We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mankato City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mankato City Center Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Really comfortable bed and one of the best hotel hot-tubs I've seen. Location is fairly central and hotel has its own underground car park. Nice and quiet. Had a good nights sleep, and a good breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    32
    15
    11
See reviews for
33
25
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Nice decor, great center pool area, impressive service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfitz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Checked in hours early free of charge and was able to get a smoking room! Hotel is just starting to show its age but it was VERY clean and the staff was the MOST HELPFUL and professional group of people I have encountered at any hotel. The location was perfect, walked everywhere even though parking was free. The microwave in the room was perfect for late night snacks when all the restaurants in town were closed. No fridge so bring a cooler! We didn't use any hotel services (pool, room service, happy hour lounge) so I can't comment on that. But I have to admit I left a small stash of cash in the room (no safe) and forgot it when I checked out and I received it in the mail the very next day. I was very impressed with how they handled that situation because in these tough economic times, I can imagine how easy it would have been to pocket that money. I have forgotten things (and some of lesser value) in hotels before and never had them returned or the issue resolved, so this was a great relief / surprise! Even if the money hadn't been returned to me, it still would have been a GREAT stay because I had no one to blame for my mistake, except for myself. Having a safe in the room would have helped though! Will definitely be back the next time I'm in Mankato!! Not a cpmplaint about this stay, probably the best overall hotel experience I've ever had and I use to work for one!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maraatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. The rooms and common areas were worn. I had a room that had a window to the hotel pool area and it was very loud for a few hours as a birthday party was going on. Luckily it was quite after the party ended. The fitness eqipment was adequate but the room could use some updating. The beds weren't too comfortable and I didnt feel that the room was very clean. In one of the beds there seemed to be nail clippings. Yuck. The room was pretty cheap but even for the low price, I wouldn't stay there again. I must mention thought that the staff was very friendly and helpful and really went above and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ISellSyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwilmes, Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
We listen to our guests and thank you for your comments. It gives us an opportunity to improve our product, which is exactly what we've done. We recently completed a $1.3 million guestroom remodel in preparation for our name change from Holiday Inn to the Mankato City Center Hotel which occurred on October 1, 2010. We hope you'll come back and see the improvements we've made or check them out on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

Hotel did a nice job with check in and out with a large group of people coming in at once. Rooms were ready early, front desk handled special requests well, parking easy.
Nice place to stay with great access to the Alltel center.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuckiedarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

This is an older hotel that has been somewhat remodeled. The carpet and furnishings were new but that was it. The hallways were very smelly. There is no continental breakfast at this hotel. The bathroom had no tub, just a very small, not very nice shower. I traveled on government business and they would not tax exempt my bill. There is a brand new Hilton Garden Inn down the road that I will be staying at the next time I visit Mankato.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank perryh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Mankato in September 2007. We have stayed here before, but that was 19 years ago, on our wedding night!
It is a nice hotel. It is clean and well run. My only real complaint is that there were not enough electrical outlets for todays traveler. The desk area had only one extra outlet, which is not nearly enough for a laptop, two cell phone rechargers, and camera battery recharger. (We had to use the bathroom outlets) The electric outlet by the desk was also somewhat damaged. It was not secure in the wall, so that when you plugged something in, it moved. This caused me to worry about an electrical short. We encountered no "real" electrical problems though, and overall we had an enjoyable stay. The guest washer and dryer were older, but worked just fine. Parking was convenient and easy. This is a very nice hotel, but some updating to todays electrical needs would make it even better.

  • Liked — good location, close to civic center.
  • Disliked — poor electrical outlets for todays electronics.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike-the-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Mankato
Courtyard Mankato
#1 of 16 in Mankato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mankato City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mankato City Center Hotel

Property: Mankato City Center Hotel
Address: 101 E Main St, Mankato, MN 56001-3502 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mankato City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mankato City Center Hotel has a rich history in the downtown community and is the perfect choice when visiting Greater Mankato. Our award-winning Mankato hotel and its staff is committed to your total satisfaction. The Mankato City Center Hotel in Downtown Mankato has a large banquet & meeting facility with seating for up to 500 guests. Our hotel also features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and exhibit space, with the ability to accommodate up to six separate meeting rooms. Within our Mankato Hotel, guests will find the 101 Main Restaurant, a locally-owned restaurant. Also visit the Blazer Lounge, which offers a full bar with 30 varieties of beer and a fine selection of wines. Our hotel in Mankato has 150 sleeping rooms featuring complimentary high speed Internet. We also offer a business center in the lobby and complimentary City-Side continental breakfast available every morning. The indoor recreation area features a large swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center with a wide variety of exercise equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mankato City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato City Hotel Mankato
Holiday Inn Mankato
Mankato Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing