We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$188
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$149
$139
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$215
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$188
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$143
$134
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Snelling Motel(Minneapolis)
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveler rating
712
370
154
62
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
370
154
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckmanny's steakhousefoshay towerliving roombliss productscorner roomhistoric buildingcupcakesart decomini bartop floorrain showermain floorwater pressureshower headhell's kitchenvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,004 - 1,009 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hotel was really neat and the room was clean and comfortable but watch out for the hair trigger temper of the bartender on the 27th floor. if he doesn't want to make your coffee drink
he will ask for your ID which 1. most hotel stayers don't cart around because they are already checked in and I am 53 years old.then when I asked to see the manager he flew off the handle and threaten to throw me out of the hotel also calling me a coward tring to start something. Most of the other people we ran into helped us except the the complimentary coffee area where it took an act of congress to get some decaf. The trip was a gift which included a dinner and Ajax comedy club.
These guys need to find something that suits their temperament because it isn't customer service.
Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the best because of the view south side for some solar heat.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Gw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. It is my pleasure to read and respond. I would like to personally apologize on behalf of W Minneapolis-The Foshay in regards to your experience. We are currently having talks with our entire team in their respected services of the hotel in efforts to make sure that this situation does not happen again. We stand by providing superior guest services and we are currently taking all necessary precautions to make sure that we are meeting and exceeding guest expectations. I hope that W Minneapolis-The Foshay has the opportunity to gain your trust back and to provide you a great W experience. Please see my direct message for follow up comments.

Sincerely,

Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the W hotel for a quick little get-away. I had always wanted to go into the Foshay Tower and was not disappointed. The historic building was renovated when they put in hotel. The rooms are very modern but still comfy. We had a great view of downtown. We had drinks at Prohibition, the speakeasy on the 27th floor, which is fantastic by the way. We also visited the 30th floor museum and observation deck, which is free to hotel guests. All in all, it was a great little get-away. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello UnkleTomas,
Thank you for your outstanding review that you shared with the Trip Advisor Community! I am excited that your first trip to the Historic Foshay was an incredible one! Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Best,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The W really packs a punch upon arrival: great location, a moody lobby and trendy decor. That is mostly where it stops, in my opinion. We weren't floored by the service, our room was itty bitty, and overall the hotel didn't seem to have a lot going on. We loved the bar on the 27th floor, it was cozy, intimate, and had a good vibe. The hotel is in a great location, we walked to Manny's for dinner and drinks. Otherwise, I would say there are other hotels in the area that would be a better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello AnnaMaris,

Thank you for sharing your experience at W Minneapolis – The Foshay with the Trip Advisor Community. It’s great to get feedback as we can take steps in the right direction for areas of improvement! It’s great to hear that you had a great time in the Prohibition Sky Bar on the 27th floor! For future reference, W Minneapolis-The Foshay offers a variety of room type selections from a Wonderful Room to Cool Corner rooms and even a variety of suites; due to its historic structure, guests can experience over 57 room type configurations! In addition, guests of W Minneapolis-The Foshay of course have complimentary access to the historic museum and 30th floor outdoor observation deck with breath taking 360 degree views of Minneapolis! If you ever find yourself around the Foshay in the future; don’t forget that DJ Paris drops the beats in the Living Room Friday and Saturday nights!

Cheers to the New Year!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Service was great. First room not clean, was upgraded to a corner room. It was beautiful, clean, and quite. Was comp'ed a bottle of wine for the trouble. The downstairs Bar and DJ were great. We had a fun time.



  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank StPaulO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello StPaulO,

Thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor your experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It’s great to hear that you had a great overall experience however we should have had it right the first time! I hope you’ll forgive us and hope that you will come visit us in the near future!

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I just stayed there for a long weekend. Plenty to like about the hotel but also plenty to be aware of if you are planning a stay.

Likes: Pretty convenient location. A few blocks from the Metrodome and the convention center. A number of good restaurants very close including two in the building (Keys Cafe for breakfast and Manny's Steak House). The hotel is part of the Skyway system so you can stay warm inside to get to most destinations within walking distance. Plenty of parking nearby although it can be expensive depending upon the day and time ($5 on weekends but up to $30/day during the week). Upscale shopping at the nearby Nicollet Mall. 15 minutes from the airport; 20 minutes to the Mall of America by car. Lobby area is typical W style with a nice big bar area which was hopping at night. We stayed in a "cool corner" room which had many large windows with several good views of the city but since you are in the middle of a downtown area, the views aren't great in general. There is also a bar/lounge area on the 27th floor which reminded me strongly of one of the old time upscale member clubs where the rich and powerful would go to relax and socialize after work. Very comfortable atomsphere with small rooms and breakout areas with comfortable seating.

Points to consider: The room walls are pretty thinly insulated. You could clearly here conversations through the walls at times. Ask for a room away from the elevators. The elevators basically open directly across from some rooms (imagine walking down the hall with your arms stretched out. One hand would be touching the elevator doors and the other the door to your room). This is just because of the architecture of the original building which was built in the 20s. No bathtubs (at least not in my room which was a don't care for me) or pool (also a don't care). Big shower with one of those big round shower heads the hang from the ceiling. Water pressure was abysmal so taking a shower was like rinsing off in a light rain and with the hanging shower head, you can't dial up the spray like you can on some shower heads. You are probably either going to really like or really hate the hotel decor. Everything is muted with colors in the dark purple, gray, etc. Soft lighting in common areas and in the rooms. Everything is kind of dim, dark, muted. Personally I like to be in a bright room which you are not going to find here (no overhead lights, side table lamps are low wattage). The type of bright lighting that I like wouldn't really be consistent with the look and feel that the property is going for so it is a conscious choice that you will like or you won't. I had some bad experiences with the front desk staff but these were rectified after consulting with hotel management so I won't dwell on them here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnK1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Public Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello JohnK1470,

The W Minneapolis team appreciates you taking some time out of your busy schedule to submit a review of our hotel. It’s my pleasure to read and respond. I do want to apologize that the lighting of the hotel was unsatisfactory during your stay. We have taken many steps inside the guest rooms to add additional lighting per guest feedback however the lighting in our public spaces does fit the design aesthetic we are trying to achieve at the hotel. The hotel does provide 24 hour valet parking with in and out privileges for $30 per night; which does remain competitive in the local market. Thank you again for sharing your review with us and we hope to see you back at the Foshay Tower soon; even if it’s just to say hello!

Happy New Year!
Matthew Hawkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews