We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“old school mixed with metro flare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Lake
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“old school mixed with metro flare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I liked the evening we had at the W but dont really know if the experience was completely for me. Don't let it scare you off as all the folks we met at the door, front desk and in the building were great andi room was also great.
We did get charged for something that we didn't buy on the mini bar and the drinks on the 47th floor were a little high but you go there for the experience.
Loved all the old wood work and being able to have breakfast right out of the lobby was also nice.
If you are younger and a city dweller this place should suit your needs just fine.

Room Tip: The front desk may work with you if they have addl. rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLakeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello MapleLakeJoe,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. Your kind words regarding the friendliness of our talent are much appreciated, and it will be a pleasure to share with the Welcome Ambassadors and Welcome Desk Agents! My apologies you were mischarged for an item from the Munchie box, please see my follow up message to resolve this error. I welcome you back soon for another Whatever/Whenever experience!

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    325
    138
    46
    27
See reviews for
88
466
93
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I enjoyed the W though I concur with the comments about turning up the lights just a teeny tiny bit in the lobby...thigh and calf bruises from running into things might match the purple decor, but they hurt. Kidding (sort of) aside, the room was excellent, housekeeping was absolutely immaculate, the doormen were a huge help securing friendly and cost-effective drivers in the mornings, and the food at the lobby bar was outstanding. The grilled cheese on the bar menu might be my favorite hotel upscale-comfort food meal ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Welcome, thelivingjuj,

Your comments are much appreciated; thank you for being a guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am excited to convey your stellar feedback to our Style and Welcome Ambassador teams regarding your stay! I agree, the grilled cheese from the Living Room is a total fave, and goes great with the Epiphany- a vodka pear and sparkling champagne W signature cocktail. Cheers!

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierport, MI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Kind of a hipster hotel. Friendly staff and quick check-in.
Very dim mood lighting in the lobby and hallways.
Room was excellent and well appointed and everything seemed new.
I was on the 4th floor and had a view of a brick wall 10 feet away.
Huge shower and quiet room.
Needs more easily accessed power outlets at the desk. WIFI was not free, i can't remember the last time I was charged for internet access. For a hipster hotel that was so 90's.

Other than a bit pretentiousness for my taste it was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Greetings, Pierport,

Thank you for being our guest in the historically chic Foshay Tower at W Minneapolis! I am glad you enjoyed your room and the lovely rainforest shower stocked with Bliss bath amenities. With nearly 30 floors of dazzling guest rooms, W Minny has an abundance of rooms with great views of the downtown. Wi-Fi is complimentary in the Living Room, and also to new Starwood Preferred Guest enrollers. Please let me know when you will be visiting again so I can personally make your next W experience most memorable!

Warm Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My first shout out goes to Jason who greeted us the first day and every day during our four day stay. He went above and beyond to make our family comfortable - even getting a larger room for us given the fact that we were traveling with our kids. Next shout out is to Erin who we met in the bar every night after each White Sox game. She was great! And she too went above and beyond to take care of our kids (and us!). The rest of the hotel was just ok. Not worth what we spent. The rooms seemed a little tired. I was expecting a little bit having stayed at other W hotels.

Room Tip: Room 611 is a large room and great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSFamily050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello WSFamily050,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. It will be my pleasure to share your great feedback with Jason and Erin, for going above and beyond to make your W stay most comfortable! I would love to personally welcome you and your family back to indulge in another W Whatever/Whenever experience.

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent 4 days last week at the W and would return. Service issues impaired the experience. I wrote up my 3 star comments on the Starwood site and noticed that everyone else gave it a 5 star. How could that be? I now know: my post was promptly removed from the site leaving only the glowing reviews. Shame on you, Starwood.

positives: great building/architecture; terrific corner room; large shower; wonderful meals and cocktails at Manny's; good downtown location.

Negatives: spotty service: housekeeping was uneven, eg, piling dirty glasses outside the room for days, incomplete turndown service; at checkin no offer of luggage assistance by doormen standing around; valet park was willing but challenged by the "text" notification of car retrieval which worked 2 of 3 times; confusing confirms and checkout: had 3 different room rates for the stay which was fine. But, that arrangement generated 3 confirms, 3 welcome emails from the concierge, 3 checkout notices and 3 requests for feedback to Starwood. No coordination across systems!

Loved the building and Manny's. Disappointed in management.

Room Tip: Corner room on higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cortez94559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello cortez94559,

Thank you for staying at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! We appreciate it when our guests take time out of their busy schedules to reflect on their travel experiences. My apologies that you were unable to view all of our guest reviews on our website; we love to read what our guests have to say, it’s critical for our success. For future reference, all reviews can be accessed by the sort bar featured that allows guest to customize their view preference for all 135 reviews that are currently available on our website.

I also want to personally apologize that we fell below expectations in regards to our style service and pre-communication from the hotel. I have brought these concerns to the appropriate department directors to ensure that we make every effort to look at delivering a more consistent experience from our guests. Your comments are vital to our success and we want to make sure that we are taking all feedback to help us meet and exceed guest expectations. Please see my direct comments for follow up conversation.

Thank You,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfect location, friendly staff, great night sleep and a damn good Long Island Iced Tea! Our stay was perfect, the only negative was when we went to the bar on the top floor - it was geared towards the early twenties crowd, but thats to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello AmandaG55,
Thank you for sharing your experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay with the Trip Advisor community! We’re thrilled to enjoy that you enjoyed our take on the Long Island Iced Tea! We hope to have to back to experience more of our cocktail culture at our hotel!

Happy summer!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bottom line... This is where you stay when you need a great hotel in Minneapolis.
Here is the email I sent the hotel staff after my last visit.
----------------------------------------

I have only prose to sing of my recent stay at W Foshay Tower Saturday August 10, 2013.

I hosted a bachelorette party for a very unique and special bride who has a story of her own.  Making her wedding (and all details around it) an amazing experience is everyone's priority who is involved.

I realize every guest is unique and special :) but with W, as an individual I felt like the most important guest there.  I was treated with something more than great customer service from the moment I first walked in off the street to look at rooms and talk about rates.

I was greeted by James Jackson, a manager, who personally took me to a few room options and helped me set up my reservation.  He was involved in our experience the entire way through at check-in and check-out.  He was professional, polite, and an exact representation of the W!  Even when I called frequently and hoovered over the desk nervous to get in the room before the guests arrived!

There was no contest in Minneapolis, the W was top notch in atmosphere and luxury.  With such a clearly superior product, I worried customer service could lack - but I was wrong!

When I arrived to check-in, I found out I had been given a complementary upgraded.  When I opened the door to the room my jaw dropped.  This was the reaction of each guests through the door.  I have stayed at Bellagio Vegas (in a suite) - this room killed it! 

From the doorman to front desk clerk, to the manager, to the maid - everyone had an A game at this A+ hotel.

I will never forget the evening and I will never book anywhere but the W hotel in Minneapolis and anywhere I stay in the future!

Cheers to you and your staff for standing out on the lost art of Customer Services!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello bsven21,

Thank you for the five star review, and for celebrating a special bachelorette party at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It is the pleasure of W Minny to accommodate all of your needs to amplify your W experience. Thank you for the gracious comments regarding James Jackson; he will be so pleased to hear your fabulous feedback! Hope to see you soon!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#13 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing