We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have always wanted to try the W and a good rate made for a good excuse to try it out. The staff were all great and always aimed to please.

The corner king room was spacious and I really have no complaints about it. Some minor annoyances were the too few elevators for the many floors/rooms/guests.

The hotel certainly attracts a more young, "hip" crowd. This may be a pro or a con depending on who you are. It made me feel old...at 36.

I tried both Prohibition and the Living Room. Both were way overpriced in my opinion. $15 for a drink seems outrageous to me. The drinks were good and interesting, but not worth the price tag in my opinion. The happy hour was a good value with some $5 drink and food specials.

All in all it was pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyA987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
TonyA987,

Hello, we hope this response to your review finds you well. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I appreciate your feedback and it was my pleasure to read and respond to your review. Thank you for the recommendation for our hotel; we are truly thankful.

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    344
    146
    60
    34
See reviews for
100
521
104
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my fiance's birthday. It was the best experience ever. The staff could not have been more wonderful and helpful and friendly! They helped us with each request and offered great suggestions for making the evening a special one. The location cannot be beat. We were able to easily walk around downtown. The Prohibition Bar offers an amaizng nighttime view of the city, the Observation deck is extrememly unique and the rooms are very modern. Overall, great experience, great rooms, great food and great staff!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelsea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
chelsea g,
Hello from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! We are incredibly thankful for this wonderful review that you have chosen to share with the Trip Advisor community! It was our pleasure to have you and your fiancé as our guests and so thrilled that you enjoyed the ultimate whatever/whenever W experience! I hope to see you around the historic Foshay Tower; even if it's just to say hello!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the W when I arrived in town for business was very sick with Strep throat. I had just got medication and the staff was so sweet, they sent me chicken soup the chef made me with crackers and some ginger ale. I mostly stayed in my room for two days, but; they called twice to check on me and even offered to do any near by errands.

I was so impressed with the staff and service I received, they are incredible! I loved the soft bedding and cleanliness of the room to be away from home so suddenly ill.

Thank you! I love the hotel and the fabulous staff. You were seamless!

Room Tip: I think all of the their rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnynlajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello sunnynlajolla,

Good day from W Minneapolis-The Foshay; although it’s winter here, having the pleasure to respond to a guest who resides in sunny California warms the heart! Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with the Trip Advisor community! My apologies that you fell under the weather however I am happy to hear that the team was able to give you moments in your day that made you feel better; it was my pleasure to respond to your review!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a Lady Gaga concert and booked using a discounted rate through a different website. Sometimes when you get a low rate I feel that the hotel doesn’t give you the full attention you deserve like the rest of the guests at the hotel. This wasn’t the case. The service at this hotel was fabulous! Everyone from the doorman to the front desk were all very helpful! A few things you’ll want to know:

-Make sure to stop in at the bar on the 27th floor during happy hour. Five star martinis for only $5 and an awesome view!

-In the morning they have free coffee in nice “to-go” cups in Manny’s steakhouse on the first floor….good coffee!

-Don’t pay to drink the bottled water in the room. Go to the gym (on the 2nd floor). There is free water in their ridge!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Holly S,

We hope you had a great time at the Lady Gaga concert; from what we hear it was the show to be at! Thank you allowing us to have the opportunity to have you as our guest! We are truly committed to each of our guests; dedicated service is what we like to call it! It was my absolute pleasure to respond.

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

i was in minni for one night & used trip advisor to find this hotel. it was a king + room, so clean i actually walked around in my BARE FEET. the bed was ++ comfy, the decor was art deco,very nice,the staff was helpful, the gym was clean & had bottled water & snacks for free in a fridge. it was central,close to the major sports centers...i have paid well over 300$ for room & hotels no where near as nice..only 105$

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello ziggy002,

I love it when our guests express their joyfulness about the great times they have had at W Minneapolis-The Foshay and especially went they felt the value was great! I am so excited to share your review with the entire team and on behalf of our hotel; we can’t thank you enough for the gracious review.

Keep Warm,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Really nice place to stay. Nice and stylish, with a dark and moody feel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. A lot of bed accessories... Furnishings are beautiful.
There's a fun musuem at the top with an observation deck/lookout where you can see the city.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a window in the bathroom and are a bit smaller. I was lucky to have a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello nellosaurus,

We hope you’re staying warm during these winter months! Thank you for the wonderful review you have left for us about your most recent W experience. I appreciate the work you have put into your Trip Advisor reviews and look forward to many more!

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the W Minneapolis and we had an amazing time. The rooms were just right, and very clean. The 27th floor bar was very nice. At first I was worried about paying that much to valet our car, but it's better than trying to find somewhere to park downtown. The entire staff was very professional and friendly. They did everything for us! We would like to especially thank Brian,Jeremy and Kyle for helping us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello DonnieG1978,

Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very thankful to have star talent who do everything they can to make guest experiences unique and personal at our hotel. We hope to see you at the historic Foshay Tower in the near future.

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,618 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Property: W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing