We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value business hotel in good location. Wonderful restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good value business hotel in good location. Wonderful restaurant.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a pretty good hotel room for the price. I felt the hotel was a little dated. I had trouble controlling the AC/heater. I had a corner room that was huge, but empty, like it needed a couple of cribs or blowup mattresses in the middle.

On the good side.... the staff was friendly and it has one of the nicest hotel restaurants that I've ever experienced in a business hotel. I had a free breakfast coupon because I am Hilton Gold and it was a wonderful, full breakfast.

Room Tip: The end rooms are huge with enough room for kids in sleeping bags, blowup mattress or cribs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlightSurgeon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I'm thrilled you chose the Hilton Garden Inn for you stay, and thank you for the nice comments. I am however curious about your comments stating the hotel is looking a little tired. I would like to address that also, and would like some specifics,as the hotel is only 5 years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    132
    50
    29
    15
See reviews for
124
94
16
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is an excellent hotel with a great downtown location. The staff was extremely courteous and made every effort to make our stay a great one. The staff in the hotel restaurant was amazing and went out of their way to accommodate our need to eat breakfast on the go. Parking is slick and easy, even with the downtown location. This hotel treats their HHonors right!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the amazing review of our Hotel and our amazing staff. We are thrilled to have had you as our guest and look forward to your return. If, during your stay there is anything we can do to make it unforgettable, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night with the rest of my tennis team (we had a tournament to get to Saturday morning) and we couldn't have had a better night. Every convenience you could ever want is provided to you here. The staff at the front desk were happy to help us (we asked for more towels since there were four people in each room). Everything about the rooms, from the beds to the complimentary bath soaps to the degree of cleanliness, was better than home! The beds were mor comfortable and got me a better night's sleep than my own bed! In short, I was amazed at the quality, which came at the same price of many other hotels that aren't even in the same league as this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemetoafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your response! We were excited to hear that your experience here felt better than home, that's not a comment we hear often and it means a lot. We appreciate your feedback and the next time you are in Mankato we hope that we can assist you with your travel plans. We hope your tounment went well and you had a great time in Mankato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've loved staying here since it opened - very modern and comfortable, and for a very, very reasonable price. Beds are soft, bathrooms are big, always my first choice when staying in Mankato.

Plus, walls are almost completely sound proof. There were some college kids literally screaming in the room next to us and you could barely hear it. And Guest Services promptly resolved that issue :).

Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeromesch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review of the Hilton Garden Inn Mankato. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Mankato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after attending an Eric Church concert. Property is nice and located across the street from the venue, and has a nice restuarant and bar. After the concert, which ended around 11, we ( and about 50 other hotel guests) were surprised to find the bar closed! The front desk I formed us that they 'always ' close at that time. Seems like a case of managment not having a clue that a concert was going on and that the majority of thier guests were attending...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I want to thank you for your TripAdvisor review, as each of our guests thoughts help to make us better. The Hotel and Olives were both aware of the event at the Verizon Center, and also that the concert ran a little late. It is our standard operating procedure to allow our guests enough time to select the venue they wish to attend, and base our closing time on the amount of traffic we see. When we closed at 11:30 pm we expected that the crowd had gone elsewhere. I sincerely apologize to everyone that was expecting Olives to remain open. We will review our policies to try and insure we meet the expectations of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Clean, big comfortable room. Good location, nearby food choices.
Hotel restaurant was closed.
Tough to find using GPS. Obtain a better location directly from the hotel...
Attached parking garza rage with easy connection

Room Tip: Obtain a better GPS location directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-rad-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the nice review of our property. You are correct about the GPS and our address, however if you use 113 East Hickory, Mankato, MN 56001 on your GPS it will bring you about 200 feet from our front door. Hopefully, anyone reading this will find this helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had two rooms here for one night for a concert. This is a great central location, with an attached parking garage (free parking) and close to the downtown mall and restaurants. We had a very good dinner at the Pub500 down the street, but didn't have a chance to eat dinner at Olive's, the hotel restaurant, however we did have a very good breakfast there.. Like any of the Hilton chain, the rooms were comfortable, with great beds, modern TV, and good internet service. The only surprise was that they did not have a free lobby breakfast as so many do these days, breakfast being limited to the hotel restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerials12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankato11, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the great reveiw of our property. It is unfortunate that Hilton Garden Inns are not permitted to offer free breakfasts to our guests, as we realize it is becoming more of a expectation for many travelers in today's economy. Hopefully, you'll allow us the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Mankato
Courtyard Mankato
#1 of 16 in Mankato
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Mankato City Center Hotel
Mankato City Center Hotel
#11 of 16 in Mankato
113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
Address: 20 Civic Center Plz, Mankato, MN 56001-7777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mankato
#6 Family Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Mankato, MN across from the beautiful Minnesota River. Rising in the Mankato skyline as an architecturally prominent building and connected to the Alltel Center through an indoor skyway, the Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown Minnesota hotel offers close proximity to a number of events and top venues within the city. From Minnesota State University hockey games to concerts and expos, our hotel provides professional service and a welcoming atmosphere to all guests during their stay.Our 9 story facility offers 3,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, with each room equipped with state of the art audio/visual equipment. From video conferencing to in house meetings, at the Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown Minnesota hotel our facilities and meeting planners will provide you with all of our meeting and catering needs.With our full-service restaurant, Olives, serving Mediterranean and American cooking, guests at the Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown Minnesota hotel will find an atmosphere which enables them to unwind and relax to a lighter modern approach to the culinary arts. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and catering our entire banquet and meeting room events, there will be no need to look further than within the doors of our Hilton Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown Hotel Mankato
Hilton Mankato
Mankato Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing