We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in MSP - Loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in MSP - Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I spent a fabulous New Years Eve night at the "W Hotel - The Foshay." It started out with professional valet services anda friendly belhop - and was followed by an upgrade to a corner room with a fantastic view.

The room was clean, hip, and comfortable. The bed was so cozy that I didn't want to leave the room. And the shower - best shower ever!

I spent a large part of the night in the hotel barl....it was packed but the crowd was hip and friendly - I never waited more than 2-3 minutes for a drink.

Will I come back? You bet!

  • Liked — Modern and sleak design throughout the historic propertiy
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    341
    146
    59
    34
See reviews for
100
518
103
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweateat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My event at the W Hotel looked beautiful and the food was absolutely outstanding. Unfortunately service did not measure up. Upon arrival I was promptly introduced to my waiter, Rafael. I was told to inform him of my needs. Frantically rushing around, he looked dazed, confused and completely preoccupied. It made me feel as if something was wrong or about to go wrong. Having some questions I tried to touch base with the staff who told me I had to talk to Rafael, but he was nowhere in sight. Throughout my event every time I needed him he was not available. (This was incredibly frustrating) Eventually someone was gracious enough to retrieve him for me. It was at that time he approached me red faced and looking furious. He then acted very short and completely disregarded my questions. This event was quite costly and I feel it should have included respectful treatment and professionalism. If I wanted to tolerate behavior like this I would have stayed home with my teenage step children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djnatosha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Me and my new husband stayed in October for our wedding night. We were upgraded to a suite by the Hotel (Very nice of them yes) but the staff forgot to send our luggage or the gifts my co-workers gave us up to the room. I actually had to be told by my co-workers that they did something. When we complained we were offered another night all expense paid, So we thought ok go back NYE - Room on NYE was dirty and the heat had to be cranked to 90 for it to feel 70 degrees. Plus after we ordered room service supposedly on them we awoke the next morning to a BILL.

I will never again stay here and will tell everyone I know to go to another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djnatosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed at this W during the Republican convention, and I believe only a few weeks after it had opened. I have to say that I had a really nice stay - the room was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and I really enjoyed the bar area and Manny's restaurant.
I stayed at the hotel for five nights, and found it to be quiet, in a good part of town that's walkable to just about everything, and great room service (the mini burgers are delicious!).
I recommend this hotel - I had a great time and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kikicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I have been to probably 15 W hotels around the country. this is a strange place. hotel room colors weird, lobby bar is even different. i prefer the westin, graves or hotel chambers to this hotel. believe me I was hoping it would be great i live in minneapolis but i would pass.

Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mike1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a unique hotel, but not worth the cost in my opinion.

Pros: Rain shower, comfortable bed, friendly staff
Cons: Tiny rooms, cleanliness, poor amenities (non-functioning ipod station, heat - we had it set to 90 degrees and it was still cold!, mini-bar issues.....)

The staff was wonderful though - very apologetic & accomodating, including giving us breakfast on the house.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank moedixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We booked a promotional deal for a combination birthday/anniversary night on the town. It was good to see the attention paid to a classic building, but I'm glad we didn't pay full boat for the tiny but tasteful room. The trendy black-and-white minimalist/modern style is well done, apparently the model for the cheaply-done Scottsdale Mondrian. The bed was very comfortable and the minuscule room had lots of nice touches, like the excellent video & audio equipment. However, the room was uncomfortably cold, and the thermostat didn't seem to have any appreciable effect on the comfort level, perhaps because the heating units are hidden by a sofa and heavy drapes. The hallway was downright frigid, which didn't help. The view from the sixth floor window was forgettable, but what do you expect from a promotional deal? Prohibition, the two-story bar in Mr. Foshay's former private office, has been beautifully restored and has some big rooms and several cozy conversational areas, with great views from the windows and details like decorated ceilings. A little trendy for our tastes, but fun for a night on the town.

  • Liked — Location, design
  • Disliked — Climate control
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Ivy
Hotel Ivy
#7 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing