We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this resort”
Review of Shing Wako Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merrifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shing Wako Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrifield
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We have vacationed at this resort every summer for years. When our kids were little the gradual shallow beach was perfect. Now that the children are young adults, we love the star gazing, paddle boats and kyaks. Marty and Sue are the bests hosts. Cabins are clean and comfortable. An off the charts great place to vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyrodieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort so generously. I am sorry for the delay in replying. I just discovered I can! We have truly enjoyed seeing your kids grow up over the years and thank you for the referrals you have sent our way. They have turned into guests we look forward to seeing every year as well. See you next summer - twice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

I have nothing but praise for Shing Wako. We travelled there with 3 teens and an 11-year old. We stayed in one of the new cabins that is down at "lakefront", and it was very comfortable. There is an airconditioning unit in the kitchen which we used on a couple warm nights, but mostly the ceiling fans in the rooms kept things very comfortable.

The resort owners were very hospitable. The lake is very shallow entry. We brought a small sailboat and had a great time on the water.The lake was not too busy. Other families were bringing in sizeable fish catches. There are well marked dirt roads around the area making for great jogging.

There are two playgrounds, a basketball hoop, and a sand volleyball court. I wasn't sure I would get my kids out of the swings. We are going back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintPaulDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your most positive and descriptive review! My apologies for the delayed response and learning curve. We are happy that you enjoy the walk/run around our neighboring Silver Lake! It just adds another amenity we can offer without having to get into your car and drive somewhere. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My family really enjoyed the resort. Fishing was good, the cabins were clean and large enough so that we were not tripping on each other. Wireless access was very much appreciated. One recommendation is to bring a fan for the kitchen area. We were comfortable most of the time but in the middle of the afternoon and early evening when we were making dinner, the kitchen area needed a little more ventilation. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They helped with the little things that can make a family vacation go much more smoothly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FamilyResorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your flattering and helpful response! We have added some features to help in the kitchens. We look forward to your family staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We stayed at this resort for three years. They take such good care of the cabins and grounds. Lovely resort. Great grassy area for the kids to play and the beach is shallow, so great for younger kids. A bit pricey though.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OutdoorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to be our first Tripadvisor review! And a very positive review it was; what you wrote reflected very well what we want to offer our guests. We look forward to serving your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shing Wako Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shing Wako Resort

Address: 24713 County Road 3, Merrifield, MN 56465-4496
Location: United States > Minnesota > Merrifield
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range: $117 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shing Wako Resort is a quiet, relaxing family resort on Beautiful Lake Edward. Swim and fish in the lake or relax by your private fire ring. Lake Edward is over 2000 acres in size with sandy shores and clear water, ideal swimming for big & little kids. Catch walleye, sunfish, crappies, northern pike, small & large mouth bass. Responsible jet skiing allowed. Resort Amenities: Reunions very welcome and popular! We have 18 cottages ranging from two bedroom cabins, one handicap accessible cabin and spacious reunion cottages. All have cable TV and wireless internet. Plus more what you come to a resort for - a large sandy swimming beach with clean, clear spring fed waters. Lots of green space for playing outdoors, playgrounds for big & little kids by the beach, horseshoe pits, volleyball, basketball, carpet-ball, boat & pontoon rentals and complimentary play boats (canoes, kayaks, paddle boats). Wireless high speed internet - Laundry - Beautiful sunsets - Green Cleaning. Our Very Popular Reunion Lodges offer you generous personal space when staying with a group, Sleep Number queen & kings beds, dishwashers, central air conditioning and free washers and dryers inside each unit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing