We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sculpture Garden in the heart of the city”

Minneapolis Sculpture Garden
Ranked #11 of 216 things to do in Minneapolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Minneapolis Sculpture Garden is closed for renovation, and will reopen in June 2017. One of the crown jewels of the city’s park system, the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden unites two of Minnesota’s most cherished resources—its greenspace and its cultural life. A partnership with the Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board, the Garden is a top destination for tourists to enjoy art like the iconic Spoonbridge and Cherry in an outdoor park setting.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Sculpture Garden in the heart of the city”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've seen many sculpture gardens in US. However, Minneapolis sculpture garden is unique in its geographic location and beauty especially it iconic cherry with spoon in the middle of small pond.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nageshraoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    396
    158
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My mom and I visited the Walker Art Center, and very much enjoyed the Claes Oldenburg exhibition -- but the real treat was the sculpture garden across the street! There is, of course, the iconic Spoonbridge and Cherry -- but also many, many other gorgeous works. The grounds are beautiful too, full of flowers in full bloom. We very much enjoyed our time in the gardens.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique and intriguing”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely grounds beautifully landscaped. We were drawn to this site by the spoon sculpture, but there are beautiful flowers and other unique sculptures to be seen there. The sculpture gardens are also located near two beautiful churches. An easy walk from the convention center area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leopardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great selection of sculpture + beautiful gardens.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent an afternoon at the Walker Art Center and the sculpture garden. It's an awesome collection of interesting sculpture. The wildflower garden and greenhouses are also exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LittleSpeckledTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sculptural Feast”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The 1st time I flew into MPLS, I was treated to a view of this wonder from the air. Can you imagine seeing the "Cherry Spoon" [sorry, I don't know the true name for this piece] from the air? It glowed. I had to see what that was all about. The rest of the pieces didn't let me down when I visited 2 days later. I recognized the work of many sculptors there. Don't miss it.
The Walker Museum close by focused on very current work and can add to the experience if you have the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneapolis Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Minneapolis Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing