We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Maple Grove
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked this hotel on Priceline, my first time using that site, and the last time. I called the hotel directly to specifically ask for a non-smoking room because cigarette smoke is a trigger for my migraines. The person who answered the phone said yes, it was a non-smoking room. When I got to the room I was so disappointed. The room was very unclean and smelled. The beds are horrible! They must be the original beds, and pillows! There were black bugs by the tub. During the night I woke up because the cigarette smell was so horrible! I don't know if it was coming through the bathroom vent or what but it was worse than earlier! When I checked out the front desk person didn't even ask me how my room was, or how my stay was, is that a clue? Perhaps they don't want to even hear it! I was in such a hurry to escape I didn't even say anything! My kids were so disgusted also, and they are boys.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

As well, upon request, guests will be placed in a non-smoking room. Knowing that many people have allergies or do not smoke, we place great importance on this. Please accept my apologies that while you were in a non-smoking room, you experienced some second hand smoke. I have spoken with our maintenance team, and they are looking into the issue to ensure it is corrected and does not happen again in the future.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at the "Extended Stay" chain many times for more than a month each time. Recently I was at this location and the rooms were very clean. the kitchen was nice to have instead of always going out for dinner. The staff were also very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chappyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you so very much for your great review of our hotel. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

First of all, I check in at the front desk, only to tell me they've already checked me in and given my room away. SO then they give me another room and print off papers for me to sign, giving me SOMEONE else's information. Im talking address, phone number- everything. SO UNPROFESSIONAL!! Then I go to my room and it is a smoking room, when I had reserved non smoking. Front desk refused to do anything about it, girl claimed "she was new" so whatever. Go back up to room, SPIDERS EVERYWHERE. Pull down my bedsheets, out come crawling spiders. So disgusting. Rooms are so dingy and not cleaned at all. There was something dead hanging out of my window as well. Ended up staying at a friends tiny apartment on the floor but would have opted for almost anything else, even sleeping in my car. It's as if they have no standards whatsoever. The pictures look nothing like the real thing. Would not pay a single penny for this room. Save yourself. When called to complain, they refused to do anything about it and were so rude and inconsiderate. Horrible, horrible experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NOT WORTH IT!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. The staff and I strive to provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings for our guests to enjoy. Hearing about the state of your room and the lack of response to your complaint is saddening. Please know that we clean every room and inspect them once complete. We keep extremely high standards; however, it seems this was not the case for you. I apologize for that and will work with the team to correct our mistakes, ensuring they do not happen again in the future.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for multiple times, I would say the level of cleanliness is not bad, rooms are cleaner than other extended stays that I stayed at, but there many annoying things, they make a photo copy of your driver license without even consulting with you, the staff are robots who can not help, the blonde receptionist who works night shift is so rude.

Room Tip: the non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maeco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Minneapolis - Maple Grove. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am grateful for the opportunity to respond to your concern. I have spoken with my staff and reviewed the importance of being professional and polite with each and every guest, no matter how busy we may be. It is my sincere hope that apart from this unfortunate occurrence, the rest of your stay with us was satisfying.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was in the area for work for three months in 2011( February- May) in which the entire time I stayed here. It's an average room with the comforts of home, i.e. full fridge, stove top, microwave and a laundry room on the first floor. Everything in the room was good and the room was clean. Bed was fine and they were in the process of replacing all the beds as well at the time that I left. My only issue was trying to work out a schedule to have my room cleaned every week because I was working nights so I slept during the day but that's not a typical problem for everyone.
With that said, this is not a practical place for someone looking to stay for a long weekend or a few days. This is for a full week plus for sure. That's gonna be the best bang for your buck. The longer you plan to stay, the lower the rate per night. This hotel is right off the highway in a good neighborhood and is only 12 miles out of Minneapolis. Easy to get to all the attractions that Minneapolis has to offer from pro sports, concerts, museums, night life and the Mall of America.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lu131fitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Minneapolis - Maple Grove. It is with great pride that we provide clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates, which is why it was great to read your kind words about the room. However, given the issue with the service you had during your stay, it was with equally great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have the apologies of my entire staff that we were not able to totally satisfy you.

We know that our guests have many lodging options, which is why we work hard to provide them with the exact service they expect. As is true of most extended stay hotels, we offer scaled back housekeeping service which is on a timed schedule yet we were not able to meet your needs based on your schedule and for that I am truly sorry.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night and they overbooked the double bed rooms. They gave us two single rooms that worked out so they were accommodating. The elevator stunk like smoke and the room needed maintenance. No shampoo for the shower. No breakfast but the room had a stove, microwave, sink and dishes. McDonald's next door was our option.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Minneapolis - Maple Grove. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

As an extended stay lodging company, we have many guests who need to leave their departure date open or extend their stay at the last minute. We work hard to prevent these changes from affecting other guests. However, in extremely rare cases like yours, a sudden increase in guests extending their stays without notice causes a shortage of rooms types available for our arriving guests thus why they placed you in separate rooms. I understand how this may have inconvenienced the situation for you.

Also, we specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

Feedback received as yours will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

When I checked into this hotel I dropped my business card into the fishbowl to win a free night on a future date. After a couple of days I went back downstairs and fished my card out of the bowl....

1) With a 4 person troop (2 adults and 2 kids under 3) we were assigned to a room on the 2nd floor. This non-smoking room happened to be below the wing of the 3rd floor which is still smoking. The ventilation system was working so well that the smoke from the 3rd floor was being reidrected into our room on the second floor. The kids were having very difficult times sleeping so we requested a new room. We also were missing a pan in this room... Ever cooked bacon with a pot?

2) We were moved to a new room. While this had a much better smell and no incoming smoke, there were a couple of new problems. First, there aparrently wasn't enough color in the room so somewhere along the line someone decided to spruce up the place with red dye (possibly hair dye) on the rug at random intervals in the room and bathroom. Second, the refridgerator was never working. With the dial turned up to five, my cheese ended up disgusting.

With all of the awesomeness of this experience, I decided to leave after my pre-paid week was up and go to a different hotel for the rest of my time here in Minnesota.... Along with my business card which will hopefully win me a free lunch at some restaurant instead.

Room Tip: 1) Rooms numbered greater than x25 are going to have smoke infiltration from the 3rd floor wing that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admiralnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Minneapolis - Maple Grove. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I do appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the condition of your room. Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Only certain rooms are designated as smoking rooms, the rest as non-smoking. Yet as stated the ventilation of your room seemed to be poor. For this I offer your my apologies and asure you we will be looking into this to emsure situations as such do not occur again in the future.

In regards to your comments about the issues with the Refrigerator, we have inspected all in-room refrigerators and made any necessary repairs to ensure that we don't have a repeat of your particular incident in the future. I can assure you that we will continue to maintain strict quality control measures, and would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maple Grove
4.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Minneapolis Maple Grove
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis NW Maple Grove
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Maple Grove - Arbor Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Maple Grove
1.4 mi away
Asteria Inn & Suites
Asteria Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Maple Grove
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove

Address: 12970 63rd Ave N, Maple Grove, MN 55369-6001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Maple Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Maple Grove
Price Range: $88 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Maple Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Maple Grove
Maple Grove Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing