic. She and the bartender (who has an awesome Ferdinand the Bull tattoo) and the barback are fast and the perfect blend of tough (it is a bar) and friendly. Tip extra-well.
...Oh and I gave it a high rating for special occassions because the hubby and i have spent our anniversary here -- the annual July 4th D4 show. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank One_Happy_Bull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Midwestern sandwiches of the Americas”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had my reasons for wanting to come here. I left happier than when I arrived.

Cheap, quality drafts, cool bar staff, and above all... a mystery chef's special. It's called the "Chef's Revenge" and costs $9. They bring you "whatever the chef thinks you need."

Apparently the chef thought I needed a triple-decker sandwich filled with cheese and some kind of pulled spicy-BBQ chicken, atop a hillock of tater tots.

He wasn't wrong.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Treppenwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
165 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not bad for an "off-road" kind of place”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

You'll find characters here, no doubt about it, but also a ton of great beer and some decent food. The poutine was a surprise (fries nothing special but the gravy was really yummy).

Not much for those with allergies but it did the job when called upon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cool place for a show & a bite to eat-”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The last time I was here was for the Sage Francis show a couple weeks ago. I love how little and imtimate the place is. Cool people & good food. I heard the breakfast was bomb so I'll be back to try it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple Rock Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Triple Rock Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing