We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Vacation I look Forward to Every Year.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miltona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Resort on Lake Miltona
Waverly, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Favorite Vacation I look Forward to Every Year.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have been up the Woodland Resort three years in a row and every year it gets better and better. Not only is the fishing amazing, but the environment is very relaxing and the people their are so friendly. I would highly recommend this resort especially for a family vacation. The new things that get added every year are great too such as the fire pit which just makes the experience more relaxing. It is a home away from home! Amazing place to come too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Every time we are at Woodland I feel like I'm with family. Steve and Michelle go above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect. We stay every fishing opener and bring our wives along in Sept. for the Grape Stomp and musky fishing. Top notch!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Woodland Resort is absolutely amazing! The views of the lake from the cabins are stunning. We have been going there for 25ish years and we can't go anywhere else without comparing everything to Woodland and Lake Miltona. Steve and Michelle are great hosts and they do a beautiful job of keeping the resort looking fabulous!

Room Tip: We love the view of the sunsets, so we always choose lakefront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondaceynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Woodland Resort is a beautifully kept resort and the cabin we stayed in was perfect! We had the largest cabin (4 bedrooms) and a three bedroom in our group. Both cabins were immaculate and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay...including a pack and play for my baby!

They also had great living rooms/kitchen areas for our group to gather together in the evenings for meals and games...a nice touch was the flatscreen tv and dvd player, too. The whole house was immaculate and really high end! We have stayed in other cabins in Minnesota, and wow, what a difference! A luxury lake home is really what we were in at Woodland!

Our cabin also had a giant jacuzzi tub, which was very relaxing and my four year old daughter and her cousin used as a swimmnig pool!

The lake is so clean and you can see the bottom, which was a new experience for me with lakes! The sandy beach and swimming area was perfect and a great place for us to spend the afternoon splashing around. they also had a cool sufboard/longboard that my kids thought was great to sit on and oull each other around with. We even tried the canoe...my kids loved all the kayaks and paddleboat...no charge extra to use them!

There was also a super cool playground that my little ones loved...it was a ship and they pretended for HOURS on it!

They also had a really nice brick verandah with a fireplace which overlooked the lake. It was so nice to be able to watch the sunset with a glass (or try three!) of wine from the verandah. it was warm when we were there, but we still made a fire jsut because the stone fireplace was so cool! We also did a campfire one night on the beach, and another night in a firepit near our cabin.

My husband was also really happy with the fishing at Lake Miltona. The resort owner gave him some great tips and we also caught a lot of fish off the dock, and we went fishing one night with a guide. We left kids with their aunt and my sister's husand, my husband and myself all went with the guide Joe. We caught 8 or ten wallye keepers. joe even cleaned the fish for us, which is good since my hubbie would have literally butchered them. THEN, the next night the resort owner gave us some tips for grilling the wallye...good god it was awesome. I had never grilled fish we caught, but it was so easy and tasty!

Ok, now for the negative...at night the mosquitos really come out! I would suggest getting a citronella candle to burn when you are on your deck enjoying the sunset! and dont forget bug spray for night time outside.

Bring extra towels because your kids will be at the beach every day multiple times!

Room Tip: Book early for summer. GREAT deals for this fall...we already have a weekend booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralovesvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miltona
13.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Resort on Lake Miltona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Resort on Lake Miltona

Property: Woodland Resort on Lake Miltona
Address: 13270 East Lake Miltona Drive, Miltona, MN 56354
Location: United States > Minnesota > Miltona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Miltona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Resort on Lake Miltona is the Alexandria Minnesota areas finest family resort. Eight cabins and Vacation Homes ranging from one to four bedrooms are available to accommodate your group. Located on beautiful Lake Miltona, known for its crystal clear water and outstanding fishing opportunities for walleye, musky, bass and of course pan fish. Start planning your next vacation at Woodland Resort today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing