We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Dim Sum”
Review of Mandarin Kitchen

Mandarin Kitchen
Ranked #213 of 1,807 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
seward, ak
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for Dim Sum”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What more could you ask for when getting off a redeye flight at 6 AM? Our family makes of habit of searching out Dim Sum wherever we travel in the world. We found Mandarin Kitchen most satisfactory, finding such good food four hours after landing in MPS was a highlight of our trip. By 10:30 AM on a Saturday morning the place was quite busy but we only waited for 10 mins. We were pleased to find that at least 2/3 of the customers were Chinese, a good sign. Late we heard from some other long time residents that this was their favorite spot for Dim Sum. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mowfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Go for dim sum!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Best in thr Twin Cities, (although, that isn't saying much, there are so few dim sum restaurants!). It is very good. Great selection. Crowded with Chinese families...always a good sign when an ethnic restaurant is patronized by its own ethnic group. Service good..prices reasonable...unless, like me you just can't stop trying things!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLAINE
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHEAT!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mandarin Kitchen Restaurant in Bloomington Minnesota- A Popular Restaurant that cheats customers!

Mandarin Kitchen restaurant has been a very popular place for a long time for their Roast Duck, Barbecue Pork and Roast Pork. I think they are have grown "bigger heads" since they think everyone loves to eat their dim sum and roast meats. However, if you order large portions, be aware that they can easily cheat you in many ways. One way I found this out was when I asked them to separate my large order into several small containers so they can't cut back on the portions without me knowing. Needless to say, my suspicion of them being unfair was validated when I double checked my order and costs. I ordered 9 pounds total. I went home and weighted it on a digital and reliable scale. It turned out it only weighed 6.5 pounds. They charged me for 9 pounds! I was very angry, because they cheated me out of a few pounds, which ended up to be a loss of $22.50 total...($9 a lb).

On top of that the Roast Duck, Barbecue Pork and Roast Pork meats they cut for me tasted terrible. Only about a pound of the roast pork was actual meat. The rest went straight into my garbage because it was all FAT! I specifically told them to not cut the fattest parts for me, but they still did. Since they are not reliable and dishonest you need to be very careful if you choose to eat or order from there. You wouldn’t know it if they added a few extra dollars to your bill, because most of the time it's very difficult to calculate many small orders or one big order. I will never order anything from there or recommend to anyone else. I hope this time I've taken to post this message saves you the trouble that I had to deal with Mandarin Kitchen restaurant in Bloomington Minnesota.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LANDYBLAINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DIM SUM!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best Dim Sum dining experience anywhere in the metro! Rivals and beats those in china towns of larger cities. FRESH FRESH FRESH!!! Don't go at the very end, they start running out of things.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank millergal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in the Twin Cities”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We love Mandarin Kitchen. This is the best dim sum we've found in the Twin Cities by far. You can find equally good or possibly better dim sum in New York or San Francisco, but not here! Arrive a few minutes before 10:00 AM or plan to line up for a table. It's a large, bustling restaurant and the crowd is mostly Chinese -- this is happily not Chinese American cuisine. A friend and I were there last weekend, and it was as good as ever. It's the most fun to go with more than 2 people, though -- you get to try more things!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Kitchen also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Mandarin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing