We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for take-out”

Salty Tart Patisserie
Ranked #7 of 35 Bakeries in Minneapolis
Price range: $2 - $34
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Heaven for take-out”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have never had such a melt-in-your-mouth cheesecake...oh my god....it was DIVINE!
I couldn't tell you whether the place was expensive or not as the presentation of their goodies made me stop thinking about this the second I browsed their display. I had one dessert with my friends, bought another for the road and another to share with my significant other.

I know for sure that I will be back there. Although the cashier didn't seem overly excited to get some business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheese!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went to the Minnesota Cheese fest today. Salty Tart was there with their Jalapeno cheese bread and Asiago pastries. Cheesy and delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grammabuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Michelle Gayer from Salty Tart, together with Jack Riebel from Butcher & the Boar, was among the nominees for the Best Chef in Midwest award from James Beard Foundation. Pastry chefs are not often considered for such awards and while visiting Minneapolis we made plans to taste her tarts and cookies. The bakery is located in Midtown Global Market, an interesting arrangement of multiple vendors offering a wide variety of products, grocery items and delicacies. On Sunday morning there were very few people in a big building. Salty Tart was indeed very good. We tried seasonal fruit tart, chocolate salted caramel tart and three other pastries. Everything we tried was excellent. Open design allows watching at least some steps of preparation – additional entertainment factor. When we will be in Minneapolis next time, we will revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LabRat_2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So many treats, so little time”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This little bakery stand was featured in the airplane magazine as I was flying in. Imagine my delight to find it was across the street from my hotel! Tried all the chocolate cakes and cupcakes I could during my stay, and even managed to take one home on the plane with me. The variety was wonderful, but the lemon trifle was divine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We came back the next day, too!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

On our son's recommendation we visited the Salty Tart for pastry. The sweet pastry was delicious especially the pear galette with the perfectly melt-in-your mouth 1/2 pear on top. BUT the best treats were the savory ones! My favorite was the croissant with cheese and roasted red pepper. We enjoyed every pieces so much that we came back the next morning for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theseds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Tart Patisserie also viewed

 

Been to Salty Tart Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing