We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice neighborhood bar.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulldog

The Bulldog
Ranked #318 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Love this place for just hanging out with beer, cocktails and shuffleboard. Food wasn't spectacular and its a bit loud sometimes. But, if you're in the area, don't pass up a chance to have a cold beer here, they have a very good selection of tap beers!-

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of tots? Really?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The waitress was friendly enough and can't be blamed for the restaurant being out of three of the evenings specials. This establishment is apparently known got their Tater-tots. Well, would have been nice to find out what the fuss is about. They were out. It would appear to me that if you can't offer a good percentage if what's on your menu, you should rethink opening your doors. One beer, an order of chicken nuggets, and an order of fries were $20. Next time I'll pick up a six pack and drive through McD's. At this point I can't find tots elsewhere. Thanks, I guess.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

It has been awhile since I have felt so unwelcome at a restaurant. We were there on a Saturday afternoon. The staff was rude, inattentive, surly, and just overall unpleasant to a person. We didn't even order food. We left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We went 3 times during our trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are big fans of Northeast as my husband grew up there. We visit Mpls once a year and are always on the lookout for great food. The cupcakes and peanut butter burger swayed me to visit the first time with my husband and brother-in-law. The beer selection is great, the burgers are good. I wouldn't order the peanut butter one again (the croissant bun was too soggy and the fried egg was weird), but it was fun to try and I'd actually love it as a bacon/pb sandwich. My brother-in-law enjoyed the Tillamook burger and husband enjoyed his burger. What kept us coming back? The BACON SCALLION CREAM CHEESE WONTONS! My husband wants his coffin to be filled with them, edging out his previous plan for a Viking longboat funeral. They're insanely good. I loved the different cupcakes each day - we actually came in for them several more times in addition to our 3 meals. The chicken and waffles were a hit with my brother-in-law and our friend. The menu is extensive and I think we could have visited several more times and never had the same thing twice. The only thing none of us were interested in was the steak tartar, otherwise everything sounded really good. They have excellent bacon and it's featured in many items.

Service: Staff are knowledgeable about the food and were at "worst" okay and at best they were enthusiastic and friendly. Service can be a bit slow but this is probably because the space is so large, there's a lot of ground to cover. Once they hadn't yet made the peanut butter cupcakes and our waitress had one put aside for me to pick up later, for free!

Atmosphere: We were there for dinner and brunch twice. Dinner is loud and busy, but it is a bar, after all, and our waiter was friendly. If you're looking for a no-lineups brunch spot, the Bulldog was great, although it was a bit understaffed.

We will definitely be back next year! Keep up the cupcakes and wontons, Bulldog!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinylibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Truffle fries are my FAVORITE! Hamburgers are my favorite but I absolutely love their black bean burger here. One of my favorite places to go for some good grub.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulldog also viewed

 

Been to The Bulldog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing