We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mankato City Center Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Nice for a quick trip”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here while in town for a wedding and had no complaints. The hotel is nothing fancy, but the room was clean, the staff was friendly, and our stay was affordable. Plus, a hot tub is always a nice touch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindseykaithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business, and I hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Mankato!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
25
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The location was convenient for the Mankato marathon and the staff seemed very service oriented. We were allowed a 2 pm checkout time for no extra fee which was great. Pool was great for kids. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in town for the marathon. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the special services we offered for marathon runners, like early breakfast and late checkout. I hope you will stay with us for the marathon again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan. MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's right downtown and I love downtown hotels. We got a King Deluxe room with a pullout sofa that my son said was actually not bad for a pull out. I love the hot tub here. So big and roomy and not scalding hot like so many. The swimming pool is very large, too. While it is great to have a shower are right in the pool area, those rooms need to be remodeled for certain. The room could have used a bit more detail dusting......you know behind the lights/tv, etc....just a small detail, but yet makes a difference to the customer. The food in the restaurant was GREAT! Overall, happy. Good room for a good price at a good hotel in a good location

Room Tip: If you want quiet, be sure to request away from the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyLynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business, we always enjoy seeing familiar faces! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here during our yearly trip to Mankato to enjoy the fall colors and relive our youth (we both went to college around here). Our usual hotel was full, as was pretty much everything else due to it being "parents" weekend at MSU Mankato. The room was small, but the a/c worked well, the windows opened! (A rare find in a hotel), had a fridge and microwave. It has been updated nicely for a more modern look than the candid photos show- the ones the hotel posted are accurate. Linens smelled faintly of bleach (which makes me happy!) Bed is pretty hard- but I am spoiled by my bed at home, pillows excellent, gave a buy one get one free drinks at the bar coupon, has a continental breakfast with real food, Price was comparable to everything else this weekend- which did seem high at 115 +tax for the size of the room, but when it's this busy its a supply and demand. Staff has been very friendly, love the underground parking. Room was fairly quiet for the number of people I saw wandering the halls... My biggest complaint is a location issue- when the trains go by next to the building and whistle for what seems like 20 mins at 5am it's hard to fall back asleep. (Possibly our fault for the open window too). I would stay here again, no complaints against the hotel at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess2212b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here twice in 2 years, always around the same dates in March. My husband and I play in the dart tournament that takes place at the Verizon Civic Center and since this hotel is connected it is quite convenient. The rooms were always fairly clean and the beds have been on the better side of those that we have slept in at hotels. When the hotel is booked to capacity it is quite noisy. The staff have been friendly, but parking is very tight in the parking ramp. The room rates have always been too high for my liking, but I guess you pay for the convenience of being right downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzenga31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mankato City Center Hotel is a former Holiday Inn. Rooms are small but clean. Stairway smells like a farm yard. We used the conference room which were load when the air system turned on. You could also smell the farm yard when the air moved in the room. Food was excellent. Nice location.

Room Tip: It's an ok Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The name and the rather high price suggest that the management wants to present the Mankato City Center Hotel as a sophisticated downtown hostelry. Really, now, it's Mankato, and the hotel is a chain motel in just about every respect, from the beds to the tackiest 1970s hallway carpet I've ever seen. Free self-parking isn't in a surface lot but in a ramp under the hotel. The restaurant was closed when I was there, but there was meal service in the bar (dark, noisy, hot; the fish was surprisingly good, though). Breakfast was what breakfast is in chain motels. It's worth taking two minutes to cross the street, both to gaze at the Minnesota River and to visit the tiny Reconciliation Park, the site where 38 Dakota Indians were hanged in 1862 after skirmishes on what was then the frontier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Mankato
Courtyard Mankato
#1 of 16 in Mankato
232 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mankato City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mankato City Center Hotel

Property: Mankato City Center Hotel
Address: 101 E Main St, Mankato, MN 56001-3502 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mankato City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mankato City Center Hotel has a rich history in the downtown community and is the perfect choice when visiting Greater Mankato. Our award-winning Mankato hotel and its staff is committed to your total satisfaction. The Mankato City Center Hotel in Downtown Mankato has a large banquet & meeting facility with seating for up to 500 guests. Our hotel also features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and exhibit space, with the ability to accommodate up to six separate meeting rooms. Within our Mankato Hotel, guests will find the 101 Main Restaurant, a locally-owned restaurant. Also visit the Blazer Lounge, which offers a full bar with 30 varieties of beer and a fine selection of wines. Our hotel in Mankato has 150 sleeping rooms featuring complimentary high speed Internet. We also offer a business center in the lobby and complimentary City-Side continental breakfast available every morning. The indoor recreation area features a large swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center with a wide variety of exercise equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mankato City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato City Hotel Mankato
Holiday Inn Mankato
Mankato Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing