We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and Easy”
Review of Zen Box Japanese Eatery - CLOSED

Zen Box Japanese Eatery
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Japanese Comfort Food in the Sky! We offer affordable and quality Japanese Comfort food in the Minneapolis skyway. Our skyway location is a 'Lunch only' place. Visit our sister restaurant, Zen Box Izakaya, on Washington Ave for Lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner & Late-night Specials.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Quick and Easy”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Simply put, this place is quick, easy, and AUTHENTIC. Zen Box is my to-go-to lunch if I need to grab something quick and get back to my desk fast.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Japanese made to be enjoyed by all.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located in the corner of a swanky condo building a stone's throw from the Guthrie theatre and a few blocks north of the Metrodome, it's in a prime location to suit its vast clientele. Tourists, sports fans, and downtown-dwellers alike are greeted with a friendly "Irrashaimase!" (translation: "Welcome!")

Zen Box Izakaya is a self-proclaimed Japanese pub. Downplaying many of the raw and sushi options, the menu instead highlights comforting, non-threatening, and hearty dishes like ramen, potstickers, and spareribs. This is my kind of place! So much so that Phillip and I have ended up here twice in the last couple of weeks for a quick dinner and drink after work. For just one short hour, from 5pm to 6pm, every day Zen Box Izakaya offers the "Other" Menu. This menu includes a selection of small dishes priced between $3 and $6 as well as $4 pints of select beers.

You can read the full review - with photos - on the Minneapolites blog! http://minneapolites.com/2013/01/zen-box-izakaya/

Atmosphere
The "Japanese" decor is tasteful, not kitchy, and the dining room and bar have an overall cosmopolitan feel to them without veering into overly trendy territory.

Service
Really excellent. Our server the first time and the bartender the second time were both extremely welcoming and patient, making ample time for chit chat and pleasantries. Empty dishes were cleared immediately, and water glasses never were less than half-filled.

Presentation
With the exception of the veggie curry, which looks a little unappetizing on the plate, everything was presented beautifully and with care.

Taste
Delicious! I haven't had much experience tasting Japanese food, but if it's all like this? Consider me a fan!

Value for Dollars
The happy hour prices are good but not great. I would love to see a greater variety of taps on special, especially since $4 for a pint is not a very competitive happy hour price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Minneapolite_Kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and healthy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

They are quick and deliver "fast food" that is very healthy, hot, and delicious! I could seriously eat here for lunch every single day. :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinz1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
298 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I took Japanese friends here from out of town and they loved this place. The food was delicious. I had the curry dish and was happy that it was not spicy. And the Kara Age chicken was simply wonderful! I'd go back again and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hippyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Japanese Cuisine!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Cannot recommend this wonderful spot more highly! Great service and great food at this little gem near the Guthrie. We really love the yakisoba, the tofu skewers and the veggie gyoza. Absolutely everything we have had on weekly visits to Zen has been wonderful. Love the soba straws complimentary appetizer. Service is attentive yet not hovering. Be prepared for the loud greeting as you enter the premises and them prepare yourself for a real treat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellah124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Box Japanese Eatery also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing