We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort!”
Review of Shing Wako Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merrifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shing Wako Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrifield
Saint Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful resort!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I have nothing but praise for Shing Wako. We travelled there with 3 teens and an 11-year old. We stayed in one of the new cabins that is down at "lakefront", and it was very comfortable. There is an airconditioning unit in the kitchen which we used on a couple warm nights, but mostly the ceiling fans in the rooms kept things very comfortable.

The resort owners were very hospitable. The lake is very shallow entry. We brought a small sailboat and had a great time on the water.The lake was not too busy. Other families were bringing in sizeable fish catches. There are well marked dirt roads around the area making for great jogging.

There are two playgrounds, a basketball hoop, and a sand volleyball court. I wasn't sure I would get my kids out of the swings. We are going back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintPaulDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your most positive and descriptive review! My apologies for the delayed response and learning curve. We are happy that you enjoy the walk/run around our neighboring Silver Lake! It just adds another amenity we can offer without having to get into your car and drive somewhere. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We have stayed at four cabin-on-a-lake type resorts and this one was the best yet.

Please keep in mind when you read the reviews for this resort that there are three different types of cabins here and your experience may vary depending on which cabin you book. There are six 1947 original cabins which are small and very rustic. There are three luxury condos for large groups and there are six newer cabins with 3-4 bedrooms. We stayed in one of the newer cabins.

What we liked: Our cabin had two bathrooms. Each bedroom had a ceiling fan. The kitchen was spacious and all the pots and pans looked new (not the garage-sale finds I've seen at other resorts). We had A.C., a picnic table, cable T.V. and a fire ring. Wireless internet was available, but we didn't use it. The thermostat said that there was in-floor heating, but we didn't use that due to the time of year. We were able to park right next to the cabin, which eased the unloading procress. The playground was newer and all the equipment was in working order. The onsite laundry room was immaculate and the machines worked well. The grounds are nicely groomed with lots of pretty flowers. The other guests were quiet. The cabins must be fairly well soundproofed because we didn't hear much for outside noise when we had the windows closed. The lake is perfect for young children. You can walk out several hundred feet and the water is only up to your waist. The water is clear and warm. There is a nice sand beach for building castles. The guys had a good time using the complementary paddleboats and kayaks. The owners are very kind. We never saw them get grouchy about anything (unlike our experience at other resorts). They provided helpful directions and suggestions for places to go and things to do. The location is fabulous. The resort is fifteen minutes from Brainerd with its large grocery and dept. stores and fifteen minutes from Nisswa with its quirky touristy shops. Lake Edward is developed, but the overall atmosphere is not as yuppy or commercialized as nearby Gull Lake. You can still feel like you're getting away from it all.

What we didn't like: There is sand under the playground equipment and we had a hard time keeping it out of the cabin. My kids got it in their socks, shoes and diapers. The mattresses on the beds were kind of hard. Our refrigerator worked but made some really unusual noises. The resort is located on a somewhat busy highway. You really don't hear the traffic noise once you're on the grounds, but if you plan on taking a lot of walks, you have to be brave enough to walk next to fast-moving traffic.

One unusual thing about Shing Wako is their length of stay. Most resorts are rented for the week, with people checking out early Saturday morning and new people checking in late afternoon on the same day. Shing Wako wants you to check out by 11AM Friday instead of Saturday. Check in is 9AM Saturday. If you have to drive a long distance, you have to keep in mind that you're already paying for your stay beginning at 9AM. If you cannot arrive until later in the day due to a long drive, you really aren't getting your money's worth. We stayed at a nearby hotel the night before, but this added extra expense. Also, because you check out Friday instead of Saturday, you're paying for a shorter stay than you do at most other resorts. The plus side of this is that, due to the longer time the owners have to prepare for the new arrivals, things are very well maintained and the cabins are very clean. I have to say that I did not see one rotted board, dead tree, broken swing, rusty chain, etc. I have never seen a resort where everything is so well-cared for and in such good condition. Also, not having to check out until 11AM means not having to get up at the crack of down to get out of there. I can see the difference this longer time to get ready for new guests makes as far as the upkeep of the resort. It's just something you need to keep in mind when you book.

We will gladly return to Shing Wako Resort if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MomMobile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your most detailed review. Many guests have mentioned reading it. We look forward to your family staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My family really enjoyed the resort. Fishing was good, the cabins were clean and large enough so that we were not tripping on each other. Wireless access was very much appreciated. One recommendation is to bring a fan for the kitchen area. We were comfortable most of the time but in the middle of the afternoon and early evening when we were making dinner, the kitchen area needed a little more ventilation. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They helped with the little things that can make a family vacation go much more smoothly.

  • Liked — Quiet, family resort
  • Disliked — Kitchen ventilation minimal
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyResorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your flattering and helpful response! We have added some features to help in the kitchens. We look forward to your family staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We stayed at this resort for three years. They take such good care of the cabins and grounds. Lovely resort. Great grassy area for the kids to play and the beach is shallow, so great for younger kids. A bit pricey though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P, Owner at Shing Wako Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to be our first Tripadvisor review! And a very positive review it was; what you wrote reflected very well what we want to offer our guests. We look forward to serving your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrifield
14.0 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
13.9 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
11.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Resort
Quarterdeck Resort
#4 of 7 in Nisswa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Good Ol' Days Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shing Wako Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shing Wako Resort

Property: Shing Wako Resort
Address: 24713 County Road 3, Merrifield, MN 56465-4496
Location: United States > Minnesota > Merrifield
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merrifield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shing Wako Resort is a quiet, relaxing family resort on Beautiful Lake Edward. Swim and fish in the lake or relax by your private fire ring. Lake Edward is over 2000 acres in size with sandy shores and clear water, ideal swimming for big & little kids. Catch walleye, sunfish, crappies, northern pike, small & large mouth bass. Responsible jet skiing allowed. Resort Amenities: Reunions very welcome and popular! We have 18 cottages ranging from two bedroom cabins, one handicap accessible cabin and spacious reunion cottages. All have cable TV and wireless internet. Plus more what you come to a resort for - a large sandy swimming beach with clean, clear spring fed waters. Lots of green space for playing outdoors, playgrounds for big & little kids by the beach, horseshoe pits, volleyball, basketball, carpet-ball, boat & pontoon rentals and complimentary play boats (canoes, kayaks, paddle boats). Wireless high speed internet - Laundry - Beautiful sunsets - Green Cleaning. Our Very Popular Reunion Lodges offer you generous personal space when staying with a group, Sleep Number queen & kings beds, dishwashers, central air conditioning and free washers and dryers inside each unit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing