We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used crack/meth pipe in bathroom! - shattered into bathtub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maplewood
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Used crack/meth pipe in bathroom! - shattered into bathtub”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. After the first night, I took a shower and when I was done, grabbed the "clean" towel off the rack. As soon as I did so, I heard glass shatter around my feet. I looked down and there was a used crack pipe shattered all over the bathtub floor. This was wrapped up in my "clean" towel! So either the cleaning staff was smoking crack and forgot they put the pipe in a towel, or a previous guest was using the drugs and the cleaning staff did not change the towels between guests! It is a good thing it was me in the shower and not one of the kids staying with us.

So there I am, barefoot with broken glass all around me with who knows what on it.

The front desk moved us to a different room and I requested to speak to a manger. A manager never called or contacted me, I will never stay at this place again.

See photos below from the incident.

Room Tip: I would not stay here unless you have no issues with cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write a review, I will contact you personally to resolve this.

Malissa Brockman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    71
    19
    14
    18
See reviews for
58
45
52
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pharr, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Brenda has made our stay enjoyable and always greets people with a cordial hello and can I help you? She's a real help to everyone who stays in the hotel. There should be more people like her who make your stay home away from home. Our view of the lake makes it peaceful and with the help from Brenda we would stay here again. It's so very nice to have pleasant people where you stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Get a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinngm, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are very pleased to hear how happy you are with your stay. I will make sure to give Brenda a special thank You.

Malissa Brockman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've stayed here about a dozen times in the last 8 months. We enjoy staying here at the LivINN Hotel. The front desk staff { Emma } has very good communication and customer service skills. she has gone above and be-on to keep us happy. I am and i will continue to come and stay at the LivInn hotel. Your front desk clerk [ Emma] here at the hotel is a very helpful and hard working employ. If i owned a hotel i would want Emma working for me.I've seen her handle some hostile people and calm them down.
I will continue to stay here at the LivINN Hotel as long as Emma and the rest of your hard working employs.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are the best here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just checked in and there was poo on the toilet seat. Disgusting!! The place smells like bleach, smoke and a mystery funk. Thugs in the parking lot, not a great neighborhood. I don't feel safe here even with my 250lbs of muscle boyfriend. This was just for two nights after staying 2 weeks with family on vacation before going home to CA. Guess you get what you pay for at $54 a night ( thanks Hotwire) and after spending too much on rest of vacation we were trying to go cheap since we will only be at hotel to shower and sleep. Disgusting!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jammaddox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the second year that we gathered at this LivINN facility. Heaven provided excellent customer service as she did last year. Thanks Heaven. There seems to be a different clientele staying there this year. The hotel seems to be a full time residence for some. They was traffic in and out of the parking lot that seemed questionable to me. We will probably look elsewhere for lodging next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sims1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank You for responding on Tripadvisor, please contact us directly about the review.

Malissa Brockman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Heaven always greets you with a smile.. Very helpful and pleasant. We feel very welcome here and we've stayed here before because of her and others just like her. Over all the people here are pleasant and very helpful. Very satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that face the lake. Pleasant and full of wild life. Pleasent rooms with lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I will give Heaven a special Thank You. Have a great summer, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Malissa Brockman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Having lived in this area for many years I wanted to be here when I visited friends and family. This was my first time at LivInn and I was happy with the hotel in general, the room and staff. I was greeted by Heaven at the front desk, and she was very friendly and answered any questions I had. I encountered no issues during the week I was there and will stay again.Also, the location is perfect and close to freeways to get anyplace in the Twin Cities.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Roger,
Thank You for taking the time to write a reponse on the hotel. I will give Heaven a special thanks for making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
Malissa Brockman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maplewood
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood

Property: LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood
Address: 285 Century Ave N, Maplewood, MN 55119-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Maplewood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maplewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LivINN Hotels have come to be known as the "Best Value" Hotel Chain for lodging accommodations in the Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota area. Whether you’re on the road, here for an extended stay, or just need a comfortable place to call home for a while, LivINN Hotels offer you more for less. Providing quality guest rooms and suites for hotel guests staying by the night, or by the week, LivINN Hotels offers many of the same amenities and services that other hotel chains provide but at a fraction of their rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your LivINN Hotel St Paul East / Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livinn Hotel Maplewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing