We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location! We stayed downtown for proximity to bike trails and walking ease. Staff was accommodating and stored bikes behind the desk. We requested an in room Keurig and it was promptly delivered. Despite many over indulged young partiers, we were not bothered by noise at all.

We travel lots and this was our first stay in a W hotel. I liked the design, the lighting, the corner room, and luxury shower. We were too busy riding the bike trails to try out the fitness center or the happy hours and restaurants.

We had a very enjoyable stay. I would recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tennisbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Tennisbobbi,

Thank you for allowing W Minneapolis-The Foshay to be a part of your special occasion. It was our pleasure to be your home away from home and it's great to read that our guests are getting out and enjoying the amazing outdoor activities that are so close to downtown Minneapolis.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Another great stay at the Foshay. I'm amazed every time that I go of the comfort-ability of the beds, along with the amazing showers and overall cleanliness of the entire hotel! The only downfall to my latest stay was it was only one night long! In town on business, I was unable to stay any longer.

Room Tip: Room's higher up provide a better view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaJean1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Amandajean1105,

Thank you for your continued brand loyalty to W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We wish you an incredible summer!

Best,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hotel. Unfortunately, the recognition for SPG Platinum status leaves room for improvement. My 4th floor Corner Cool Room provided a great view of a brick wall. I also don't understand why W hotels don't have a coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. My Corner Cool Room had a great view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello wpmurphy,

Thank for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community; it’s my pleasure to respond to your review. I want to offer a sincere apology that we weren’t able to offer a higher guestroom at the time of check-in. We love our Starwood Preferred Guest members and want to make sure that are doing everything we can do accommodate their wishes & benefits of the SPG program. We’ll be sure to make a note on our end to ensure that a lift will take you to accommodations much higher than you experience during your recent visit with us.
As for the coffee makers in the room; W Hotels Worldwide believes in cultivating conversations in common areas especially in the morning; that’s what you’ll find many of our guests doing in our W Café located on our 1st floor offering complimentary coffee! However, we understand that some guests would prefer to have their cup of joe bedside and that’s just fine; coffee makers are available for delivery through our Whatever/Whenever service! Thank you for allowing W Minneapolis-The Foshay to be your home away from home!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the fifth W Hotel I've stayed in.

I love the Bliss products.

The entire staff was delightful. The room was clean and very comfortable. I wish I had more time to experience more of the hotel - I'll bet the bar up on the high floor is really cool but I didn't have time. Good central location in downtown Minneapolis. All good.

Room Tip: There are rooms directly opposite the elevator doors and although they're fairly quiet, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello MoreFFmiles,

Thank you for sharing this incredible review with the Trip Advisor community! I appreciate the effort that it takes to reflect on such hotel stays and your words couldn't be any more generous. I am sorry to hear that you were on so busy on the go, you weren't able to stop in and enjoy the views that the 360 degree view and amazing libations Prohibition Bar has to offer; next time!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the W to celebrate an anniversary and it was a much better stay than I expected. We had some trouble booking our stay but once we got there it was a great experience. When we arrived we were upgraded to a corner king room and also for enrolling in the free rewards program we were given a free in room movie. I suggest not enrolling in the rewards program prior to check in so you can receive this benefit.

Room Tip: We signed up for there free rewards program and got upgraded to a corner room and received a free in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hello duster47,

First of all, I want to take a moment to say congratulations and thank you for allowing W Minneapolis-The Foshay to be a part of such an incredible milestone! My apologies that you had a couple bumps securing your home away from home with us however glad that in the end, we were able to provide a positive experience! See you soon!

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I really enjoyed the W in Minneapolis. The Foshay building is cool and the Prohibition Bar on the 27th floor, Foshay's office/study, is awesome. They have a nice happy hour and an atmosphere that resonates well. Some people say they don't like the purple in the rooms or the pink mini bar but it's a W, come on, if you want traditional stay at the Ivy. I had the upgraded "spectacular" room which was fine but I can't really imagine how upgraded it really could have been... Maybe just the view or high floor?

The room was of reasonable size and the bed was comfortable. I actually liked the mini bar, deck and bathroom setup.

Manny's steakhouse in the lobby was great. The lobby bar turned into a full on club on Saturday night, which seems perfect for a downtown W and the Acura Car service is a nice touch for getting around town.

Overall I felt I got a great value on a great hotel. Some may complain about the atmosphere but I feel it was very in line with what the brand represents itself to be.

This was a business trip but were I looking to visit Minneapolis for a personal trip I would certainly stay at the W!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hello bmordski,

Greetings from the Historic Foshay Tower! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your unique, fun, yet flirty experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I hope you enjoyed our complimentary Acura car service; we know our guests are always on the go scene; it is a pleasure to read that you were able to utilize the service. When you find yourself back in Minneapolis-The Foshay; we’ll be here for you!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the W Minneapolis in April for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We primarily chose the W because we enjoy Manny's, but the hotel experience turned out to be just as great! Check in was seamless, we loved the energy of the hotel from the valet to the reception area. We stayed in a standard room (Wonderful Room), the decor was very modern, chic and spotlessly clean. Our first evening we enjoyed dinner at Manny's, and then joined up with some friends in the Living Room. Not only were we impressed with the hotel and the service - the restaurants, bars/lounges were fantastic as well. We wanted privacy for most of our stay ( a weekend away without the kids), and that is what we got. We plan on making this an annual tradition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelinaCh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

MinneapolisMomof3,

Hello from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special wedding anniversary celebration; it was our pleasure to have you as our guest on such an incredible occasion. I can’t thank you enough for sharing your 5 star review with the trip advisor community! It’s my pleasure to welcome you back to the historic Foshay even if it’s just to say hello!

Cheers to the next anniversary,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $132 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing