We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
34
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bass fishing trip catching fish home away from home carlos creek winery mph russel sunfish cabin alexandria bonfire
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 37 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Great resort family comes here every year. We enjoy spending time in these beautiful cabins each year. Very clean when we arrive and such beautiful views from the decks. This resort snugly fits our 21+ family members into 3 cabins.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights in a cabin at the resort on the east end of Lake Miltona. Very nice setting. Uber clean cabin. Beautiful sunsets. Near enough to Alexandria to be convenient but tucked away enough to be quiet and peaceful.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed in vacation home 6 for a week. Our traveling party consisted of two families each with two children 6 and under. Have stayed at numerous lake properties throughout Minnesota and our entire party was very satisfied with the accommodations. The vacation home was clean, had above average appliances and housewares. The owners were friendly and always available. The definitely seem to put a concerted effort in making the accommodations high quality. There are only six cabins/vacation homes, no camping or RVs which we appreciated. The beach was nice sand and the water doesn't get over four feet for quite a while which was nice for our younger children. We brought our own boat and rented a lift. I would recommend requesting a lift with a cover for the likely chance that it will rain at least one night during your trip. They sell gas on site which was reasonably priced. We also rented a pontoon for one day which like everything else at the resort was a high quality boat. Fish house was also good quality and clean. While we typically prefer to go farther north this property was a great experience and one that we will definitely consider for our future family and fishing trips to Minnesota.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank OmahaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

We recently returned to Woodland Resort on beautiful Lake Miltona for the 3rd year in a row. We had such a great time. The cabin is spotlessly clean with knotty pine walls and most cabins have a deck that overlooks the lake, swimming beach, and boat docks. The owners are very helpful and give you plenty of space, yet are available when you need them. The grounds are very well maintained and the fish cleaning house is kept clean.

Each year we have gone out with an outstanding fishing guide and I would highly recommend scheduling the 4 hour trip! Ben Hittle, of Ben's Guide Service, is a very professional and laid back guide. He works hard to ensure that you spend time fishing...he does the work! His contact info is Ben Hittle (320-766-1832,)

Room Tip: Some have air conditioning, some do not. Some cabins have a dishwasher.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iagirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

This year’s trip came with the sad realization that our friend, our mentor, Thomas “Greek” Dellahan Sr. will no longer be coming with us as he succumbed to his battle against cancer this past April. Greek and his son, Tom and grandson were the ones who first traveled to Woodland after we had many discouraging fishing trips to Branson, MO and Patoka Lake, IN. Tom Jr. called a number of resorts in Minnesota in 2010. The ONLY resort owner to respond was, Steve Russell. Steve informed Tom Jr. that yes . . . you will catch fish on Lake Miltona. And by golly, was he right! Many times, after that first trip, Greek would go on and on about never having a fishing trip in 30 years as good as the Miltona trip! He stated how clean & comfortable Woodland was and how the Russell’s made you feel right at home. All who knew Greek loved him. His patience with me, learning how to fish, is something I could never thank him enough for.
We miss you and love you, Greek. And yes . . . the J-9 did the trick on about my fifth cast!
The anticipation for our annual fishing trip to Woodland peaks and then . . . before you know it . . . the week is over! For a change of pace, we decided to rent Vacation home #6 this year. Larger than Cabin #5 it felt as though we could move into it. 3 large bedrooms, a nice sized Livingroom, dining room, a large kitchen and a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom! Boy! Did that ever feel good after a day on the lake! You cannot go wrong staying here with the Russell’s. The fishing is tremendous! The sunsets are stellar! This will be one of the best weeks you’ve ever spent on a fishing trip. . . .guaranteed!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews