We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Nice Neighborhood Find!”
Review of La Chaya Bistro - CLOSED

La Chaya Bistro
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 46th Street
Transit: Bus stops right outside our door: Routes 18 and 11 (near 46th Street Station)
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow - Nice Neighborhood Find!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First time at La Chaya. Fun and innovative menu. Terrifi guacamole - best I've had perhaps ever. Nice take on calamari appetizer as it was paired with shrimp. Calamari was dedent, shrimp was to die for! Excellent seafood paella, sea bass and Cuban pork special. A friend raved about the vegetarian pasta dish he had. Great cocnut tres leches cake and spcied molten choclate cake. Prices not cheap but reasonable. Total for 4 with 4 glasses of wine, 2 appetizers, 4 entrees and 3 desserts = $180.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColfaxCuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean/Mexican bistro.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Second review from a year ago. Chef Tony has changed it up a little. Wonderful patio if weather permits, dog friendly as well. Service was exceptional as usual.

We tried the Caribbean salad, nice texture and very fresh. Next was the calamari with shrimp, nice and light with excellent sauce. Entree was the braised short rib, succulent, presented on a bed of flavorful Caribbean rice.

Finally tried a house made chocolate lava cake with cinnamon ice cream and more importantly perfectly prepared cappacino.

We always look for these chef driven restaurants, you won't be disappointed here. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish I lived closer”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is the best. The décor is understated and calm; the wine list interesting and the food amazing. If I lived closer I'd be there at least once a week. Fresh seafood in MN? Oh yeah....I had scallops that were perfection. And don't forget dessert - the watermelon sorbet was a dream. I would have gladly taken leftovers home had there been any!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNSnowbird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
355 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Exciting new menu”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

La Chaya continues to serve some of the best seafood in the Twin Cities, and it has been consistently good in the three years we have been dining there. Their sea bass is perfection.

As much as we have loved the place in the past, now there is a new twist to the menu that makes La Chaya even better. A new chef from Puerto Rico is infusing the menu with Caribbean influences. It is hard to classify the menu, except to say it is a fusion of Mediterranean and Caribbean.

We tried the Tostones appetizer, mashed plantains fried like little pancakes that came with two sauces, one avocado based and one tomato based. Delicious. As an added flavoring, the server brought out a pouring bottle filled with colorful condiments: peppers, garlic, and pineapple in a delicate rice wine. It was a treat of both sight and taste.

Caribbean salads were expertly dressed, as was the greens-apple-blue cheese salad.

We tried their latest version of the sea bass. They tweak it from time to time, and it is always superb. We also had salmon on purple yams and light and fluffy seafood/chorizo paella, both excellent.

Dessert was a banana flavored crème brûlée and a tart key lime pie on a coconut crust. Yum.

The décor is both modern and restful, and they have their own private parking lot.

The date of our visit was May 29, 2013

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“really good!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had dinner on a Saturday night and the place was very busy. Good thing we had reservations! Very fresh food as others have mentioned. We had an appetizer of calamair - nicely battered and tasty. My daughter had a salad, I had the sea bass and my husband had salmon with a sweet (maple syrup?) glaze. All of our meals were outstanding. For dessert, we split a key lime pie and a mango crisp. The only small disappointment of the evening was the mango crisp as the mango was a little hard. But that was minor. I think we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaya Bistro also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing