We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be a great place”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I recently stayed in a Comfort Inn at Boston Logan that was fantastic. This one in Mankato leaves a lot to be desired. First the good: The king bed in my suite was fantastic, nice menu of TV stations, spacious, small refrig. microwave, hair dryer and all the usual amenities. This place could be much better without a lot of money, work or effort.

I noticed immediately that the sink in bathroom leaked out onto the counter top. Told the front desk, said would fix, asked two more times when I left on 6th day still leaking. The high speed internet is a joke. 3 speed checks revealed 3 readings of .37Mb which I think is about the equivalent of dial up.

Now for the revolving door of staff. They frequently share or swap staff with the hotel across parking lot so there is no continuity of staffing at front desk. The people who come over from other property have very little idea about how things operate at the Comfort inn.The one person I did see frequently at front desk might as well have had a "don't bother me" sign on her forehead.

I am sure she is a nice person but I believe her attitude was a reflection of the management not allowing the staff to solve problems. Consequently her attitude is don't bother me because I can't help you anyway.

No elevator in 2 story hotel--cheap.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on first floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    54
    28
    21
See reviews for
95
26
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Outdated décor, but clean enough with plenty of room to move – though I personally thought the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. Heated pool was a bonus with the kids. Breakfast was ok, but not that much variety, had a waffle maker. Quiet at night even though in the middle of major roads. Easy walk to fast food joints like Red Lobster, Taco Bell and Walmart & major malls short distance away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is an amazing location! There are virtually all types of restaurants within walking distance, PLUS a shopping mall just a block away. Walmart, Target, speciality stores, you name it, its probably close by! There's an Applebees, Olive Garden, Panera Bread, Chinese, Chipotle, red lobster and more right within reach! The hotel is clean and nice, with a nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDakBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

It's a smaller property, just two floors. The pool and the breakfast area are small, as is lobby, although each area is presentable and clean. Stairways at each end of the motel appeared that they had not been vacuumed in quite some time. We arrived right at check-in, with only two other cars in the parking lot, so it's not likely that the crumbs, rocks, and dirt littering the steps were tracked in from newly arriving guests. I didn't see any way upstairs to our room from the lobby.

Entering our room, I was pleased to not be overcome with any scent other than that of what was likely 409 or glass cleaner. In the morning, checking to make sure that we didn't leave any belongings behind, I noticed that there was much debris underneath the dust cover around the bottom of the bed. Not just tiny crumbs, but a bobby pin, pieces of crackers, scraps of paper. But for the price I paid for the room--on a Saturday--it made it easy to overlook these downfalls. And where cleanliness really matters, such as the sheets, the bathroom floor, the toilet, and the bathtub--this property receives high marks. No hairs from previous guests anywhere in the tub or sink.

The waffle-enhanced continental breakfast went smoothly, and the attendant kept up on keeping the area clean throughout the time it took for us to finish breakfast. She periodically wiped up waffle batter spills, checked the levels of each juice selection, and restocked the plastic-ware, napkins, and condiments.

I would stay at this motel again, although the owners could improve the appearance by taking a competent vacuum through the stairwells and along the edges of the furniture in the room.

  • Liked — Even though the hotel appeared to be booked solid, I couldn't hear anyone in neighboring rooms.
  • Disliked — Some areas of the hotel are neglected by the cleaning staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LonesomeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2008

The service at Comfort Inn was excellent. The night staff was very accommodating and very friendly. I would stay at this hotel again. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — The staff was very friendly
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherie-stpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a week during March for work. The hallways and stairs looked like they had not been vacuumed in some time. My room was on the same floor as the smoking rooms and the smoke wafted down the hallway to all of the non-smoking rooms. The carpet in the room also looked like it had not been cleaned in some time. The breakfast was small and contained one waffle maker and stale pastries and breads. The one bright side was the beds were comfortable, however, I will not stay there again.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — dirtiness of rooms and carpeting
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mellenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mankato hotels

Colorado Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

i did not know that service, and good service still existed in this world. this hotel and the employees who work here are wonderful. i can actually get some respect and some service from people who have smiles on their faces....awesome. that just made my day..hope breakfast is just as good...i hear there are waffles so i am already excited...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manager18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mankato
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato
Address: 131 Apache Pl, Mankato, MN 56001-6201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mankato Baymont Inn & Suites(R) is near many local points of interest, including River Hills Mall, Bethany Lutheran College, Alltel Center and Minnesota State University Mankato. Gustavus Adolphus College and Mount Kato Ski Area are located just minutes away. Additional area destinations near this Mankato, MN hotel include Mankato Regional Airport and the Mankato Symphony Orchestra and Old Main Village, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Mankato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mankato
Mankato Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing