We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel near airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Volga, South Dakota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent hotel near airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I found this to be a decent hotel near the Minneapolis airport. It was in a quiet area, because I didn't hear planes roaring overhead at all. The beds were medium firmness and quite comfortable. The hotel has a shuttle which takes you to the airport, which worked well. I don't have anything bad to say about his hotel. The air conditioning worked well, and the water temperature stayed constant during my shower, which are both pluses.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemonkeysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendotaHeightsFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I appreciate your kind comments about the staff; they work diligently to provide great service. We appreciate your business and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Pam Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    97
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
79
43
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hickory
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you want to save loads of money and still have a very decent, comfortable hotel with a pool, exercise room, hot tube and free morning breakfast, alond with being very convenient to the major interstate system and 10 minutes from the airport, this is it. I am certain rates could vary, but we paid $76/night before taxes. Unbelievable. I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, which means that I stay a lot of nights outside of the norm at Marriotts. I rarely stay at a full Marriott as they are too expensive, but I have learned that Fairfields can be a great hotel and bargain. THis one is absolutely the best so far! You can get anywhere in Minneapolis/St. Paul easily. I know. I lived in Mendota Heights for nearly 15 years. Save your money for all the other wonderful items on your agenda in the Twin Cities!

Room Tip: The higher the better. Ask about not being next to young families with children or partiers. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Fairfield Inn is close to the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport, and it was a good place to stay when we dropped off the rental car the night before our flight home. The hotel is located in a business park with a Marriott Courtyard hotel next door.Other than a bistro at the sister property, there are no restaurants nearby.The hotel shuttle, however, does provide transportation to restaurants and businesses (including the Mall of the Americas) within 5 miles of the Fairfield property. At check-in we were given a list of restaurants and a binder of their menus by the helpful staff member on duty at the Front Desk. The only other choice for a meal is something from the on-site "market" which has snacks, soft drinks, and microwaveable items for sale. Our room was brightly decorated with a tropical theme. Although the room and bathroom were small, they were more than adequate for an overnight stay. An iron and ironing board were in the room, and the wifi was complimentary and reliable. Breakfast, included in the price, featured yogurt, eggs, microwaveable breafast sandwiches, waffles, pastries, fruit, cereals, juice, tea, and coffee. There were also packed breakfast bags for those who had to eat on the go. Overall, the hotel was comfortable and included good shuttle transportation, an indoor pool, breakfast, and wifi at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was watching my son wrestle at the USA Wrestling championships in Fargo, North Dakota. The nearest airport I could fly (standby) into was Minneapolis (MSP). After he was eliminated from the tournament, I booked a last minute room online and drove to the airport to return my car. I called the shuttle and was picked up by Scott their shuttle driver. He was super friendly and when we arrived I was checked in by a gentleman named Lander who asked me if I had a floor preference (he gave me the top floor). Mind you, I had bought this room discounted online. I mentioned that I was leaving at 5 A.M. to catch another standby flight and was wondering if there would be anything at the breakfast bar which opened at six. He looked at me and promised that there would be food waiting for me and that there was no way I was leaving there hungry. 10 minutes after I settled into my room, Lander called to make sure if there was anything else they could do to make my stay any better.
Wow.
The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. I had driven about 240 miles so I decided to use the jacuzzi to relax my back. The whole pool area was spotless and the spa area was immaculate. While I was there, the maintenance man came by to make sure the temperature was pleasant enough. Afterwards, I asked about restaurants and they told me their shuttle would take me anywhere within five miles. Their shuttle is by request (24 hour service) and set up to meet customer needs. Scott the shuttle driver was very informative and dropped me off at Mall of America so I could find a place to eat and be a tourist. When I called later, he was there within 10 minutes. The next morning there to go bags for breakfast, and the gentleman in charge had set up a variety of microwavable breakfast sandwiches so I could heat one up. The shuttle left on time and I was able to fly out back to California (standby) without a hitch. Between my two boys doing sports, coaching, and fishing trips, I spend about 15-25 nights a year in hotels. This stay ranks as one of my top five all time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back may have less airplane noise. Was not a big problem to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I've often stayed at this Fairfield, because it's handy to the Mall of America, the Airport and to downtown St Paul (just a short trip if you have a car down 35E). Overall it's very good value. Quiet suburban location (yes you hear the planes occasionally but that's life near the airport anywhere), good rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up and facing east - away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My entire family stayed here. We wanted to tour the Mall of America and downtown Minnesota, and the hotel staff was awesome. The rooms were cleaned each day, and the complimentary breakfast was great. The hotel does offer a complimentary 24 hr. shuttle to and from the MSP airport. My husband, my mother and my three girls stayed here for 3 days, and we were extremely impressed with everything. The rooms we rented were king suites, and those rooms have a refrigerator and a microwave.The staff made us feel at home. I would stay here again.

-writergirl

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Well located for arriving an departing from MSP.

Hotel offers a free scheduled 24hr per day shuttle to and from the airport. They also do runs to Mall of America if that's your destination.

If your focus is downtown Minneapolis then you most likely should get a rental car.

The hotel has a nice indoor pool and spa. The exercise room is useable but does not have much beyond a basic treadmill and stationary bicycle.

Rooms are large and clean with flat screen TVs.

Beds are comfortable but I was woken up a few times in the night by room doors being slammed. They may want to consider dampening door closers!

The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very good. They had breads, pastries, yogurts, fresh fruit, a waffle machine and prepackaged breakfast sandwiches as well as the usual beverages.

I would stay here again for location, value, facilities and the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendota Heights
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
2.7 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Arpt SE - Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport
Address: 1330 Northland Dr, Mendota Heights, MN 55120-1140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mendota Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendota Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes away from the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport and the Mall of America. The hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations. Along with the MOA & MSP Airport locations, we also offer free shuttle service to the Minneapolis VA, Hiawatha Light Rail and other businesses within 5 miles of the hotel. At our hotel you'll enjoy our essential amenities including free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport Hotel Mendota Heights
Fairfield Inn Mendota Heights
Fairfield Mendota Heights
Mendota Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing