We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key Inn(Woodbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
135
76
21
16
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
76
21
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desktwin citiesthe bed was super comfortablejacuzzi suitefridge and microwavecoffee makerst paulrooms were very cleanlaketiffanymnreclinerexpresswayhousekeepingpillows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 267 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The good

Price is good, location is great just 5 minutes from downtown St Paul. The room is large quiet and the very comfortable.

The bad

Very tiny bath room, wash area and closet. We were there for three days and barely had enough room to hang our clothes. If it was mid winter we would never have been able to hang our coats. No coffee maker in room.

The ugly

The driveway into the hotel is like a minefield of pot holes. Went into one and though I would blow out a tire. If you try to avoid one you go into another.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and your feedback. I thought I would inform you that we are getting closets put in this fall. For the parking lot we have been waiting for the weather to cooperate. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

OK, you may not know where Maplewood is--it's a suburb of Saint Paul and is quiet and well-kept, also an apt description of the Livinn Hotel. I stayed two nights here while visiting family. I had never heard of this small (4 property) chain before, but after seeing the reviews and the location, it looked like a good choice. I was not disappointed. The Livinn is just off the interstate, which makes it easy to get to. It sits on the edge of a small (and not very attractive) lake. All that aside, my king room was small, but comfortable and quiet. I like having a micro/fridge. No coffee maker, but I never make in-room coffee anyway. (There's a Denny's 50 feet from the front door, if you want coffee or breakfast.) Bathroom was clean, nice shower, and two comfy chairs. No desk, if you're planning on doing some work.

The wifi comes in two flavors: free and rather slow, but serviceable for basic web surfing, and fee-based, for streaming. I stayed with free, as I didn't really need the speed for my short stay. One minor gripe: only one ice machine, and it's on the first floor.

The staff were very polite and accommodating and the hotel was very quiet, even though it seemed busy.

All things considered, this was a very good choice for me and knowing I'll be back for more visits, I plan on staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the great review, this helps us better our staff and hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon, have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I work construction and have stayed in hotels all over. The LivInn hotel in Maplewood,MN is beyond a doubt the best! The reasonable rates was the original reason for booking here. The service, attitude and clean room will keep me coming back if in this area. Andy and Brenda were genuinely friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating! Malissa the shift manager was professional, knowledgeable and ready to schedule cleaning around our schedule. Steve the maintenance man was prompt with service and very polite. Great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank You for the wonderful review, we are very pleased to hear how happy you were with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Malissa Gjerdahl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Someone tried breaking into my room and I caught them so I complained about it and got threatened to get kicked out if I took legal actions. The manger said I complained too much and assumed I was on drugs. I been clean since August 15th 2011 so whatever.....all I can say is guns aren't banned in the property or premises and conceal and carry permits come in handy when you feel threatened and in danger so I'm.glad I have so I'm glad I ha ve personal protection. This place is a lot better than super8 on old Hudson road off of white bear ave though.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmiSmurfBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I do believe that you have the wrong hotel, as this situation has not occured at Maplewood LivINN to managements knowledge. I do appologize that you had to have an experience like the one expressed.

Thank You,
Malissa Gjerdahl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite and had a marvelous time. Emma J. at the front desk was super helpful and accommodating! The room was very tidy and attractive. I would recommend this establishment for any traveller. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank You so much for the wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Malissa Gjerdahl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews