We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
34
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bass fishing trip catching fish home away from home carlos creek winery mph russel sunfish cabin alexandria bonfire
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2018

My wife and I just returned from our annual vacation at Woodland resort on Lake Miltona just north of Alexandria, MN. This was my 7th year and Dawn's 6th. The Russell's treat you like family to the point it is a "home away from home" for us! Sunday's weather was not conducive to fishing with a steady 20 mph wind out of the northwest, so we spent the day in Alexandria, visiting some of the various small shops downtown after a great breakfast at the "Coffee Pot Cafe". On our way back to Woodland, we made our annual stop at Carlos Creek Winery. Normally we stop there mid-week and it's not real busy but on this Sunday . . . it was crowded! A "must stop" for wine lovers! The fishing was great as always! We limited out on bass and sunfish. We were catching crappie 10 inches or larger! This is our only yearly vacation and we wouldn't have it any other way. Our reservations are made for next year and the "countdown" has started! We can't wait for next year to be here!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about our family’s time at Woodland Resort. We were in a cabin that is meant for four but can accommodate six. We absolutely loved it! The view from the windows and deck were amazing!

The owners take immense pleasure in keeping the area clean. The feeling inside the cabins is warm, rustic and feels like a home away from home.

We have two children with Down Syndrome with one who is medically fragile. We let them know that our daughter doesn’t regulate her temperature and we made sure that there was an air conditioner. When we got to our cabin, the air conditioner was already on.
We loved having the gas grill right outside the cabin but one of our favorites was simple- the hammock that was also right outside our cabin. They have a hammock for each cabin!
From the paddle board, to the kayaks, to the pedal boat and the beach...it was a wonderful experience! We were beyond blessed! My husband and I are wanting to come back again with our four who still live at home but also dreamt of having just me and the girls there or being at the biggest cabin and including our two adult children and our two grandchildren!
Definitely would love to go back again!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank lquist6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I cannot believe it has already been 4 months since our fishing trip to Lake Miltona, the first week of June, and I hadn't written my review for this year's stay with the Russells! Our group included a rookie, Diane Dellahan, who accompanied her husband and son. She is an accomplished fisherwoman, having 2 of the best instructors anyone could ask for! Of course, they were taught by the best! Rest in Peace, Greek! What can I say that hasn't already been said? The fishing was great! Our group held 2 fishfrys during the week. Cabin #6 was clean and host to our Wednesday night "Spaghetti Night" attended by the Dellahans and the Cable Clan! Steve & Michelle are the perfect hosts! And you cannot beat the sunsets at Woodland! If you ever want someone to experience the fun of catching fish, who's never caught more than a dozen or so in a day, Woodland Resort, on Lake Miltona, is the place to go!

Room Tip: Well. . . you're choosing a cabin, not a room. Best advice is to go to their website to view the cabins.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

We have been going to this resort for 18 years with our whole extended family. This is a vacation all 25+ of us look forward to all year long. There is so much to do here for all ages. We enjoy family volleyball games, fishing, laying out on the beautiful and well kept beach, and boating. Alexandria provides a lot of entertainment too! Michelle and Steve the owners treat us like family, and always accommodate to anything we need. This is a resort that feels like a home away from home .

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Olivia Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

The Golden family has been coming to woodland resort for 17 years for the last week in June. We come with now 28 of us and rent 4 cabins. They are always accommodating to our large group and always make for an enjoyable experience. The cabins continue to be upgraded each year, with continued maintenance. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews