We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, good location”

Kindee Thai Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kindee Thai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 1,807 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago
Description: Kindee offers traditional Thai cuisine with a modern flair. Our menu offers a large variety of unique appetizers, delicious entrees, hot soups and crisp salads. Whatever your preference, we are sure you will find something on our menu that will satisfy your appetite. Located in the heart of the Mill District, across the street from the Guthrie Theater, Kindee has proven to be a mainstay of the diverse culinary culture of downtown Minneapolis. Whether you are in Minneapolis on business, for a show at the Guthrie, or are just looking for a great Thai meal with friends or family, Kindee is happy to accommodate.
St. Paul
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value, good location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location and food at this restaurant make it worth checking out. Our waiter, John, really took care of us while there. It also happened to be at a less busy time.
It turns out they get very busy before a show at the Guthrie and then activity drops of right around when the show is about to begin. We called ahead to find out when the Guthrie pre-show crowd would be gone and showed up then.
Service was great and food was good as well.
Thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ogbaami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    58
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai disappointment”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friendly place. Nice looking. But food was a disappointment. Nothing really stood out. As a matter of fact the phad thai which is a staple really wasn't that tasty - missed that peanut flavor. I think it's attempting to be more than it should; need to get the basics down first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barrybarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent Service and Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful meal of appetizers and Thai chicken dish that were flavorful later in the evening and outside the Guthrie rush. Service was very cordial and explained dishes well. We closed the restaurant down and they apologized for inability to serve us later. There were a few issues, such as extra item on the bill that needed to be removed and white rice served despite ordering brown, but overall it was a nice experience and we would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so so thai food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here before attending a show at the Guthrie. We managed to beat the before show rush. The service for our table for two was ok, not great. Friends nearby at a table for 6 got half of their meals and then a long wait before the other 3 were served. Seems like the kitchen and staff were struggling to keep uo with the theater rush. The food was good enough for the reasonable price. There is nothing compelling that makes me want to return any time soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Interesting sidewalk seating Thai food and Cold drinks across from Guthrie and the Mill district”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Interesting Thai place. Food was not fabulous but appetizers were good generous and cold drinks outside on a warm evening. Very busy night for the Guthrie theatre and Aquacentennial fireworks and Mill Ruins all across the street. Server said 4th of July and the Sat night of Aquacentenial they can not begin to keep up and that was evident and when were there. Set up great for drinks and an appetizer but server seemed more geared for the quick hit drink and snack rather than liesurely appetizer drinks then entree. Our hosts however go there frequently and said they have rarely seen them so rushed or off timing. Worth a try and we will try them again a different time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeJennyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kindee Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Kindee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing