We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids? Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kids? Stay Here!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a quirky place, architecturally (what is with the add-on Roman columns?), but it has everything you need, especially if you have children along.

We stayed here last year and, for this year's stay, I confess to looking at other choices in Mankato. But in the end, the BWP served our needs best. And by "our needs" I mean:

a LARGE indoor swimming pool and hot tub, an even larger area for tables and chairs around the pool, a first floor room with poolside entrance, a refrigerator and microwave in the room, free VERY high speed wireless internet (we were able to stream movies, which is not something you can do with the "high speed" internet of other hotels), a 42" flat screen tv that lets you plug in your own player's cables (my laptop's hdmi hook-up let us play dvd's on the tv), a complimentary hot breakfast (decent selections and with a very friendly and helpful attendant), and a full bar with different specials each night.

All of this added up to the following scene yesterday evening: the kids whooping it up, tossing a nerf football across the pool while mom and dad sat in patio furniture just outside the room door, kicking back with an $8 pitcher of sangria, checking email (mom) and watching an episode of Battlestar Galactica (geek dad). That's just not going to happen at any of the other hotels in Mankato, no matter how much you pay.

Room Tip: Rooms 150, 152, 154, 156, 158 put you in a nice, quieter corner of the pool area. Definitely worth p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSoWhatJourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to provide you with the superior customer service we pride ourselves in. Your comments are wonderful and greatly appreciated. As a Best Western we are always making new additions and changes to our hotel to meet the needs of our guests. We have a lot of Design items planned for the future. We look forward to having you return to the Best Western Plus Hotel & Restaurant and experiencing our new upgrades.

Thank-you,
Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
91
32
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Are Family have been takeing a winter brake with t.j. and the staff at Mankato for the last 27 years! We have always had a great time. In all the years I can think of one year that things didn't go well.
T. J. is a great Manager , she makes are stay always great and she goes out of her way to help us out.
this Hotel is great to stay at becaues of the nice area around the pool and that the pool is fenced in.
Great food!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gh@Minnesota

Room Tip: we like the pool side just to be in the middle of things. others like the suites for the quiet and r...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words and positive experiences with us.Our restaurant staff does an excellent job and we have just finished updating our nightly specials. We appreciate your comments on our fantastic pool area and look forward to seeing your family again for the next 27 years. Thanks again, T.J. Overocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here with a large group. Loved the pool area and poolside rooms. Beds were small but it was great for our large group. The kids were able to ply together in the pool area while the parents hungout and talk. The pool area is big and not the normal hot eye burning area that many other hotels are. The restaurant was ok but the cocktail area was great. Breakfast was awesome. Well worth it. The only thing I didn't like was the double beds instead of queens and a small amount of ants in the corner of the bathroom.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I appreciate your comments about our large indoor heated pool and pool area. It does layout nicely so that families can visit while others enjoy the pool. We are currently working on a design plan to continue to improve our property to meet our guest’s needs. We are almost complete with painting all our guest rooms and will be starting on the other projects following that. So you will be seeing some exciting changes starting to take place soon. As always we pride ourselves in providing a clean hotel. We look forward to having your group stay with us again.

Thank-you,
Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For the past 8 years our families have met and stayed there a three day weekend for our "family Christmas get together". The staff and management have been most helpful and accomodating to our needs.We usualy are about 35 people and anything we have wanted or needed, they have graciously provided for us. We appreciate them and their facility!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and the service you received during your stay. You and your group are so enjoyable to work with. Our staff looks forward to seeing your group next year.

Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Priceline definately needs to review the quality level of this hotel. Once you get past the claim of the biggest indoor pool in Mankato, this hotel is very average. The rooms were clean and the ac/heating unit did a great job of keeping the room comfortable. My biggest disapointment was the lack of hot water for the shower...it was warm at best and I froze taking a shower. The hallways in the hotel go on forever...it appears the hotel was added onto several times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I apologize that you experienced a lack of hot water when you stayed at our property. That is not common. I can assure you that our maintenance has been notified. We are a two level property so we do have ½ of our rooms on first floor. Our guests like that because they can park their cars closer to their rooms because of our multiple entrances but it does give some longer halls. Your positive comments on cleanliness are appreciated. Our staff strives to provide a clean environment for our guests. Please give us another opportunity to provide you with a quality stay. You input is appreciated.

Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Mankato
Courtyard Mankato
#1 of 16 in Mankato
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 1111 Range Street, Mankato, MN 56003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you demand only the best, but at a price that doesn't break the bank, only this Mankato hotel will do.Mankato hotels are not created equally, and it can be tough to decide where to stay. There are many reasons guests keep returning to this Mankato hotel. A great location, competitive price, and large indoor heated pool are the makings for a fantastic getaway. Our Mankato hotel regularly caters to large sports teams. If you're in town for a game or event, look no further. Enjoy a daily, complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring sizzling hot eggs, breakfast meat, fluffy waffles or pancakes, flaky pastries, cereals, yogurt, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices.Other hotels in North Mankato simply can't compete. We're located close to the Caswell Sports Complex and Verizon Civic Center. Some guests are in town for the MN Vikings Training Camp, the famous Mankato Marathon, or to check out Big College Town in the tri-college area. We've got you covered.Business travelers also frequently call this Mankato hotel their home away from home. Employees of the Taylor Corporation, Carlson Craft, Kato Engineering, and Kaye Corporation are just a few regulars. You'll feel right at home in the comfortable, spacious rooms that are perfect for longer stays.This Mankato hotel boasts unbeatable, friendly service. You'll be treated to only the best in customer service and amenities. After all, everyone deserves to be pampered and spoiled while traveling. BEST WESTERN is a gem in Mankato, and you'll be glad to stay with us.Of course, Minnesota also features stunning natural beauty. Nature lovers are delighted at the incredible vistas. Enjoy the best of the city and country in this college town, where kicking back and relaxing is taken seriously.Reserve your upcoming stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant and get ready to be spoiled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato Best Western
Best Western Mankato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing