We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is a prime rib sandwich not a "prime rib".”

Granite City Food & Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Granite City Food & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Maple Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When is a prime rib sandwich not a "prime rib".”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had lunch there today (my first and last time). I was really in the mood for a great prime rib sandwich so I ordered theirs. I was really disappointed. It was no more than something you could get at Arby's or similiar fast food place. Considering the decor of the place and the reputation I expected a real piece of prime rib such as other places I routinely eat at in the Mpls area. My wife makes a better sandwich from stuff from the fridge at home. Two good things were that the cole slaw was really tasty and the waiter we had was a nice young man. The hostess seating us could have used a happy pill however.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    111
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very good food, excellant wait staff and very good homemade beer. If you are in the area, St Cloud or Maple Grove I would highly recommend stopping in for a delicious meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 126Eldon_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Something for everybody, varied menu, good quality, great beer”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It is all there, from comfort food, to pasta, to burgers, pizza and more. the common thread is beer will go with any of it. Brewing their own specialties right there in the restaurant makes for an interesting and appealing twist. You can watch the large fermentation vats as the CO2 bubbles up in a bucket of water. Not a place for an intimate date, but great for families or a group out on business. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Always a sure bet that the food will be great and right the first time! Their sandwiches are excellent. They also have awesome flat bread pizza! I would highly recommend for large parties as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We go frequently and the food and appetizers are always excellent. The flatbreads are excellent and the husband loves the brewery. A god place for kids, too. Have never been to the Sunday brunch but plan to some day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank luv2ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing